Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dense, difficult, and fantastically rewarding
Do not approach this book as you would, say, a reader or an anthology of Derrida's work. This is a dense collection of essays, and at a glance you are liable to be overwhelmed, as I was, by his references, his language and his style. Alan Bass has done a tremendous job of translating Derrida's notoriously playful text, rendering it as clear as possible without undermining...
Published on 27 Nov 2001 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Tough reading.
Derrida has an enormously significant profile in criticism.
I find him tough reading.
Perhaps he urges us to greater circumspection in judgement.
The translation is prefaced by the remark that you can only read
Derrida in French.
Published 4 months ago by C. J. Terry


Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dense, difficult, and fantastically rewarding, 27 Nov 2001
This review is from: Writing and Difference (Routledge Classics) (Paperback)
Do not approach this book as you would, say, a reader or an anthology of Derrida's work. This is a dense collection of essays, and at a glance you are liable to be overwhelmed, as I was, by his references, his language and his style. Alan Bass has done a tremendous job of translating Derrida's notoriously playful text, rendering it as clear as possible without undermining the complexity and intertextuality that is so necessary to its flow. This does not mean, however, that it is by any means easy to read. Be prepared to grapple with it and to be frustrated, to re-read a paragraph or sentence several times and still be confused. This is deliberate, although Derrida is not as sadistically obtuse as many critics have damned him as being. Instead, this difficult prose style is intended to make the reader examine the interplay between himself and what he reads, to question the authority of the text, to realise how much we take for granted when we engage in the act of reading.
If you have already come across Derrida's essay 'Structure, Sign and Play' and are intrigued, then this book offers the next logical step, but be prepared. Unless you are superhumanly familiar with the works of Husserl, Edmond Jabes and Foucault, then many of the references here will leave you running to catch up. Get past this, however, and you will find your conceptions about the world challenged in a way that they never have before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Tough reading., 5 April 2014
By 
C. J. Terry (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writing and Difference (Routledge Classics) (Paperback)
Derrida has an enormously significant profile in criticism.
I find him tough reading.
Perhaps he urges us to greater circumspection in judgement.
The translation is prefaced by the remark that you can only read
Derrida in French.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hardly for the layman, 18 May 2012
By 
reader 451 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Writing and Difference (Routledge Classics) (Paperback)
This review does not aim to give a comprehensive commentary of Derrida's Writing and Difference, even less of deconstruction generally. For that, there are the other reviews posted here, or published introductions, of which John Caputo's Deconstruction in a Nutshell is worth considering. My aim is simply to warn you that this is heaving-going for anyone who is not a philosophy student. It is not so much that the writing is difficult, or the concepts subtle or paradoxical, which they are. The problem is that understanding most of the essays in this collection requires prior knowledge of a number of philosophical concepts and schools of thought. If you are unable to define the term 'structuralist', or are not conversant on writers such as Descartes, Husserl, or Hegel, most of this book will be unintelligible. A good acquaintance with modern anthropology will also help. For illustration, I studied history and came at postmodernism from that discipline. So I had heard of Foucault's work on madness; I have a historian's understanding of what structuralism might mean. I also did a year of philosophy some while ago. I was able to get, and find interesting, Derrida's pieces on Freud, on Descartes, and on Foucault: three essays out of eleven. The rest ranged, for me, from the tantalising to the downright obscure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take it or leave it, 24 Oct 2003
By 
Petrides Antonis (Nicosia, Cyprus) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Writing and Difference (Routledge Classics) (Paperback)
Reviewing Derrida is trying to put value on something that goes beyond the categories of "like" or dislike". Derrida is as opaque, cryptic, oblique and impossible to follow as you can imagine, but if one has the courage and pertinacity to follow through (as much as it can be followed), it discovers a spirit of extraordinary brilliance and originality. In any case, Derrida is already part of 20th century history, so no educated Westerner can afford to overlook him. As for the book itself ( I guess that is the point of this review), it comes in a cheap package, so I presume it targets a wide readership. If this is so, one could use a minimal commentary or an introduction, and, definitely, a concise glossary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Derrida, 1 Sep 2013
By 
A. Adams (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writing and Difference (Routledge Classics) (Paperback)
The writing style is laborious: If only there could be a selection of the gold nuggets that are buried in it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes you think..., 10 Jun 2011
This review is from: Writing and Difference (Routledge Classics) (Paperback)
Perhaps not the first book to read if you like to get into Derrida's way of Marxism, but it will make sense in the end...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book, 29 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Writing and Difference (Routledge Classics) (Paperback)
fab book, could read it over and over, still do not understand all of it, but i do not think you are supposed to get it, great buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 79 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't be fooled, 7 April 2007
By 
Jeremy Clark (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Writing and Difference (Routledge Classics) (Paperback)
Derrida was a master of bulls**t who piled empty verbiage onto a few scrawny ideas. I recommend Ellis's "Against Deconstruction" as a damning critique of Derrida's central "philosophical" legacy. Reviewers always say that you have to fight through a lot of opacity to get to the good stuff, but whenever this is said (Heidegger...Sartre...Lacan) one ought to be wary. Is it not natural that if a thinker had some really brilliant, earth-shattering ideas, he'd want to explain them as clearly as he possibly could to a waiting world? I think that when a reviewer says that a writer like Derrida is "worth the struggle", they are really loath to admit to themselves that they have put in all that work for nothing. Save yourself the bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Writing and Difference (Routledge Classics)
Writing and Difference (Routledge Classics) by Jacques Derrida (Paperback - 18 May 2001)
12.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews