Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and Readable Guide to the Topic
This is obviously the reference work on the phenomenon of moral panics and as such essential reading for anyone who wishes to understand the topic. As a work of social science it can be hard going at times and is probably not for the casual reader, however those with a reasonable understanding of the subject area will find it a generally very readable work.
The new...
Published on 3 Mar 2004 by Barry Smith

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars satisfactory
I had to purchase and read this book for a book review and honestly, it was quite boring. However, for those interested in the subject will find a (slightly biased) very analytical approach to the whole phenomenon of the Mods and Rockers
Published 17 months ago by vikks


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and Readable Guide to the Topic, 3 Mar 2004
By 
Barry Smith "barrynl" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is obviously the reference work on the phenomenon of moral panics and as such essential reading for anyone who wishes to understand the topic. As a work of social science it can be hard going at times and is probably not for the casual reader, however those with a reasonable understanding of the subject area will find it a generally very readable work.
The new introduction for the third edition is also an excellent review of some of the moral panics of the last few years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FABULOUS book, 6 May 2012
By 
K. Bond "Kazzy B Knits" (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folk Devils and Moral Panics (Routledge Classics) (Paperback)
This book is a must for anyone studying criminology, sociology, psychology... or who just has an interest in human nature and how we are influenced by outside pressures. This 30th anniversary edition has been updated to reflect more recent events such as the killing of James Bulger (the original was written about the Mods and Rockers phenomenon). Whether you read it as a textbook, or simply out of an interest in social history, this is unmissable. Unlike many sociologists, Stan Cohen uses accessible language - always a bonus when reading for coursework!! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Source book., 4 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. O. George "Lamentes" (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is fantastic as a sociological and criminological resource and i recommend it heartily to anyone studying these disciplines.
The writing is not a awfully dense as many other sociology texts and provides an interesting and enjoyable read.
His observations are succinct and extremely insightful. A master of modern criminology indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Use for Open University DD131 TMA04, 1 Oct 2010
By 
Reformed Poacher Limited "Neil Robinson" (Westhoughton UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this to proviude background info for TMA04 for OU course DD131 (DD101). Imnmensly readable and sensible - yes I know the summary info is all in the main text book, but the source puts the case clearly. Also if you get the 1980 Second Edition, then Cohen's new introduction helps point towards how you can mix and match with other models (e.g. Policing the Crisis). However the TMA hasn't been marked so I can't say whether it worked.

As a sociology book it is VERY easy reading (couple of hours before going to bed).

Neil
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awsum. any one studying or intreasted in social issues in contempary britian must read this book., 12 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folk Devils and Moral Panics (Routledge Classics) (Paperback)
Amazing; shows how nothing has really changed since first publication. The issues are still there just new and bigger labeling issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Criminology student, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folk Devils and Moral Panics (Routledge Classics) (Paperback)
I'm a Criminology student, and wow has this book come in handy. Not only has it helped me with plenty of essays, but (I never thought I'd say this) it is an enjoyable read too. Love Cohen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars R.I.P. Stanley Cohen, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folk Devils and Moral Panics (Routledge Classics) (Paperback)
Got an assignment coming up on moral panics caused by the media. This book will no doubt provide considerable help in my research and was great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars satisfactory, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folk Devils and Moral Panics (Routledge Classics) (Paperback)
I had to purchase and read this book for a book review and honestly, it was quite boring. However, for those interested in the subject will find a (slightly biased) very analytical approach to the whole phenomenon of the Mods and Rockers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Folk Devils and Moral Panics (Routledge Classics) (Paperback)
This is a requisite book for my social work degree course but it is really interesting ... to the point that I carry it around to read a bit more whenever I am walking, sitting for a few minutes or generally able to. It links historical 'moral panics' (Mods & Rockers) but Cohen brings it right up to date referring to more recent events, such as the Jamie Bulger case. There are sections that I have to read a couple of times to get my head around it, but basically it is clear and understandable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacklustre1, 21 April 2013
This review is from: Folk Devils and Moral Panics (Routledge Classics) (Paperback)
Dreadful hippy view of a scene that is alive and well and celebrated by many of the original Rockers and Mods and new adherents to the scene Cohen should have got out more read johnny Stuarts rockers as a starting point instead of this tedious drivel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Folk Devils and Moral Panics (Routledge Classics)
Folk Devils and Moral Panics (Routledge Classics) by Stanley Cohen (Paperback - 4 April 2011)
15.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews