Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, engaging and highly practical-Pure Billiance!
This book is a pure gem! Solidly based in the latest research and presented in a conversational and engaging style, it presents the theory of sports psychology in a very accessible way. Perhaps, more importantly, it explains the vital practical steps one can take to apply this theory to enhance performance. And here's the brilliant bit... the WAY in which the material is...
Published on 12 Jun 2008 by Coopes Fan

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointing
Although it is in no way a bad book, I was left slightly disappointed. It provoked thought about the subject but gave very few concrete solutions to common problems. It was good background reading and the quotes were good but if you want examples that you can use 'off the shelf' then there are better books about.
The best I have found so far is 'Brilliant NLP' but I...
Published on 22 Aug 2009 by Mr. K. Prior


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, engaging and highly practical-Pure Billiance!, 12 Jun 2008
This review is from: Pure Sport: Practical Sport Psychology (Paperback)
This book is a pure gem! Solidly based in the latest research and presented in a conversational and engaging style, it presents the theory of sports psychology in a very accessible way. Perhaps, more importantly, it explains the vital practical steps one can take to apply this theory to enhance performance. And here's the brilliant bit... the WAY in which the material is presented(especially the sections on Imagining, Improving and Mistake Management) have such wide applicability. They allow the reader to apply this knowledge and these techniques to enhance whatever their 'game' is - for example, it could be something practical such as sport, or playing a musical instrument or some form of craftmanship. Equally, these techniques could be applied with benefit to other seemingly more 'abstract' concepts such as building and improving relationships either socially or in the work place. The section on 'Teaming' is essential reading for any one in a leadership position. The thorough analysis of the theory, combined with real examples and topped off with well considered insights from the authors, ensure that this section adds gives a crucial edge to anyone with a serious interest in bringing out the full potential from their subordinates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very worthwhile, 13 July 2009
This review is from: Pure Sport: Practical Sport Psychology (Paperback)
Would highly recommend this book to anyone needing a boost to mentally prepare for any sport. It is practical, not preaching, and the examples are very worthwhile. I have purchased other books which read as university textbooks which I have found to be much less useful. I have seen immediate benefit to how I prepare mentally and deal with challenging situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Theory and Experience, 26 Feb 2010
By 
J. McNulty - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pure Sport: Practical Sport Psychology (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book with the authors' psychology theory being backed up with knowledge and practical experience in terms of both active participation in competitive sport and huge experience of working with elite athletes and teams accross numerous sports. These guys have a 30 years experience helping teams and individuals perform to their potential. A must read for those wishing to perform in the zone in any sport. It's a very useful pocket guide for sports coaches and managers also. Enjoy this fantastic mental coaching resource!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Feb 2011
This review is from: Pure Sport: Practical Sport Psychology (Paperback)
Doing a masters in sport psych, currently on placement and having this book makes it a lot easier. No theoretical stuff just pure applied sport psych!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Practical, Applicable, 29 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Sport: Practical Sport Psychology (Paperback)
This is a sound introduction to Sports Psychology and a tremendously useful handbook. The academic background is there, but it is kept in the background and the practical application is highlighted for you all the way through. I am a bit baffled by the reviewer who found nothing "off the shelf" that they could use. The book is full of them. For example, there are a few really good sections on improving performance and practical tips for dealing with setbacks which would be useful to anyone engaging in any sporting activity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Sport, 20 Jan 2010
By 
Peter Mckeever "Big P" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pure Sport: Practical Sport Psychology (Paperback)
Excellent read. Easy to follow. Not just theory, but how to use it throughout your sporting career, both playing and coaching!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointing, 22 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. K. Prior (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Sport: Practical Sport Psychology (Paperback)
Although it is in no way a bad book, I was left slightly disappointed. It provoked thought about the subject but gave very few concrete solutions to common problems. It was good background reading and the quotes were good but if you want examples that you can use 'off the shelf' then there are better books about.
The best I have found so far is 'Brilliant NLP' but I hope that there are even better ones out there, I just need to find them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure sport, 12 Mar 2009
By 
Kevin Hind "17031960" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Sport: Practical Sport Psychology (Paperback)
this book is one of the best practical sports psychology books i have read! buy it if you really want to improve yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pure Sport: Practical Sport Psychology
Pure Sport: Practical Sport Psychology by Aidan P. Moran (Paperback - 10 Jan 2008)
Used & New from: 2.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews