Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of data
Anyone who teaches will find this book fascinating. Lots of data pointing to evidence of the best way to help children learn.
Published 11 months ago by Worldly Wise

versus
23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great message, but an inaccessible and academic text. Not for busy teachers
Am I the only reviewer who has actually read the book? I cannot sincerely believe the comments from other reviewers.

Do not get this book if you think it will provide you with step by step practical solutions which you could implement in your classroom.

I am a teacher with 5 years of experience and it is my aim to help my pupils not meet but exceed...
Published 8 months ago by elfreda


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great message, but an inaccessible and academic text. Not for busy teachers, 1 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visible Learning for Teachers: Maximizing Impact on Learning (Paperback)
Am I the only reviewer who has actually read the book? I cannot sincerely believe the comments from other reviewers.

Do not get this book if you think it will provide you with step by step practical solutions which you could implement in your classroom.

I am a teacher with 5 years of experience and it is my aim to help my pupils not meet but exceed their potential. I bought this rather expensive publication with the hope that it would offer me some insight in how to achieve this. IT DOES NOT.
Firstly, the author has forgotten who his audience is: busy, over worked teachers! The book contains lots and lots of theory, some of which is not fully explained (Piagetian models, the SOLO model etc, etc). Hidden amongst the pages and pages of theoretical discussion are some practical suggestions.

Secondly, Hattie lists the things which make significant impact on children's learning. It was my hope that each of these would be fully expounded upon with examples. For example, he states that recioprocial teaching, vocabulary programs, meta-cognative strategy programs, micro-teaching, repeated reading programs etc have been proven to improve achievement. I think I know what each of these are, but my interpretation may differ from Hattie's. Wikipedia's definition my differ. So why not explain them? Why not discuss and clarify each one and then explain to teachers how each one could be used in the classroom. The author does not.

Thirdly, the blurb on the back of the book suggests that the author offers "concise and user-friendly summaries of the most successful interventions" - IT DOES NOT. The text is dense and highly academic.
The blurb also states that the book offers "practical step - by - step guidance to the successful implemenation of visible learning...." - again - IT IS ANYTHING BUT PRACTICAL. There is a serious lack of practical application and guidance.

Do not get this book if you think it will provide you with step by step practical solutions which you could implement in your classroom.

However, I can see the value of this publication if you are involved in some form of academic pursuit (ie a PGCE or MA etc).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of data, 5 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visible Learning for Teachers: Maximizing Impact on Learning (Paperback)
Anyone who teaches will find this book fascinating. Lots of data pointing to evidence of the best way to help children learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visible Learning for Teachers: Maximizing Impact on Learning (Paperback)
The book is extremely useful to me during my PGCE course and I would suggest it as a must buy to any teacher looking to extend their professional development
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All teachers should read this..., 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visible Learning for Teachers: Maximizing Impact on Learning (Paperback)
A very impressive collection of things teachers should act on without delay. For school leaders this provides a great resource that could support a professional development/inservice progam for new and experienced teachers alike. This information simply can't be ignored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book!!, 4 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visible Learning for Teachers: Maximizing Impact on Learning (Paperback)
This is an excellent book. John Hattie presents well founded research in a Very accessible manner, issues that could be presented as quite complex are presented in a clear and relevant way for all to understand. Hattie doesn't simply tell the reader everything teachers are doing wrong which is very refreshing! Instead it celebrates successful learning and shares the most effective ways in promoting learning. It is a must read for anybody working in education.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a long read, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visible Learning for Teachers: Maximizing Impact on Learning (Paperback)
An educational read that is best read in small chunks. I recommend the conclusions of each chapter then reading more if interested
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Visible Learning, 13 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visible Learning for Teachers: Maximizing Impact on Learning (Paperback)
This book was very informative and I believe will be a useful resource when I qualify as a teacher. It is full of interesting facts and ideas on how to improve practice to support children's overall attainment during their school years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for short reads and applications with learners, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visible Learning for Teachers: Maximizing Impact on Learning (Paperback)
Short reads because there is so much to think about and therefore sustained reading might mean I miss something. Practical applications appear throughout. I will refer to it for years yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visible Learning for Teachers: Maximizing Impact on Learning (Paperback)
This is quite heavy going and I'll have to read it again. John Hattie comes across as passionate about supporting pupil learning and changing school culture to bring this about. There are key tenets that Hattie has found through his research that improve pupil learning and I personally will try to plan with these in mind e.g direct instruction, effective feedback, success criteria. Generally this is a book that would suit school leaders when planning to change school culture. I'd like to work in a school where this book was used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This will turn your teaching inside out!, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are wondering how to get your children learning to learn and feeling frustrated with their inability to do things for themselves then this is the book for you. John Hattie has conducted extensive research over many years and his observations and case studies make good sense. I came to this via BLP, which we are starting to use, and I have found it incredibly valuable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa80c09cc)

This product

Visible Learning for Teachers: Maximizing Impact on Learning
Visible Learning for Teachers: Maximizing Impact on Learning by John Hattie (Paperback - 13 Dec 2011)
22.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews