Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Invaluable Book!
As a Secondary Music PGCE student studying at Southampton University UK, I have found this book particularly useful. It's extremely well laid out and covers a lot of ground - from Classroom Management/Psychology to Professional Themes. It's helpful having access to a text with up to date information. Overall, an excellent book - a must for all trainee teachers.
Published on 23 Oct. 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ok book if you HAVE to buy it
I have say that there are some helpful nuggets of information in this book and if you read it cover to cover I think you would learn something however I had to buy this book as I needed It for my PGCE. I read sections looking for quotes for my essays, other than that is was a great bag weight!
Published 13 months ago by chanteman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Invaluable Book!, 23 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Learning to Teach in the Secondary School: A Companion to School Experience (Learning to Teach Subjects in the Secondary School) (Paperback)
As a Secondary Music PGCE student studying at Southampton University UK, I have found this book particularly useful. It's extremely well laid out and covers a lot of ground - from Classroom Management/Psychology to Professional Themes. It's helpful having access to a text with up to date information. Overall, an excellent book - a must for all trainee teachers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive guide to becoming a seocondary school teache, 2 Jan. 2004
By 
M. Askar "Luca" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Learning to Teach in the Secondary School: A Companion to School Experience (Learning to Teach Subjects in the Secondary School) (Paperback)
This book is a comprehensive guide for those who wish to undertake teacher training to become a secondary school teacher. Not only does it cover the main issues in teaching such as lesson planning and behaviour management but it also give a useful yet concise guide to other important aspects of teaching such as details on the national curriculum, the psychology of pupils and how to maximise learning for your pupils taking in to consideration different learning styles and abilities.
The most useful aspects were the suggested exercises and issues to consider in order preparing oneself for school placements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal book as a guide for teaching in secondary schools, 28 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
As a new PGCE Physics student I've found this book useful as a guide. Its easy to pick up and just read a small section that you wish to either study or to look at a specific problem. I can see it also being used as reference material during your first teaching postion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastically useful throughout, 13 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
Fantastic book - the most useful one I've seen. Covers everything in detail and also has lots of questions so you can reflect on what you've read and how you would apply it. Good before, during and after teacher training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Edition, 2 Aug. 2009
By 
D. Hagan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book covers a range of topics in good detail with clear and precise references. The book was recommended by Birmingham City University to me for my PGCE course (Starting September '09) and has already helped me through a diagnostic assignment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PGCE, 12 Sept. 2009
By 
S. Dempsey "Sez" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am begining a PGCE in a few weeks and this book will be a life saver for the next twelve months and beyond. This book has even helped me with my preliminary practice placement. A must have for PGCE (Secondary) students!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All BEd students / PGCE students / NQTs should own it!, 13 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have the older version of this book and brought this for my friend who is just starting to teach! Unlike some education books this one is really easy to read and refer to. I have written loads of essays using this book and would really recommend it! Written in a way that is easy to understand and digest with loads of helpful hints and tips. Great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good core text but could be improved, 25 Sept. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Learning to Teach in the Secondary School: A Companion to School Experience (Learning to Teach Subjects in the Secondary School) (Paperback)
The book is of reasonable use, with tips and advice for student teachers as well as subjects that you are likely to study throughout your course. Useful for assignments too. It would have been better if there was a book for each subject that would relate examples directly to your specialism, rather than unrelated or vague examples. There are books related to english, maths etc but not all secondary subjects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect and quickly, 14 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The product was new and a very good price comparing with the price in libraries. They send it very quickly and there was no problem. I will buy more things in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Resource, 8 Oct. 2010
By 
E. Kendrick - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an invaluable resource for anyone undertaking teacher training and will continue to be useful well into your NQT (newly qualified teacher) year. It's easy to read and understand and breaks everything up into manageable bite-size chunks. It also includes examples and sets tasks for you to complete so that you test what you've learnt and get to grips with the concepts put forward in the book. This is one of the required books for my course, but I would recommend it to anyone going into secondary school education.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews