Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colloquial Panjabi - Some thoughts
In terms of modernity, the course (the book and the recordings) is miles ahead of any competition, but it is not for the users who are afraid of exercising the muscles of their brains or wish to learn "Tourist Panjabi" only. The author seems to be inspired by the modern Generative school of linguistics. He says very clearly that the course is meant for intelligent and...
Published on 6 Sep 2004 by vicky_sheerness

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pointless purchasing the book without the audio cassette/cd
The book itself is very thorough and the author goes into extensive detail about how and why words are used. However, it became obvious that I was not going to pick up much at all without the CD for pronunciation guidance. It also appears that it is very difficult to get hold of the CD so I would not advise this book as a learning aid on its own.
Published on 24 May 2008 by Ca Wanowski


Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colloquial Panjabi - Some thoughts, 6 Sep 2004
In terms of modernity, the course (the book and the recordings) is miles ahead of any competition, but it is not for the users who are afraid of exercising the muscles of their brains or wish to learn "Tourist Panjabi" only. The author seems to be inspired by the modern Generative school of linguistics. He says very clearly that the course is meant for intelligent and dedicated adult learners who wish to use Panjabi in all sorts of, and often unpredictable, situations. The dialogues and exercises deal with many different types of situations, rules of grammar and pronunciation are explained expertly and in great detail, hundreds of Panjabi words dealing with various topics are given in the Vocabulary section, a long list of Panjabi verbs is also given, and the user is actively encouraged to imagine new situations, find appropriate words from the Vocabulary section/dictionary to generate new appropriate utterances. The section dealing with the Panjabi script is the best introduction to the writing system of a North Indian script I have come across.
The course has a well-planned architecture and does not appear to consist of chunks assembled together. The lessons move from the grammatically less complex to the more complex. The cassette recordings have not only the dialogues and exercises but also explanations and exemplification of the subtleties of pronunciation, especially Panjabi tones, which could not be presented on the printed pages. The extremely natural-sounding and dramatic dialogues present real life situations and have a touch of tenderness and gentle humour. The Grammatical Summary and the Vocabulary section should be a boon to any leaner of Panjabi.
Sadly, the author does not tell the user "where to move from here" because no courses for the learning of Panjabi at a higher level exist. I have been looking for one for the last four years and have not been able to find any. What about Bhardwaj himself writing one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gets you talking quickly, 4 April 2005
I am no linguist, but I love learning with this book. Within two weeks of receiving this book I was having understandable exchanges in Punjabi with non-english speakers.
This is not a phrase book, yet neither is it a dry dissitation on grammar and conjugation. The author introduces words and phrases through conversational exchanges and then breaks down the sentences to show literal and intentional translations, explaining sentence structure and how the rules differ from English. This is a very interactive way of learning.
I haven't listened to the tapes, so sometimes I get pronunciation wrong and need to be corrected. Personally I like this, since it takes the pressure off being perfect before I use a sentence and gives Punjabi speakers an opportunity to help in my education.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need more than just the book?, 12 Oct 2009
By 
flyinghyphen "flyinghyphen" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
ISBN 9780415434911 comprises the Book and the Audio CDs

To purchase the items separately, choose:

Book :ISBN 9780415101912

Colloquial Panjabi: A Complete Language Course (Colloquial Series)

or

Audio CD: ISBN 0415439450

Colloquial Punjabi (Routledge Colloquials)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very clear and well-written, 29 Nov 2010
I would definitely recommend this book+CD to anyone who is a beginner in punjabi, like myself. It is exactly what I would expect from a beginner's course - definitely worth its money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pointless purchasing the book without the audio cassette/cd, 24 May 2008
By 
Ca Wanowski "carson85" (Wolves, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The book itself is very thorough and the author goes into extensive detail about how and why words are used. However, it became obvious that I was not going to pick up much at all without the CD for pronunciation guidance. It also appears that it is very difficult to get hold of the CD so I would not advise this book as a learning aid on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars panjabi, 14 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. C. Stanton (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i found it easy to understand and the tempo good. soon pick up the language
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am punjabi and was looking for something to assist my husband in improving his spoken punjabi. Whilst this is a good book, it is very comprehensive and doesn't really cater for someone wanting to improve their punjabi, rather than someone wanting to learn from scratch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My new goal., 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Irated this book a five star as I wanted a book as an introduction to another language. Great online way to purchase as I am not always able to get out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Colloquial Panjabi: The Complete Course for Beginners (Colloquial Series)
Colloquial Panjabi: The Complete Course for Beginners (Colloquial Series) by Mangat Rai Bhardwaj (Paperback - 26 April 2012)
£48.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews