Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very thorough, explains key concepts in understandable terms
I am studying public relations at university, and find this book very useful. For example, I could not grasp systems theory until I read about it in this book, and suddenly it made sense! It is quite a thorough yet simplistic text, and is certainly ideal for public relations students. Unlike many of the public relations text books that I have used, I find this book is...
Published on 27 Feb 2002

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty basic - but at least it is a start
I have yet to find a PR book that gives you any idea of how to do the real job in the real world
This would be fine as a 'course book' at college - but fairly useless if you are already working in PR
Published on 31 Dec 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very thorough, explains key concepts in understandable terms, 27 Feb 2002
By A Customer
I am studying public relations at university, and find this book very useful. For example, I could not grasp systems theory until I read about it in this book, and suddenly it made sense! It is quite a thorough yet simplistic text, and is certainly ideal for public relations students. Unlike many of the public relations text books that I have used, I find this book is very straightforward. As it is so concise, it is a very useful introductory text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, an introduction into PR theories and practice, but written in plain English, 18 April 2012
By 
This review is from: The Public Relations Handbook (Media Practice) (Paperback)
Unless you are studying for a degree or post grad qualification in public relations, you will have no idea how hard it is to find theoretical text written in a way that is easy to understand. And these are supposed to be PR academics? What branch of PR did they work in?! I sometimes have to wonder if these dusty old tomes are published in archaic and over complicated language just to make them sound more important than they really are.

Alison Theaker's book is like finding an oasis in the middle of the desert. Clear and comprehensive it explains in reader friendly text the concepts, theories and history of public relations. Yes, there are lots of references to other works, but this is by no means unusual. If you've actually read any other author's PR related research paper, journel or seminal report you will see their works littered with references to other authors as well. The difference is that Theaker's book provides just enough liquid refreshment to help you digest another mouthful of dry academic biscuit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty basic - but at least it is a start, 31 Dec 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have yet to find a PR book that gives you any idea of how to do the real job in the real world
This would be fine as a 'course book' at college - but fairly useless if you are already working in PR
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very thorough if a little dull, 8 Oct 2007
I read this as it is our set text for Bus and PR at Liverpool John Moores University. There is not doubting it is very good at covering the areas involved in PR but I have to say I started to find it hard going 3/4 of the way through. It's probably a must for most students to get a background in PR but it could be a bit more lively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good text book with extensive case studies, 19 Nov 2006
By 
E. Gonzalez (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
PR is not something that you can learn by reading a textbook, but if you are studying towards CAM or CIM this is the best book to read. Simple language, with extensive case studies that complete each chapter to summarise the points explained and help to make sense of the theory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For some reason there are very few good books on PR, 21 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For some reason there are very few good books on PR...I don't know why. Anyhow this PR handbook is the most comprehensive one I have read, giving the reader really good overview of this very fragmented industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent from start to finish!, 8 April 2002
By A Customer
I am also studying PR at university, and this book helped me the most. if u are studying stakeholder theory, crisis management and internal communication this is the book for u!
the QMUC case study was particulary helpful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A triumph of presentation over content, 17 Jan 2009
By 
L. Glendon (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I saw the "look inside" part of this book on public affairs and decided it would be worth a buy even at £70. Sadly very poor and very little original thinking outside of this chapter - some sources are so heavily re-quoted you wonder what prompted this book. For £70 you can buy a lot of good books on PR. Avoid this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, and invaluable if you're studying PR, 2 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Public Relations Handbook (Media Practice) (Paperback)
An excellent book, and invaluable if you're studying PR. The listing has got the author wrong it should be Alison Theaker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Public Relations Handbook (Media Practice) (Paperback)
just what i needed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Public Relations Handbook (Media Practice)
The Public Relations Handbook (Media Practice) by Alison Theaker (Paperback - 10 Aug 2011)
£25.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews