Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colloquial Welsh
I have the kindle version. It is an excellent book, very easy to work through and the CD which accompanies it is a very useful also.
Published 11 months ago by GB

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not flawless but useful
If you want to teach yourself Welsh, you can very well do it with this book. I would however recommend to look for support elsewhere, e.g. do a few lessons of the BBC's Big Welsh Challenge before starting with this book, as it plunges right into dialogue at a fairly high level. Generally the course is thorough and at a quick pace, with little opportunity to repeat things...
Published 2 days ago by clara2201


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Not flawless but useful, 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you want to teach yourself Welsh, you can very well do it with this book. I would however recommend to look for support elsewhere, e.g. do a few lessons of the BBC's Big Welsh Challenge before starting with this book, as it plunges right into dialogue at a fairly high level. Generally the course is thorough and at a quick pace, with little opportunity to repeat things so they would keep in mind better. So your knowledge of grammar grows and grows while your stock of vocabulary is still very limited, which is why I would recommend to find things to read or to listen to in addition to this course. What is a constant annoyance is the way new vocabulary is presented: While some words are ignored completely and you have to look them up for yourself, others are listed again and again as new words. Besides, you are made aware of irregular plurals and advised to learn them with the word, but the plural is more often then not left out in the vocabulary section.
To me, Mr King seems to be an ardent lover of Welsh with just too little understanding for the needs of a green learner. I think the fact that he tries to cover the regional differances of the language is a good idea and quite helpful, even if things get more complicated again. I would recommend his dictionnary to go with the course and encourage everybody to get at least a glimpse of this beautiful language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colloquial Welsh, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have the kindle version. It is an excellent book, very easy to work through and the CD which accompanies it is a very useful also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a good buy., 9 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ab Ithel is too generous in his criticism of this CD. As a teaching aid, it's a failure. The almost universal perception of students trying to learn any new language is that native speakers talk too fast and tend to mumble and/or gabble, making them almost unintelligible to the neophyte. So what do the speakers on this CD do? They speak far too fast, mumble, gabble and slur their words together, on top of which they sound like a bunch of impecunious students who are bored out of their skulls and only doing the job for the money. You need to be a fairly fluent Welsh speaker to follow the dialogue on this CD but, by the time you have become sufficiently fluent, you will no longer need the CD!

Please take note, Mr. Gareth King and Messrs. Routledge, this CD needs to be completely re-recorded. Ask the Welsh speakers to show just a little apparent enthusiasm for what they are doing and demand that they speak at no more than half the speed at which they currently deliver their lines, certainly for the first few lessons. Whilst they are obviously not professional actors, do try to persuade them to use clearer diction. Even though the result might sound like 1950's rep. theatre to life-long Welsh speakers it would provide inestimable help to those struggling to learn the language from scratch.

Overall, the whole thing needs to be slowed down, with long pauses at significant points to allow learners time to compare what they are hearing with what they read in the book. Each new sentence needs to be repeated, perhaps several times, so that beginners can absorb what is being said before moving on. It is completely impracticable to keep turning a CD on and off and having to rewind every few seconds in order to try to catch up. The author and publisher could indeed learn much from BBC Wales's Big Welsh Challenge. OK, the acting in the latter is pretty corny and there is too much slang - or Wenglish - but it certainly avoids the pitfalls into which this CD has so obviously fallen. The beginner is not left floundering after only a couple of lessons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ideal introduction to the welsh language, 26 May 2009
By 
johann28 (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I found this a superb introduction to welsh. i had only a basic knowledge before i began but this easy to follow yet comprehensive volume is certainly quite the best in its field that i've come across. I took this and the other volume with me on a trip to Guernsey recently and was much more confident by the time i'd returned! Thank you so much to the author you've enriched my life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars colloquial welsh, 11 May 2009
This is a good book - at least for someone who knows a little Welsh - but I found some of the diction on the CDs with the book rather poor, with words being slurred together. It seems so obvious that to learn a language, each word should be clear and distinct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite useful, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was disappointed that there is a CD to go with the book and I wasn't prompted to order it at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Colloquial Welsh (Book & Audio CD)
Colloquial Welsh (Book & Audio CD) by Gareth King (Audio CD - 30 Jun 2008)
34.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews