Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to complex media studies concepts
This is a textbook that goes further than any similar volume has ever done. It introduces many complicated and often confusing topics in straightforward terms, which are demonstrated using comprehensive case studies. It also covers a broad range of media-related issues widely studied at degree level, and is structured into well ordered, intuitive chapters. The new...
Published on 27 Sep 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great help for media students
for all media students even for university use as easy read in understanding most of the topics associated with the modules required to learn
Published on 4 Mar 2010 by KJ Mansfield


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to complex media studies concepts, 27 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This is a textbook that goes further than any similar volume has ever done. It introduces many complicated and often confusing topics in straightforward terms, which are demonstrated using comprehensive case studies. It also covers a broad range of media-related issues widely studied at degree level, and is structured into well ordered, intuitive chapters. The new chapters in the second edition, particularly that in regard to the internet, are of an excellent standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The stepping stone of media, 24 Mar 2006
By 
Wild Thing (Banbury, Oxfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I found Branston and Stafford's Media and Students Book, extremely helpful to me in my first year of studying media studies.
Quoting several different scholars and theorists, to back up some well thought out and well explained ideas behind media.
It was an excellent stepping stone for me and a platform to read more advanced media books, as this one was the foundation or the ground floor of media books, it covers the basics of media.
Overall a good read and highly reccommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for any Media Student, 1 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Media Student's Book (Paperback)
Bought this book when I started my Media Course in College and this book has saved my bacon.
It is clear and easy to read with helpful links... It's a media tutor to go!

If you are studying media I would highly recommend this book, or just for anyone who has a keen interest in Media.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Media students book 5, 10 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Media Student's Book (Paperback)
This book is the perfect addition for a level to degree. it is not as bulky as the 4th edition, with just the same information
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great help for media students, 4 Mar 2010
By 
KJ Mansfield "Kirsty" (Swansea, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
for all media students even for university use as easy read in understanding most of the topics associated with the modules required to learn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the media students book, 29 Oct 2009
find this book very easy to read.
I am using this book for my BSc criminology and it help a lot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Media Student's Book (Paperback)
Bought this for my son and his media studies tutor said no good for a level media studies as its out of date? However is is the latest issue pr so it states it is, probably just a new cover maybe.. Now for sale on ebay
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for media students for 1st year uni., 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Media Student's Book (Paperback)
This book helped me out a lot during referencing for my first year of media studies in uni, therefore cannot complain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect!, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Media Student's Book (Paperback)
I bought this book for my daughters study, it arrived sooner than I expected and when we checked through it the quality was perfect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I expected, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Media Student's Book (Paperback)
Perfect for University and A Level students a like. Cheapest place I could find the book which is highly used in media and cultural studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Media Student's Book
The Media Student's Book by Roy Stafford (Paperback - 27 May 2010)
27.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews