Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best textbooks
As a student, I wade through many textbooks of all shapes and sizes, and I have to say that this is by far my favourite. It introduces all the main topics in detail, which whilst not covering everything in as much details at it could have done (although this would mean an absolutely massive book because of the sheer volume of philosophy), does so in a succinct and clear...
Published on 2 Aug. 2010 by Rory Phillips

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars curate's egg - good in parts
Reflecting the author's expertise, some parts of this are very good, some are repetitive and imprecise. The section on the Judaeo-Christian concept of God is very wordy and lacking substance. The section on the moral argument drove us back to a previous ocr text book - but the way it sets out the course requirements and the help with exam essay structure is most useful.
Published on 6 Dec. 2010 by Mrs C Lane


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best textbooks, 2 Aug. 2010
By 
Rory Phillips (West Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: OCR Philosophy of Religion for AS and A2 (Paperback)
As a student, I wade through many textbooks of all shapes and sizes, and I have to say that this is by far my favourite. It introduces all the main topics in detail, which whilst not covering everything in as much details at it could have done (although this would mean an absolutely massive book because of the sheer volume of philosophy), does so in a succinct and clear manner. At the end of each chapter there is a summery of what you need to know as a basic guideline, which helps you extract the key points from each topic. This is actually very useful if you struggle with some areas (Aquinas' third way for me!) Another great thing about this textbook is the margins, which are filled in with short definitions, biographies and the like. There is also a timeline at the beginning for the philosophers mentioned in the book.

If you are studying philosophy at A level, or intend to teach the OCR specification, then this book (and its ethical equivalent) will stand you in good stead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource, 13 Jun. 2011
This review is from: OCR Philosophy of Religion for AS and A2 (Paperback)
This year I have taken the whole Religious Studies A-Level as a private candidate, just studying on my own. I can honestly say this book was a lifesaver. Although it doesn't always focus on the specification and it can be a bit wordy, in terms of content it's comprehensive and useful. However, for those not already versed in philosophical enquiry, I would recommend the Ahluwalia textbook as more accessible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars curate's egg - good in parts, 6 Dec. 2010
By 
Mrs C Lane (Bournemouth, Dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: OCR Philosophy of Religion for AS and A2 (Paperback)
Reflecting the author's expertise, some parts of this are very good, some are repetitive and imprecise. The section on the Judaeo-Christian concept of God is very wordy and lacking substance. The section on the moral argument drove us back to a previous ocr text book - but the way it sets out the course requirements and the help with exam essay structure is most useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Students like it but it's inaccurate, 3 Aug. 2009
This review is from: OCR Philosophy of Religion for AS and A2 (Paperback)
This book is set out in a way that is attractive to students, with interesting thought points and helpful exam tips. The information contained within it is at best sketchy, at worst totally inaccurate. As a graduate in Philosophy of Religion and checking my thoughts against further reading, I found several important mistakes. Simplification can take place without losing the truth of a view set out by a philosopher, but this has not been achieved in this book. However, it is OCR endorsed and therefore if students regurgitate it they will attain good marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would recommend for any A Level students, 23 Jun. 2014
By 
Becky Prince (St Annes, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR Philosophy of Religion for AS and A2 (Paperback)
This book helped me through my philosophy A Level, it really does have everything you need to know so I'd recommend it to anyone doing the philosophy/philosophy and ethics course. Its ethics counterpart is equally helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, 11 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR Philosophy of Religion for AS and A2 (Paperback)
Iv just started the first year of my A-levels and having this book for Philosophy is fantastic!! its very clear, tells you exactly what you need to know, has easy to understand definitions, gives a mini fact-file for any philosophers, suggests reference books and websites to look at in order to develop further reading, tells you how to structure exam answers, and gives you a range of different exam questions to try.

It is great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great book- shame about the errors!, 27 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After falling in love with my Kindle last month it is a shame that I am now having problems with my latest Kindle book. I recently downloaded OCR Philosophy of Religion for AS and A2, Second Edition [Kindle Edition], and have found that there are incomplete sentences and entire paragraphs that are repeated. This book has otherwise been a great support to my studies, but I'm not happy after having paid £15 for it (on a student budget!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab item*Speedy delivery*, 23 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: OCR Philosophy of Religion for AS and A2 (Paperback)
The school advised us to get this book from our local bookshop as my daughter needed it for her homework. I decided to go for the cheaper option and she still got her homework in on time :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 26 May 2011
This review is from: OCR Philosophy of Religion for AS and A2 (Paperback)
Everything you need to know for OCR philosophy of religion. Covers all themes well, detailed but not complicated. Good book for those who want to achieve higher marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OCR Philosophy of Religion for AS and A2, 28 Feb. 2011
This review is from: OCR Philosophy of Religion for AS and A2 (Paperback)
A great book which has all the relevant information that is required for students that are studying philosphy of religion. Has great detail and is very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

OCR Philosophy of Religion for AS and A2
OCR Philosophy of Religion for AS and A2 by Matthew Taylor (Paperback - 22 Dec. 2008)
£19.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews