Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Chance to Make a Difference - A Guide to bring about Change, 26 April 2007
This review is from: Evidence-based Care for Normal Labour and Birth: A guide for midwives (Paperback)
In the United Kingdom and developed countries around the world, childbirth is safer than at any other time in our history. In spite of this, there continues to be an over reliance on technology in labour and an overemphasis on risk and risk management, which adversely shapes and controls women's experiences of birth.

In stark contradiction to the research evidence, normal birth in most UK hospitals is largely managed on a medical model of care even when provided by midwives. Where alternative approaches to maternity care exist, such as in midwife-led units or at home, the parameters of safe care may also be defined and determined by hospital based models of what constitutes 'normality' rather than the research evidence or the needs of mothers and families.

The publication of Dr. Denis Walsh's book on 'Evidence-based Care for Normal Labour and Birth' is a much needed resource to challenge and counter these trends and offers both mothers, midwives and the medical profession, the opportunity to consider alternatives to our current ways of working. Informative and scholarly, this book is a joy to read and provides a sensible and authorative approach to the important issues of informed choice, risk and the research evidence. It will be welcomed by midwives from all areas of practice and I trust will assist them and the wider maternity care team to improve and strengthen our approach to 'best practice' in the interests of mothers and families.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rethink everyday practice, 27 Jun. 2007
This review is from: Evidence-based Care for Normal Labour and Birth: A guide for midwives (Paperback)
This book challenges midwives to look critically at their everyday practice. Not only technological interventions interfere with women's own rythms of labour. The birth environment, the way we deal with women and the many written and unwritten rules we apply can intervene unnecessarily with the natural course of labour.

Why is the supine birthing position so common that women assume they have to give birth lying down? Why do we tell women how to push or tell them they are not allowed to push? This book gives you the evidence to change common practices and make them more woman-centred.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Midwife's Friend, 25 Jun. 2007
This review is from: Evidence-based Care for Normal Labour and Birth: A guide for midwives (Paperback)
As a practising midwife on a busy labour ward, I found this book brilliant for supporting and encouraging me to practice normality. Though about research in the main, it was always an interesting read with a sprinkling of anecdotes through out the chapters. What comes through is Denis Walsh's committment to normal birth and his passionate belief that there is a substantial amount research out there supportive of that. I liked the broader 'take' on evidence to, not just research but clinical experience and intuition as well. Recommended for every midwife!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Normal birth book, 26 Jun. 2007
This review is from: Evidence-based Care for Normal Labour and Birth: A guide for midwives (Paperback)
As a student midwife, I have found this book great. It covers all the important research on most aspects of normal birth and the author's strong belief in the value of normal birth shines through the text. I just wish all obstetricians would read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 8 Mar. 2009
By 
This review is from: Evidence-based Care for Normal Labour and Birth: A guide for midwives (Paperback)
As I am not (yet) a Midwifery student, I was worried that this book would be unaccessable to me. However, it is easily readable by people with even a little knowlege, although I did have to look some things up, and provides very good information on many topics surrounding 'normal' birth. Whilst the author is clearly pro- active birth and natural labour and birth, he presents this view with strong evidence and good hints on how these can be applied in practice. Very helpful for anyone with an interest in natural birth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational read., 13 Sept. 2010
By 
L. Mitchell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evidence-based Care for Normal Labour and Birth: A guide for midwives (Paperback)
Denis Walsh is always such good value and a champion for normalising childbirth and seeing both sides of the 'coin'. This book leads the reader through the normal labour citing evidence to support normalising wherever possible. He offers students and midwives the opportunity to stop actively managing and consider physiologically managing what women have been doing since time began. So many midwives trained and witnessed interventionalist midwifery in the face of busy delivery suites and this book strives to get the profession thinking and looking at the evidence for keeping childbirth as normal as possible. It is written in easy text and not wrapped in waffle and academia - I thoroughly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this now!, 23 Nov. 2010
By 
This review is from: Evidence-based Care for Normal Labour and Birth: A guide for midwives (Paperback)
Far too little has been written about normality in childbirth. Denis Walsh redresses the balance and this book is esential reading for all those involved in childbirth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for a student midwife., 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evidence-based Care for Normal Labour and Birth: A guide for midwives (Paperback)
A brilliantly written book with a massive wealth of knowledge and midwifery wisdom placed within an accessible and well structured chapters. Ideal for student midwives.
The chapters are very well referenced, encouraging further study and research.
I really enjoyed this book and at the end of the chapters the questions that prompt thought on how the evidence in the chapter might effect practice is a really useful part of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Nov. 2014
By 
brown eyes (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evidence-based Care for Normal Labour and Birth: A guide for midwives (Paperback)
Really good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Evidence-based Care for Normal Labour and Birth: A guide for midwives
Used & New from: £12.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews