Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pie's Jumpstarts do it again!
This is my second purchase of books from the Jumpstart range. I bought Jumpstart literacy last year and use it so much felt i needed some more of Pie's wonderful activities. Jumpstart storymaking is a must for KS2 literacy lessons and classrooms in particular though many activities would be easily adaptable for ks1. The activities are divided into sentence, character,...
Published on 5 Jan 2009 by Miss B

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Literacy support
To be honest I did not use this book after buying it. I felt for a busy teacher it could have been much more user friendly.
Published 20 months ago by sheilab


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pie's Jumpstarts do it again!, 5 Jan 2009
This review is from: Jumpstart! Storymaking: Games and Activities for Ages 7-12 (Paperback)
This is my second purchase of books from the Jumpstart range. I bought Jumpstart literacy last year and use it so much felt i needed some more of Pie's wonderful activities. Jumpstart storymaking is a must for KS2 literacy lessons and classrooms in particular though many activities would be easily adaptable for ks1. The activities are divided into sentence, character, setting, storymaking, story reading and allow you to tailor appropriate games to the start of your lessons. All are easily explained and where resources are need you, Pie virtually tells you what you need and you just need to make the little cards with words on etc.... The activities also inspire ideas of my own which probably wouldnt arrive without Pie's initial stimulus.

The introductory chapter is very useful in underlying his ideas and methodology around story-writing and how it should be nurtured. As always, written in Pie's easy to understand but incredibly informative way. Jumpstart Poetry next no doubt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pie imparts even more knowledge!, 19 July 2010
This review is from: Jumpstart! Storymaking: Games and Activities for Ages 7-12 (Paperback)
Another amazing resource from Pie Corbett. Informative and practical with lots of new ideas and activities that really work. An essential tool for the primary teacher looking to improve writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pie Corbett does it again, 30 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jumpstart! Storymaking: Games and Activities for Ages 7-12 (Paperback)
I've previously bought and used the 'red' jumpstart book. This one is similar but with more drama based fun activities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pie Corbett does it again, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jumpstart! Storymaking: Games and Activities for Ages 7-12 (Paperback)
Pie Corbett never lets me down. A great resource with lots of ideas for KS2 teachers. You can literally open the book at any page and use the ideas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must for teachers, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book coalesces all that your instincts tell you is right to teach for story's. I highly recommend it to all in the teaching profession, even if you think, but I do that already, there are some fabulous tips. I love the over arching ethos, after all we would not be who we are without stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Storymaking games, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jumpstart! Storymaking: Games and Activities for Ages 7-12 (Paperback)
This book is full of good ideas when you need an extra boost. It is easy to read and very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good buy, 12 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. E. Owie "camplife" (South East Essex England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jumpstart! Storymaking: Games and Activities for Ages 7-12 (Paperback)
This book does what it says on its cover quite well. Four star because as a book targeted at learners of this age group it could be a tad funnier and visually exciting (use of colours and dynamic movements)

However this is a very brilliant book as I found it handy (my self-help manual) in guiding my children's home learning activity (bing enthusiastic in this direction but without any formal skills).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Literacy support, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jumpstart! Storymaking: Games and Activities for Ages 7-12 (Paperback)
To be honest I did not use this book after buying it. I felt for a busy teacher it could have been much more user friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All Teachers Should Have This Book!, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jumpstart! Storymaking: Games and Activities for Ages 7-12 (Paperback)
This book will change story writing in your classroom forever! It is full of practical activities that are easy to use!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Literacy, 22 Feb 2013
By 
Ms. S. L. Wicks "book fiend" (Wakefield, West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jumpstart! Storymaking: Games and Activities for Ages 7-12 (Paperback)
Fantastic book with lots of fun ideas to do with the students I teach in my Literacy lessons. Thank you x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jumpstart! Storymaking: Games and Activities for Ages 7-12
Jumpstart! Storymaking: Games and Activities for Ages 7-12 by Pie Corbett (Paperback - 28 Nov 2008)
£12.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews