Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - for old & young alike
You don't have to be a child to enjoy this book - the stories are funny, interesting and relevent. The characters & situations they portray can be applied to everyday people & situations - thus the sign of great storytelling - these stories are timeless.
A great book to pick up for a quick read - some of the stories are only one page long.
Definitely a...
Published on 8 Nov 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars confused
The book I ordered was completely different from the book recieved, everything from the front cover to the internal preview completely different to what was ordered - the one that arrived is aimed at much younger audience than the advertised product.
Published on 9 Mar 2012 by kirsty


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - for old & young alike, 8 Nov 2001
By A Customer
You don't have to be a child to enjoy this book - the stories are funny, interesting and relevent. The characters & situations they portray can be applied to everyday people & situations - thus the sign of great storytelling - these stories are timeless.
A great book to pick up for a quick read - some of the stories are only one page long.
Definitely a book to have your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everlasting, 6 Nov 2003
I knew some of Grimms fairy tales but had no idea they had written so many - and here they all are! If you are hoping for the sanitised Disney version you'll be disappointed - these are the real stories and there's a whole HEAP of them. Don't just buy it for your kids - buy it for yourself, its Fabulous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars what ordered, 4 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the book is oaky. My 6 year old grandson wanted me to read Hansel and Gretel so I chose to buy the full stories and now I can read them all to him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best edition, excellent translation!, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Uncensored, unabridged, excellent collection and translated well enough - one of the rare editions of The Brothers Grimm which isn't contorted as most lightly copyrighted works are. Highly recommend after seeking the right version to fulfill my expectations in terms of authenticity and quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this!, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a big fan of reading, and after receiving this book, I just couldn't put it down.
It came within 2 days, after is was dispatched.
The stories are not written in modern day english, but I guess it makes it that tiny bit more special.
Would definitely recommend to others to purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars All time favorites, 8 April 2013
By 
Daybreak (Tipperary, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lots of favorites and others not known at all, but interesting stories with hidden messages ready to be absorbed by us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars grimm, 23 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
never read as a child, watched TV series and was hooked. try to match fairy tales to TV programmes. short and sweet stories for either adults or children
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars confused, 9 Mar 2012
The book I ordered was completely different from the book recieved, everything from the front cover to the internal preview completely different to what was ordered - the one that arrived is aimed at much younger audience than the advertised product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money!, 24 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a must for anyone who loves the classic fairy tales. You will be surprised to discover just how many of the well known stories can be credited to the Grimm brothers. The stories are entertaining, sometimes over simplistic, other times particularly dark and gruesome, and not always with a happy ending!

I enjoy it both as an adult and also as a book I can read to my children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Be Advised, 10 Oct 2007
By 
P. E. O'Connor (B'ham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After reading other customer reviews about this book I couldnt wait to have it to hand for I was running out of ideas for the childrens' bedtime story.When you open it up you find hundreds of stories to choose from but unfortunately as I started to read it I was constantly being interupted with questions of "what does 'hast thou' mean daddy ?" and "whats 'ran thither to entreat him' mean ?" and "whats 'hark thee'?".For the book is full of oldy worldy sayings. I found it quite useful to read ahead before reading it at bedtime. It saves lots of questions and time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grimm: Complete Fairy Tales (Routledge Classics)
Grimm: Complete Fairy Tales (Routledge Classics) by Wilhelm Grimm (Paperback - 13 Jun 2002)
13.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews