Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent book
I've just started a 'survival Mandarin' course, aimed at teaching students to speak the rudiments of the language quickly. Necessarily, we are given the bare minimum of theoretical background, which makes me feel decidedly uncomfortable. So I was looking for a book that would help me gain a working understanding of Mandarin grammar equally quickly. Having read the...
Published on 9 Mar 2009 by Happy user

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not digital ready
The content of the book is of a high standard, unfortunately it has not been laid out with an e-reader in mind. All the Chinese text appears as images, this makes it
impossible to use the built in dictionary to define individual words or characters. Additionally, using the book as a source for vocabulary is also made difficult
by the fact that words or phrases...
Published 9 months ago by Garth


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Mandarin grammar, 23 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Mandarin Chinese Grammar: A Practical Guide (Modern Grammars) (Paperback)
As a beginner - an excellent reference book. Seems simple to follow, which is important, as it is important to acquire all possible help when learning a language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great basic grammar, 16 May 2011
This review is from: Modern Mandarin Chinese Grammar: A Practical Guide (Modern Grammars) (Paperback)
If you are a begginer this is the perfect book for you. If you aren`t this is a good reference book also.Clearly written and very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars superb grammar, shame about the binding., 29 Mar 2011
By 
P. Allsop (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Modern Mandarin Chinese Grammar: A Practical Guide (Modern Grammars) (Paperback)
When you come across a grammar this good, you can't help thinking it's a shame that the publishers couldn't do a better job. A superbly clear and simple guide to modern Mandarin spoilt by details. The copy-editing is terrible--there are so many little typographical errors that should have been picked up at the proof-reading stage, and the indexing is far from adequate. But worse than all this is the shoddy binding. My paperback was always going to fall apart in the middle and pages are coming out all over the place. I'd still give the book 4 stars, though. To benefit fully you do need the workbook as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but could be better, 4 Jan 2011
This review is from: Modern Mandarin Chinese Grammar: A Practical Guide (Modern Grammars) (Paperback)
This book is good for those who aren't learning Chinese for too long. Covers and explains all the basic grammar, with well chosen examples. However, doesn't provide in depth coverage of more advanced grammar structures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is a good book with very clear explanation of Chinese grammar, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Mandarin Chinese Grammar: A Practical Guide (Modern Grammars) (Paperback)
It is a good book with very clear explanation of Chinese grammar. I am glad that I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book. Not so good on the Kindle., 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought a Kindle copy of this book, as well as having the paper copy for when I go travelling. However the parts pertaining to the Chinese characters cannot be increased in size along with the rest of the writing. When increasing the font size the Chinese characters remain the same. This is very disappointing as it is quite small and not very clear at all in the Kindle version. Buy it as a book until this issue is sorted out I would say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Modern Mandarin Chinese Grammar: A Practical Guide (Modern Grammars)
Modern Mandarin Chinese Grammar: A Practical Guide (Modern Grammars) by Jing-heng Sheng Ma (Paperback - 21 Jun 2006)
£23.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews