Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
26
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£40.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2014
I run a very small business working for some very big clients. Keeping up with the (big business) compliance expectations of our clients with our (small business) resources has been a constant struggle.

I had worked under ISO9001 quality systems in the past and have a good appreciation of the requirements (and benefits) but there is no way I could write a QMS from scratch. In this book Ray Tricker provides all the resources needed to make significant progress on developing a QMS without needing to pay for expensive consultancy (although external consultancy may still be necessary to achieve final compliance and certification). In my opinion, the fully editable example QMS alone is worth 100 times the price of the book.

As one would expect it gives the reader a clear understanding of what is required to achieve ISO9001 compliance but it also provides a useful tool to help you look at your business in a different way. So even if ISO certification is not a high priority, this book will still help you to think about those business processes that really add quality and value for your customers.

I would not hesitate to recommend this. It is so refreshing to find a resource that is genuinely designed to help small businesses and not just as a vehicle to sell consultancy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2015
This is a definitive guide and aid to anyone who is hoping to move their business towards accreditation for the highly regarded ISO9001 recognition. Whether you are a beginner in QA or a seasoned professional, Ray has provided a step by step methodology which makes the whole process easier and even a little enjoyable. The example system is cleverly written and is fully explained in that it cannot just be used as a template for any business but provides the framework for your business when you are seeking accreditation.
I highly recommend this book and Ray himself as a necessary resource when any company - large or small - is looking towards ISO9001 recognition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2014
The book slowly builds and leads the reader to a good understanding of the subject. It deals effectively with the terminology and provides authors hints. A number of figures, illustrations and examples are useful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
This is an excellent resource for any small business looking to work towards ISO certification. The book is well structured and leads you through what is required in a clear and logical way. It is written in a very accessible way which certainly helps in understanding what can at times seems to be a very complex process.
In addition you get access to a word version of an example QMS, which is emailed to you on request by the author. This can be customised for your business and as such is a huge help on the journey and will save us a massive amount of work.
Very highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
Great guide for small business - we are just starting out and quickly appreciating the bigger picture for getting quality systems established as the better way to achieve success and growth. Winning business from accreditation should be viewed as a bonus.
Ray Tricker has been fast to respond to the request for his excellent templates and also offers higher level guidance if needed. Will certainly recommend to fellow business contacts.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2015
Drop this book on your desk, and it will make a reassuringly solid thud. It is packed with information on ISO 9001. It doesn't (just) tell you what it's all about - it tells you, crucially, how to go about doing it for your own business.
This is the first business we've started with the express aim of selling it off in 5 years. The type of company that will buy our business is a big corporate. Building all our processes from the beginning to be ISO 9001 compatible means that when we come to sell, the prospective acquirer knows that our processes and QMS will be compatible with theirs. That's why I got this book, and that's why the downloadable templates are such a time saver. And that's why for me, this is the best book out there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
There are many standards written around quality control and quality management, but without doubt ISO 9001:2008 has become the standard that businesses should aim to be compliant with.
However this book is in a class of its own. It provides step by step guidance, tailored to the non quality specialist, on how to approach quality management and certification to ISO 9001 in a cost and time effective way.
It enables small businesses to reap the benefits of ISO 9001 certification with minimum effort and paperwork in a very reader-friendly manner.
The main advantage of the book however is the availability of a free copy of the generic QMS which can be customised to suit any sort of business or industry. In addition, a new chapter on the costs involved for an organisation to obtain registration to this standard is included.
I have no hesitation in recommending this book for any small business.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
I thought I knew this standard, this book helps to clarify your own interpretations, you will need to re-read some areas to get the explanation. As you go through the chapters there are very good pictorial outlines that help enormously, which breakdown almost into fine detail to assist you in understanding the standard. Then when you get to chapter 5 which helps you as a business understand how to become compliant by reviews of your own QMS. Finally the icing on the cake is in Chapter 6 with a FULL QMS example to show you what your system should look like, but also you can get electronic copies. I would definitely recommend this book for any business with or without a Quality Manager or existing Quality System for assistance in understanding how to meet the requirements of the standard, ISO9001:2008.
Regards Dennis Burns
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2015
A very helpful guide in understanding the ISO 9001:2008. The first part of the book is a descripcrition of what a process is and slowly introduces you in the world of building processes, writing procedures and make them comply with the ISO. The second part explaines point per point the content of the ISO and the likely documentation needed to prove compliance. Also the author provides native files to assist in building a system that will comply. Download quick and easy. Many thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
I have recently been asked to get our business up to ISO 9001 standard and this book has been really useful.
The step by step chapters really help you to grasp the concept of ISO 9001 and what it requires and helps solidify this with an example of the documents required.
If you're a small business like the one I work for, or even a larger one that has not developed ISO 9001 yet then I highly recommend this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)