Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clear, concise and very informative!
This book contains a great deal of information and is laid out in a way that it can be clearly understood, easily navigated and has a suitable balance of text and figures. It will be very useful for those completing modules in exercise and health at university but will also be an interesting read out of the academic setting. I would highly recommend this book for both...
Published on 10 May 2010 by Mr. Jonathan RH Tudor

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Laboured
Whilst this book has some useful messages to offer, they are spread out thin, with copious amounts of secondary infirmation such as experimental techniques. I personally found it tortuous to read, and learnt very little they I did not know already about the impact of exercise on health. My feeling is that as a text book, it had to trick so many political correctness boxes...
Published on 21 Feb. 2010 by Mr. N. Moffatt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clear, concise and very informative!, 10 May 2010
By 
Mr. Jonathan RH Tudor (Southport) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Physical Activity and Health: The Evidence Explained (Paperback)
This book contains a great deal of information and is laid out in a way that it can be clearly understood, easily navigated and has a suitable balance of text and figures. It will be very useful for those completing modules in exercise and health at university but will also be an interesting read out of the academic setting. I would highly recommend this book for both students looking to further their knowledge in the area of health and exercise but also those who are not at university.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and thorough, 10 May 2010
By 
Maurice Dungey (Sussex, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Physical Activity and Health: The Evidence Explained (Paperback)
As an undergraduate studying Sports Science this textbook was invaluable in helping explain and summarise the literature covering physical activity and disease. This book succeeds where many textbooks fail. It is clear, logically set out, and successfully links studies together. The book is understandable even for those with little knowledge in the area.

I would thoroughly recommend this book for others studying any sport/exercise/health related courses or modules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent resource, 8 May 2010
By 
David Palmer (Castle Donington, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Physical Activity and Health: The Evidence Explained (Paperback)
Having read the 1st edition of this book as an undergraduate sports science student and now having read this revised 2nd edition as a post-graduate exercise physiology PhD student, I'm not quite sure what the previous reviewer (Mr Moffatt) is talking about - or even if it is this book that he has actually read. I urge potential readers to take greater heed of the complementary comments of Professors Steven Blair and I-Min Lee who each comment very positively on this text.
As the title says - `the evidence explained' - this book provides a comprehensive overview of the most recent literature regarding the effects of physical activity on numerous health outcomes -including cardiovascular disease, type 2 diabetes mellitus, obesity, skeletal health and the metabolic syndrome. What sets this book apart from others in the area is the critical slant inherent within the text. The chapters provide a critical analysis of the evidence, asking what the evidence really tells us, rather than simply describing the research literature. The ability to critically analyse the evidence is an important component of good essay writing therefore I would sincerely recommend this text for any undergraduate or masters student studying in the area of physical activity and health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to follow, well presented and informative, 24 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Physical Activity and Health: The Evidence Explained (Paperback)
This book helped me in a number of my Sport and Exercise Science modules during my final year. It's content is well presented with figures that enhance understanding of the information presented. The key points at the end of the chapter are very useful, especially as a revision tool in order to test your knowledge. The book is very well written and easy to follow. I would recommend this to all undergraduates of Sport Science and Health related degrees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what I needed, 26 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Physical Activity and Health: The Evidence Explained (Paperback)
I did a sports science degree for my undergraduate at Loughborough university and needed this book to complete my course- very interesting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Physical Activity and Health: The Evidence Explained (Paperback)
Useful adjunct to current articles in press.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Laboured, 21 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr. N. Moffatt (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Physical Activity and Health: The Evidence Explained (Paperback)
Whilst this book has some useful messages to offer, they are spread out thin, with copious amounts of secondary infirmation such as experimental techniques. I personally found it tortuous to read, and learnt very little they I did not know already about the impact of exercise on health. My feeling is that as a text book, it had to trick so many political correctness boxes that it became almost unreadable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Physical Activity and Health: The Evidence Explained
Physical Activity and Health: The Evidence Explained by David J. Stensel (Paperback - 18 May 2009)
£35.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews