Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction!
The number of available titles for learning Bengali are very limited so it is great to see this volume appear. There are lots of things I really like about it. It is a very convenient size with excellent printing and layout. There is a fun introductory section to orientate you and then the usual but nice and clear explanation of pronounciation and the Bengali script...
Published on 14 Mar 2009 by Dr. S. White

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars The textbook is fine, but the audio CD is not learner friendly
Really disappointed when I tried to play the audio CDs. One of the CDs did not even load the tracks.
Published 12 days ago by Miwa


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction!, 14 Mar 2009
By 
Dr. S. White "klein-gordon" (Belfast, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colloquial Bengali (Colloquial) (pack) (Audio CD)
The number of available titles for learning Bengali are very limited so it is great to see this volume appear. There are lots of things I really like about it. It is a very convenient size with excellent printing and layout. There is a fun introductory section to orientate you and then the usual but nice and clear explanation of pronounciation and the Bengali script. There then follow 15 chapters each centred on a loose theme and containing a variety of material with exercises, dialogues, vocabulary and grammar. Some sections are written in Bengali script but there are transliterations of these at the end of the book for learners who need them. The end of the book also has answers to the exercises , a useful grammar summary and a Bengali-English glossary. I thought the CDs very well done and found the approach amusing; I liked the reader`s manner, though some might find it mildly irritating. In summary, from someone desperately trying to learn Bengali, I found this product - including the CDs - to be excellent and would certainly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colloquial Bengali is the best self study course for learning Bengali., 10 Nov 2011
By 
Ms. M. Newton "BigBird" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Colloquial Bengali (Colloquial) (pack) (Audio CD)
This book is very good for beginners:
- Many dialogues in the book are written in Roman script and a few in Bengali script. So, you can make progress before learning to read Bengali script.
- It gives Western and Eastern (Bangladeshi) pronunciations so if you are going to Bangladesh or working with people from this area it is particularly good.
- The language is presented through dialogues / conversations which are reasonably realistic.
- The dialogues give you a context for learning new words and new grammar, which in my experience is the best way to learn a language.
- The practice exercises in each chapter are engaging and challenging so you feel like doing more of them!

However if you are not a beginner then this book may be too easy. Other books on the market are better for intermediate level students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exceptional for beginners, 23 April 2011
This review is from: Colloquial Bengali (Colloquial) (pack) (Audio CD)
I was amazed with this book.The basic details in book format supported by audio cd made life so much easier.
I also brought a few other books for learning bengali but they were too advanced and primarily taught bangla bengali ... which is not what they advertised.

this book is well recommened for anyone wanting to learning bengali for india.
its concise, detailed and explains really well -writted in bengali and phonetically allowing one to appreciate the structure of the words. i use it in conjunction with lonely planet guide (on its own the planet guide is not sufficient)

well worth purchusing.
best book i have come across
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The textbook is fine, but the audio CD is not learner friendly, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colloquial Bengali (Colloquial) (pack) (Audio CD)
Really disappointed when I tried to play the audio CDs. One of the CDs did not even load the tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, dubious CD, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colloquial Bengali (Colloquial) (pack) (Audio CD)
A very well prepared handbook with CDs, which makes studying fast and enjoyable. It provides pronunciation both for India and Bangladesh. The only problem is that the CDs won't start off on my laptop. The fault is obviously on the CDs side since I haven't had such a problem with dozens of other CDs. The CDs play however on some other devices. The same incompatibility issue also occurs with other Routledge Colloquial series CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars colloquial bengali, 9 July 2009
By 
P. J. De Maziere (Worcestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is realy good its well writen and easy to use, even without the CD you will learn something well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7692504)

This product

Colloquial Bengali (Colloquial) (pack)
Colloquial Bengali (Colloquial) (pack) by W.A.M. van der Wurff (Audio CD - 15 Dec 2008)
38.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews