Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book!, 28 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maritime Economics 3e (Paperback)
I bought this book as part of efforts to get a general insight into the shipping industry and have found it to be the best of several I have read. In particular I would suggest people prioritise it over Branch's 'Elements of Shipping', which although packed with masses of detail is dreadfully edited and annoyingly repetitious. 'Martime Economics', by contrast, is written in a flowing and reasonably comprehensible style, is much better laid out and covers many of the same areas while providing much more business detail.
I have been reading it with a cherry-picking style, which the book is well suited to, as it is superbly organised with chapter summaries and section headings which make it easy to find what you want to read. Given the hefty size of the book this is no less than one would expect! The book unfolds into greater detail in the latter sections, so readers in a hurry can concentrate on early chapters to get much of the entire content. The large number of graphs and maps is pleasing and all come with painstaking explanations which I have found invaluable as I have not really studied economics.
All in all this is an excellent book which I highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for maritime economists, 28 May 2009
By 
D. J. Schutte - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maritime Economics 3e (Paperback)
Martin Stopford has made an even more comprehensive version on maritime economics. The third version surely is a better edition than the second with up to date statistics (outside of the present downturn of course). I would say that this book is not only a must for maritime economists, but also very good for anyone who wants to know more about the maritime world as the maritime economy has been placed in the broad approach of the whole maritime industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worths its weight in gold!, 28 Jun 2012
By 
Eleftherios Mpastakis (Crete, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book with in depth information on the Economics of the shipping industry.

Its very easy to read and comprehend for the non economist. The language used is simple and straight forward -without the usual academic nonsense.

The only problem with the Kindle edition is that tables and maps are easy to read, as sometimes they don't fit in one screen and the maps are sometimes blured.

Otherwise a very valuable book for the shipping entrepreneur or the shipping professional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent .....a must have for anyone in the shipping industry., 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maritime Economics 3e (Paperback)
Excellent .....a must have for anyone in the shipping industry. This is THE Book to have if you are new to the Maritime Industry. It is a detailed book which tackles every aspect of maritime economics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Maritime Economics book, 24 Oct 2012
This review is from: Maritime Economics 3e (Paperback)
Good sources on Maritime background and the progression since many years ago till date (2012).

Good for people who need a good reference book for Thesis Writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maritime, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maritime Economics 3e (Paperback)
An essential for someone's maritime library. The details and the information are presice and helpful. It helps you understand the history of maritime history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Logistics book, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maritime Economics 3e (Paperback)
My bible during my master's degree and it was so easy to read it. The best book ever about maritime industry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it., 24 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the book I was looking for.

Smart without being overly academic, broad but with an eye for detail, the history covered in the book alone makes it worth a purchase.

Most shipping books bog down in arcanum that in any case becomes quickly dated. By giving a comprehensive background to the industry the insights in this book will be timeless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 19 Sep 2011
By 
Helder Andrade (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maritime Economics 3e (Paperback)
Is disruptive approach. Very pratical. Often in these books is more of the same, and just take one book to know the rest. This is different. for me the best book of maritime economy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maritme Economics, 6 Sep 2011
This review is from: Maritime Economics 3e (Paperback)
This book can easily be deemed a 'bible' for anyone studying Maritime Economics and principles of this. Martin Stopford is a mine of information and the skill of the book is that it really is more of a reference manual so vast is th area he covers. I used this book during my studies for Institute of Chartered Shipbrokers exams and specifically Economics of Sea Transport exam which I passed in 2011 and this book definitely helped! This is now in its 3rd edition and I hope that Dr Stopford can produce a 4th edition to update many of the major economic events that have engulfed the maritime industry over the last 4-5 years notably updates of data. This is not to say the book is out of date, that is its beauty as the principles of research into this fascinating subject and fundamentals are fixed. An excellent read and by my desk at all times for reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Maritime Economics 3e
Maritime Economics 3e by Martin Stopford (Paperback - 19 Dec 2008)
£45.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews