Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential text for Language Change students
First published as long ago as 1959 this text has remained fresh due to regular revision and by keeping abreast of ongoing developments in linguistic scholarship. This is the fifth edition, and despite being somewhat dense in parts, it is well organised and comprehensive. As a teacher of AQA A-level English Language I use the text regularly, especially when studying...
Published on 18 May 2010 by Captain Pugwash

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Title says it all
There's nothing I can say about this...It has all the history of the English Language.
The only reason I give it 3 stars it's because it's a bit dense and it takes a lot of effort to read it.
It could be more reader-friendly also.
Published on 7 Nov 2009 by Ricardo Miranda


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential text for Language Change students, 18 May 2010
This review is from: A History of the English Language (Paperback)
First published as long ago as 1959 this text has remained fresh due to regular revision and by keeping abreast of ongoing developments in linguistic scholarship. This is the fifth edition, and despite being somewhat dense in parts, it is well organised and comprehensive. As a teacher of AQA A-level English Language I use the text regularly, especially when studying Language Change. Particularly recommended for students and teachers, but also for anyone interested in how our language has been shaped over the years, and how it continues to change and grow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A History of the English Language (Paperback)
I needed it to study English language in history in several subjects at university, it is very useful. I received and all is well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A History of the English Language (Paperback)
Great book and excellent value. Arrived quickly and in great condition. I would definitely recommend it, as I have thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Review of book history of English Language, 11 Feb 2011
By 
Ian Johnston - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A History of the English Language (Paperback)
Well informed, sometimes overly technical, account of the history of English language. In saying that, if you are anyway towards being an expert then you'll find this book excellent. Not one for the person who wants an introduction but fascinating none the less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent text book, 17 Nov 2009
By 
C. L. Dixon (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A History of the English Language (Paperback)
I borrowed this book from my university library, and I'd even consider buying it. It's a great companion to my lecture notes and reading pack. It contains a lot of information under relatively short, compact sections, making it pretty easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Title says it all, 7 Nov 2009
By 
Ricardo Miranda "MummyBoy11" (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A History of the English Language (Paperback)
There's nothing I can say about this...It has all the history of the English Language.
The only reason I give it 3 stars it's because it's a bit dense and it takes a lot of effort to read it.
It could be more reader-friendly also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A History of the English Language
A History of the English Language by Thomas Cable (Paperback - 21 Mar 2002)
Used & New from: 10.45
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews