Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine balance...
As you might expect, Ailsa Cox offers the usual suspects - characterisation, setting, plot, dialogue and so forth. But this is no run-of-the-mill craft text, as it balances all the craft advice with a good dollop of encouragement for the aspiring writer. It includes a range of exercises, some of which are challenging, all of which are inspiring and any one of which might...
Published on 8 Feb. 2012 by annie hughes

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too literary for my tastes
I was disappointed in this book. It looks in turn at several genres of short story. But instead of focusing on character-building and plot development, it basically gives extensive examples of how other authors have written in the various genres. The examples given are fairly literary and mostly rather dark, even those labelled humorous; not the kind of thing that...
Published 10 months ago by Sue


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine balance..., 8 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Writing Short Stories (Paperback)
As you might expect, Ailsa Cox offers the usual suspects - characterisation, setting, plot, dialogue and so forth. But this is no run-of-the-mill craft text, as it balances all the craft advice with a good dollop of encouragement for the aspiring writer. It includes a range of exercises, some of which are challenging, all of which are inspiring and any one of which might be the stimulus for a publishable story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite unlike any other 'how to write short stories' book - Fantastic!, 28 Aug. 2006
By 
Tartan Girl (Newton Stewart, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writing Short Stories (Paperback)
I have read numerous creative writing books and this is one of the best. It is full of meaningful explanations, helpful advice, useful exercises to try and is the only book I have come across that gives guidlines on tackling the modern short story - using non-linear, image-based fiction. I have had two pieces published since doing some of the exercises. Please, Ailsa, give us more of the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too literary for my tastes, 16 May 2014
This review is from: Writing Short Stories (Paperback)
I was disappointed in this book. It looks in turn at several genres of short story. But instead of focusing on character-building and plot development, it basically gives extensive examples of how other authors have written in the various genres. The examples given are fairly literary and mostly rather dark, even those labelled humorous; not the kind of thing that appealed to me at all. There were a lot of exercises at the end of each chapter, none of which were remotely appealing.

For someone who enjoys dark and literary short stories, this book might be useful. But I found it rather tedious. It took me over a year to wade through it as I kept losing interest, and I simply skimmed the last couple of chapters, hopeful that I might find something more interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Help for writers, 28 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writing Short Stories (Paperback)
I recommend this book to all would be writers or teachers of writing. It is well written and easy to use with sensible advice in abundance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Passable, 16 May 2009
By 
M. E. Jenkins "M. E. Jenkins" (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writing Short Stories (Paperback)
This type of book is always slightly disappointing. I think aspiring writers expect too much from How To books. But as they go - this has some stimulating passages and can set the student on productive activities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars creative writing tool, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fantastic 'how to' book with so much interesting and useful stuff in it you'll be dipping in for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a very well written, helpful book. ..., 10 Jan. 2015
By 
M. Mallabar - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writing Short Stories (Paperback)
This is a very well written, helpful book. It has comprehensive guidance and plenty of exercises to test your understanding of what is being taught.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
full of great information, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Writing Short Stories
Writing Short Stories by Ailsa Cox (Paperback - 28 July 2005)
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews