Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lucid introduction to the classics of western philosophy.
This is one of the most accessible introductions to western philosophy that I've come across. There are lucid accounts of 27 classic works of philosophy from Plato's Republic to John Rawl's A Theory of Justice. This 3rd edition(2006) includes three new chapters on Friedrich Nietzsche's Beyond Good and Evil, Bertrand Russell's The Problems of Philosophy and Jean-Paul...
Published on 26 Oct 2006 by Jazzrook

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
Don't expect too much from this book, it is very light with uneven coverage of the books involved - some just get a few pages. Some of the definitions given in the glossaries are imprecise and the views of the author are very obvious - I found the use of loaded language particularly frustrating and sloppy.

Not all bad though (the breadth of subjects, books and...
Published on 14 Jun 2010 by rudeboi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lucid introduction to the classics of western philosophy., 26 Oct 2006
By 
Jazzrook (Purbrook , Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is one of the most accessible introductions to western philosophy that I've come across. There are lucid accounts of 27 classic works of philosophy from Plato's Republic to John Rawl's A Theory of Justice. This 3rd edition(2006) includes three new chapters on Friedrich Nietzsche's Beyond Good and Evil, Bertrand Russell's The Problems of Philosophy and Jean-Paul Sartre's Existentialism and Humanism. At the end of each short chapter there's a glossary and suggestions for further reading.
Any newcomer to philosophy could do no better than get hold of a copy of this marvellous and beautifully written book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best accompaniment to the greatest philosophical works, 19 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Philosophy: The Classics (Paperback)
As an undergradute philosophy student I have to confess that this book has been my bible for the last two years. It covers nealy all of the most important philosophical works fom Plato through to Ayer. It gives a detailed breakdown of the text and then gives general objections to the theories made. Whether like me you are studying philsophy, or are just interested in the subject, this is a fantastic explanation of the greatest ideas ever expressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what a cool book!, 10 Dec 1998
By A Customer
Warburton gives simple and accessible introduction to his "top 20" philosophy classics. The chapters tell you what you need to know about the books and even motivate you to actually READ some of the original works. Bibliographies in each chapter give accessible works to look at next. A well done job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely excellent!, 15 Dec 2003
By 
A. I. Mackenzie "alimack" (Glasgow, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philosophy: The Classics (Paperback)
Warbuton always writes well, a clear and very readable summary of each Philosopher's work is given in a series of essays.
This is an excellent introduction and useful to students who want a quick overview for essays and exams.
Thoroughly recommended.The addition of the essay on Rawls in the second edition is particularly useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple but Effective, 11 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Philosophy: The Classics (Paperback)
This book,in my opinion, simplifies the main issues to be found in the most important Philosophical works of the world. It gives a fools gide to philosophy which does not try to confuse the reader with long words and confusing concepts. It is worth using this book as a reference guide to a particular book that you are reading. In addition, I found the Glossary and Further reading sections at the end of each peice very useful in summing up what each book is about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Starting Point for the Philosophically Intersted, 24 Aug 2006
This review is from: Philosophy: The Classics (Paperback)
This is a really good introduction to Philosophy for the lay person (like me) : it devotes a chapter (10 or so pages) to some of the most important Philosophical works throughout history : from Plato to Rawls. It's a great book to appreciate the ideas of the great thinkers, such that you can then dive off into the detail of those that interest you.

It is written in plain language, clearly articulated and with a glossary/summary at the end of each chapter. It assumes no prior Philosphical knowledge and is very readable : it took me only 2 days to read it cover to cover. . Great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars General Philosophy, 22 July 2009
By 
Jd Wilson "jimmyrd350" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Not being a student or particularly young I have always had an interest in philosophy and religion and tried over the years to understand a few trends in philosophy. This book is a good summary of the concepts of many of the better known philosophers giving an insight into how and why they arrived at their points of view. It also allows the reader to quantify their own beliefs and see the total diversity of opinion. Helps to bring a sense of reality into the thought process and is a very interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for anyone just starting out in philosophy, 6 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. M. Wood (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book along with Philosophy: The Basics (Basics (Routledge Paperback)) are a perfect starting place for anybody just beginning their interest in philosophy. Whilst not a substitute for reading through some of the great works themselves this book provides a solid point of reference allowing you to begin developing critical thinking skills and providing a solid bounce off point into the world of philosophy. Nigel Warburton writes clearly and succinctly and provides a solid overview of some of the greatest ideas in history. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars philosophy the classics, 17 April 2009
this is a must have for anyone doing philosophy or any social science course. i have used this book for politics and sociology and it is a must have in my book collection. easy to read, highlights key terms and is just pure magic book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars philosophy for all, 25 May 2009
By 
F. Krzyzanowska (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a gem of a book, it really helped to put all of my Uni philosophy lectures into simple english. I think its a great companion to the more academic books. This would be a very helpful tool if sitting school or college exams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Philosophy: The Classics
Philosophy: The Classics by Nigel Warburton (Paperback - 1 Mar 2001)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews