Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AS level revision guide
My daughter was very pleased with this book to help prepare for her AS Religious Studies exam. Even though she is sitting a different Board she found this book was very detailed and better than the one her teacher had recommended.
Published on 7 Feb 2010 by N. Morgan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not really "as new"
Although the cover and pages are in an as new condition with regards to no rips, tears or folds etc., a lot of the pages have text which has been highlighted using highlighting pens.
Published 6 months ago by Christopher Bridgeman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AS level revision guide, 7 Feb 2010
By 
N. Morgan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: OCR Religious Ethics for AS and A2 (Paperback)
My daughter was very pleased with this book to help prepare for her AS Religious Studies exam. Even though she is sitting a different Board she found this book was very detailed and better than the one her teacher had recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very helpful, 27 Dec 2009
By 
Ms. J. Avejan "jenny" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: OCR Religious Ethics for AS and A2 (Paperback)
this books helps me alot in my A levels.
it will be a majour help to you when you wite your essays, for part A and part B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VITAL for As ethics, 2 May 2009
By 
This review is from: OCR Religious Ethics for AS and A2 (Paperback)
comprehensive easy to understand, clear and to the point. Excellent for studying as well as revision. a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RE text book, 15 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR Religious Ethics for AS and A2 (Paperback)
Bought for my daughter who says it's a very usefull resource to accompany the OCR Religious Ethics AS/A2 course sh is following.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR Religious Ethics for AS and A2 (Paperback)
This book is very useful, I've used it for my AS Level this summer, and found it very helpful, and I'm waiting to use it for my A2. I recommend this book,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Necessary For A2, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR Religious Ethics for AS and A2 (Paperback)
I found that with AS, I could get away with using the tiny white Peter Baron revision guides because you're not expected to know as much detail, and the concepts are a bit easier. This year however, the concepts have become a lot more complex and I need a proper textbook to understand them. Everything is well explained, and there are a lot of philosophers mentioned.

Unfortunately, there is a big disparity between different sections. For example, the 'environment and business' section is absolutely top notch, it's thorough, and there are lots of long extracts from various essays/books from famous philosophers. This means that you can talk about these essays and books in the exam as if you've actually read them and hopefully score some extra marks.
But I found the 'free will and determinism' section very weak. Kant's views on free will are quite complex, and require a through explanation to understand them. This book did not offer this explanation— instead, the page on him was disjointed and didn't really explain his theory very well. The further reading section also only contained three suggestions, with two of them being full books, and one being an essay. As a student with a limit on the time and money I can spend on further reading, I appreciate shorter essays which are freely available online, as opposed to huge books. For anyone doing A2 ethics, Sam Harris's 'Free Will' is a good, short read (60 pages) on hard determinism.

I would still highly recommend this book, and just wish that they also did one for AS/A2 philosophy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not really "as new", 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR Religious Ethics for AS and A2 (Paperback)
Although the cover and pages are in an as new condition with regards to no rips, tears or folds etc., a lot of the pages have text which has been highlighted using highlighting pens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gives good summary for studies, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR Religious Ethics for AS and A2 (Paperback)
This book is recommended for my son's AS studies and, so far, he has found it extremely useful. It gives good summaries of the arguments and covers the main topics needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for daughter knew product before purchase, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR Religious Ethics for AS and A2 (Paperback)
It was bought for our daughter who knew of the product before it was purchased wouldn't have bought it otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars School book, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR Religious Ethics for AS and A2 (Paperback)
I bought this book as requested by my daughters 6th form school. I have not had anything else to do with the book. My daughter is pleased with it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

OCR Religious Ethics for AS and A2
OCR Religious Ethics for AS and A2 by Jill Oliphant (Paperback - 26 Jun 2008)
22.99
Usually dispatched within 6 to 9 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews