Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb layman's guide
I am not a philosophy student myself, and I find Bertrand Russell's acerbic style extremely readable. The 2 inch thick book is fascinating, funny and too short. Bertrand Russell's style is not the dry, carefully unbiased style of the accademic, but a colourful walk through several millenia of philosophers and their work. I would thoroughly recommend this book to any...
Published on 12 Feb 2004 by Mike Sadler

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dark side of the moon
I have read this many times in both love and hatred . In short Russell is a flawed genius. If he took his own advice on Nietzsche and made an emotional response to Friederich's hammerwork maybe he coud have saved himself.

The philosophers absent from the history are pertinent - I can understand the squemishness towards Heidegger, but to leave out both...
Published on 12 May 2011 by Mr. David R. Portus


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 15 Aug 2012
Arguably the greatest book of the 20th century.Richly deserved 1950 Noble Prize for Literature. The depth and breath of learning and knowledge is staggering which is conveyed to the general reader in a clear, succinct and direct style of writing imbued with wit and humanity. Inconceivable that anyone today could write such a book. While acknowledging the greatness of Plato and Aristotle his underlying contention is that,from Plato onwards, western philosophy took an intellectual wrong-turn from which it has yet to find its way back. Russell essentially demolishes the foundations and structure of two and a half millenia of western thought and religion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great place to start, 14 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i am relatively knew to this area and i found the book an excellent intrdocution and a great pointer for other areas or particular philosophers i may want to read in more detail. The history that Russel supplies, to give context is excellent. I will certaily be reading more of Russells' work as well. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Sep 2009
By 
G. Petrou "Petran" (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I strongly believe that it is one of the best in the area of philosophy. Russel has found the right equilibrium between the general, abstract philosophy and specialization of each period/philosopher. And all these in the frame of history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars curate's egg, 13 Aug 2009
I am not entirely sure if I like this book.
It is good.
It is at first, imposing, appearing at once intellectual, difficult, especially for the non specialist, of which I am.
In fact it is quite the opposite.
It is lucid, straightforward to read, but oddly, it appears to be quite simple, but like beef, it turns out to be a chewy read, for me anyway, as my knowledge of history and events is limited. Neither an easy, nor a difficult read, but an involved read, probably due to the words, phraseology, and style of writing used, its communicative though.
It is not what I expected it to be at all, which was difficult, dry and inacessible for all but the most highbrow intellectual.
It isn't academic, and its an error to say its the history of western philosophy.
It is actually the history of western philosophy and its relations to social religious and other things going on at the time, the full title inside, which really does alter the whole remit of the work.
The fact that is relates one event and subject to others around it, is imo one of its greatest strenghs and benefits, and when you think about it, events are a product of their time, the people and what is happening, the sheer control the church had at the time is an explanation for much that was happening, history, english, I think!! is much to do with power, of kings, church, politics, people,and the book shows how though fits into this.
It is also, whilst appearing lucid and a quick read, while you start it, you subsequently get engrossed, and it takes some thinking, not difficult thinking as such, just to understand and appreciate what he is saying, hence the chewyness.
But it also has errors, or at least, omissions.
Some chapters are woefully short on analysis, for example, he tells you about the renaisance, reformation and counter reformation, but not being a historian, I have little idea about some of the event he is telling about, in fact, he doesn't tell about them, he assumes you already know.
And he already assumes you know the philosophical terminologies, eg rationalism and other isms.
I could go on and on, it IS a great work, indispensible, unique, written well, but also, does possess inadequacies.
But superb to put events in perspective.
It shows you that science, philosophy, religion are all inter-related, along with power between kings, church, politics, and people, with a little philosophy thrown in, but surprisignly, not as much as you would expect.
I cannot globally rate it, I would give it 5 stars for its indespensiblity, and ability to fit all in context, but less for its shortcomings. Some language is slightly archaic, and also bear in mind that new discoveries in archaelogy may render some of it now less accurate, eg accepted knowledge on civilisations, of which I cannot say, but it is a possibility.
I have only read a few chapters thus far on it, but enough to form a inductive prediction that the rest will follow as it is. It really isn't what you think it to be, hence my strange review of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant mind meanders through the history of everything, 22 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an incredible achievement. It is more of a history of the world than simply philosophy. Russell's ability to handle, discuss, analyse, refute, agree with and point out the weaknesses of the greatest minds ever to exist is breathtaking.
He starts with Ancient Greece, covers the source and rise of Christianity, the fall of the Roman Empire, the Dark Ages, Middle Ages, Enlightenment and everything! Hume and Rousseau stand out as remarkable.
If you have any interest in religion and/or philosophy I recommend that you read this incredible book.
I must confess that I am only 2/3 through this considerable tome and will update when I'm finished.
Russell has to be the greatest Polymath ever to grace the planet. He was a brilliant mathematician amongst everything else.
UPDATED.
I've downgraded this book by a star. I'm sure Bertrand would not mind. There is far too much emphasis on religion in this work. As intelligent people realise religion belongs in the realm of myth and not in the discipline of philosophy. Russell likes to discuss how each philosopher was influenced by religious belief but he does this in a non critical manner. This leads to a discussion of philosophy including religion whereas it would be better to simply mention that in older times unenlightened man was handicapped by superstitious nonsense and a lack of technology such as scanning electron microscopes, lasers, radio telescopes etc. If Plato, Socrates and Aristotle had knowledge of pulsars - objects a million times more massive than our little planet that rotate at 50 times a second! - they would not have given 'Gods' a second thought. And if anyone thinks that black holes were 'created and designed' by a supernatural deity who 'talked' to Moses then they are a deeply deluded. I suspect that Bertrand studied Greek comprehensively and he threw all his knowledge into this book that includes chapters on Byron amongst others.
This is still a fabulous book and in many ways far more interesting that a purely philosophical thesis but I got fed up of talk of creators and 'God' whatever that is. It really is time to consign the 'gods', all gods, to the trash can. So, this book is a bit of an eclectic hotchpotch. I'm sure Bertrand just threw all his knowledge of history at it and left it there without much editing once it was finished. From an authorial perspective that is the problem with brilliant minds: editing is just too boring for them!

(And surely the publisher could have made a better cover? a bunch of timepieces to signify history is such a cliche!)

JP :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An expression of the hopes and faith of analytic philosophy., 2 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: History of Western Philosophy (Paperback)
Whilst one must admire Russell's effort in writing this book one cannot help but be struck by his analytical outlook. In the cases of Hegel and Spinoza he simply does not grasp the complexity of their systems. A virtue of the philsopher is modesty whereas Russell beleieves his analytical outlook is definitive and can almost effortlessly overcome previous thinkers. Since he does not converse outside of the restrictive style of his tradition he cannot actually expound or tackle the systems of those thinkers he is discussing. Hiedegger's attempt to re-write the history of philosophy in terms of a Fundamental Ontology does at least open itself to other systems of thought. What I suggest is that this book is of value as an expression of the analytical optimism and faith of the first half of the twentieth century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now here is what you cross an ocean for, 17 May 2012
By 
JCV "runblader" (Adventure, FL United States) - See all my reviews
My father handed me this book when I was 16. Hardcover, cheap paper, rough edges. He said this 1940's edition was like that because all America was on extreme austerity for the War Effort. I treasure it, it is an heirloom now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

History of Western Philosophy
History of Western Philosophy by Bertrand Russell (Paperback - 17 Feb 2000)
Used & New from: 2.41
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews