Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for Ancient History Students
Bought this book at the start of my First year taking Ancient history and Classical Studies, and just graduated (with a first!) and used this book in all three years.

Hornblower provides a clear and concise summary of events throughout the formative classical period which proved very useful as I came to grips with the subject area in my first year. On top of...
Published on 8 July 2008 by F. H. Jones

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A doubled edged sword..
Although thoroughly comprehensive, Hornblower sucks the life out of the subject, and which would kill the interest of any human being with a soul. Some of the writing, particularly what covers the start of Peloponnesian war, and the Athenian Empire covered in Chapter 3 and onward.

My recommendation: If you need this book to get you through a degree, fair...
Published 5 months ago by James


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for Ancient History Students, 8 July 2008
By 
F. H. Jones (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bought this book at the start of my First year taking Ancient history and Classical Studies, and just graduated (with a first!) and used this book in all three years.

Hornblower provides a clear and concise summary of events throughout the formative classical period which proved very useful as I came to grips with the subject area in my first year. On top of this, it is written with enough scholarly skill that I still used this book in my third year. Although obviously not completely comprehensive it covers most major themes and provides a great starting point for further study, aided by the brilliant bibliography.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The essential book for the period.., 1 Dec. 2003
The Greek World is, quite simply, a handbook for anyone even remotely interested in ancient Greek civilisation. It is easy to read, yet provides a terrific amount of detail into the various cities and cultures in the Peloponnesus. This third edition has been extensively updated, and the easy-to-use footnotes point to many other interesting books which expand on the subject. It's the perfect book to cultivate an interest in Ancient Greece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A doubled edged sword.., 21 Nov. 2014
This review is from: The Greek World 479-323 BC (The Routledge History of the Ancient World) (Paperback)
Although thoroughly comprehensive, Hornblower sucks the life out of the subject, and which would kill the interest of any human being with a soul. Some of the writing, particularly what covers the start of Peloponnesian war, and the Athenian Empire covered in Chapter 3 and onward.

My recommendation: If you need this book to get you through a degree, fair enough. Otherwise; there are other, more interesting, and wholly less mind numbing than Hornblower.

It's saving grace is Hornblower's thorough and extensive bibliography which you can use to great effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars however his writing style is not the best for me, 13 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is certainly very informative, however his writing style is not the best for me, at times there are just far too many bracketed (and lengthy) notes within the text, making the reading experience rather broken up and irritating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 15 Mar. 2006
By 
A. Harden (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the only guide to Greek history you'll ever need. Some of the finer points of chronology are disputed, but Hornblower's account is always objective and his careful referencing enables any attentive scholar to go further on their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful!, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greek World 479-323 BC (The Routledge History of the Ancient World) (Paperback)
One of the worst history books i've ever read, I got it as a text book on a university course i'm taking on the Greek world and it is one of the most atrociously written academic books i've read. At times it's very difficult to understand because he seems to not have a decent grasp of the English language, it's not concise and yet lacks lots of relevant detail, not to mention that it's incredibly dull (how one makes the Peloponnesian war and Persian invasions dull is beyond me but Hornblower manages it with aplomb!!!).

I really wouldn't recommend this to anyone, despite the other books in the series being excellent (Amelie Kuhrt's Ancient Near East is great!), this really is terrible, please do yourself a favor and buy one of the multitude of other books on the topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring!, 21 July 2008
By 
This book is dreadful! Its so dry and dull and impossible to get into. I kept falling asleep.You have to really want to absorb everything to glean anything from this book and even then you'll struggle.

whenever I put it down (for a much needed rest) I came away feeling cross and all I could remember about it was the amount of concentration needed to remain awake and focused. It is the literary equivalent of a challenging mountain climb with non of the satisfaction at reaching the summit.

This book has the power to damage an interest in the subject by presenting a one dimensional approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Greek World 479-323 BC (The Routledge History of the Ancient World)
£28.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews