Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An easy to understand law book!
I bought this book in advance of starting a construction law module for a masters course. I think its fair to say that it explained concepts and issues very clearly and proved to be a reliable, indispensable and comforting reference throughout the course. I would recommend it to anyone studying or in practice.
Published on 25 Mar. 2008 by Mr. John A. Worthy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Specific for Building construction, poor treatment of industrial contracts
For a book covering "construction", I am amazed that it does not cover the contracts used to construct industrial facilities.
General contract law is robustly introduced, the discussion of contract forms is too limited, which is quite an oversight and a shame given the quality of what is covered. The authors make one or two references (eg to IMechE standard...
Published 4 months ago by K S


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An easy to understand law book!, 25 Mar. 2008
By 
This review is from: Construction Contracts: Law and Management (Paperback)
I bought this book in advance of starting a construction law module for a masters course. I think its fair to say that it explained concepts and issues very clearly and proved to be a reliable, indispensable and comforting reference throughout the course. I would recommend it to anyone studying or in practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful for practicing engineers, 24 Aug. 2009
By 
Rusi Rusev (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Construction Contracts: Law and Management (Paperback)
I found the book very well structured and easy to read. The author has done great job in describing the core principles and differences between various procurement methods and the most suitable fields of application. Being a structural engineer who is not constantly involved in drafting contracts, I find the book a very good source of reference.
I would definitely recommend it to any professional in the construction industry who may have any interest in procurement methods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Specific for Building construction, poor treatment of industrial contracts, 4 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Construction Contracts: Law and Management (Paperback)
For a book covering "construction", I am amazed that it does not cover the contracts used to construct industrial facilities.
General contract law is robustly introduced, the discussion of contract forms is too limited, which is quite an oversight and a shame given the quality of what is covered. The authors make one or two references (eg to IMechE standard form) that display awareness of this shortcoming, but the vast majority of the text covers civil/structural/architectural contracts (i.e. buildings-only).
I acknowledge that the legal principles still hold for industrial contracts. Also, the book explains the principles and the ins-and-outs of the contract types very well.
If the book description / synopsis had said 'everything you need to know about BUILDING Construction', it would have been more honest and deserving of 4-5stars. As the limitation is obvious and not honestly reflected in the books description which purports that it covers construction, unqualified, the book has not lived up to its more general billing or why I purchased it - so I have to give 3 stars.
I would try to search for another book if your target is industrial work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Learn about construction contracts, 4 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Construction Contracts: Law and Management (Paperback)
I have his text book, to help me (hopefully) pass a qualification I am undertaking.
The text isn't easy when you first read, but persist and it does become clearer.
The text doesn't drill into specifics, it gives a good overview of main topics.
I would recommend to anyone who is 'lucky' enough to be studying the 'exiting world'
of contracts in construction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First class, 2 Jan. 2010
By 
Robert A. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Construction Contracts: Law and Management (Paperback)
This is a first class law book. As a non-legally trained surveyor, this book provides excellent reference material. Extensive reference to relevant precedent case law makes this an essential for aspiring law students in the construction industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Construction student, 11 April 2010
By 
Fredrick A. Stockdale "fred" (midlands england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Construction Contracts: Law and Management (Paperback)
This book has been very useful during my time studying construction at university. It covers all aspects of construction law and is easy to read with detailed explanation. Excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars must have for part iii architecture students, 15 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Construction Contracts: Law and Management (Paperback)
principles of construction contracts are explained well in this book. i would recommend it to all who need to structure their knowledge in this field. ideal for students of architecture
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Construction Contracts: Law and Management (Paperback)
Great book. It is not only references for graduate studies, but a reference for everyone working in the construction industry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must for study, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Construction Contracts: Law and Management (Paperback)
Husband doing his masters so this essential reading and reference.
Not more to say really, just a must for the course
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice, 20 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Construction Contracts: Law and Management (Paperback)
nice book with full understanding of law management. will like to have more of this book. thanks great book .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Construction Contracts: Law and Management
Construction Contracts: Law and Management by Will Hughes (Paperback - 17 Aug. 2007)
£33.28
Usually dispatched within 9 to 13 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews