Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a grammar book
I disagree with the other reviewer. Perhaps the problem is the title of this book. "Basic Polish" in big letters, but beneath this, a grammar and workbook in small letters - which is what the book is actually about.

It won't teach you Polish, only how the cases are applied, through multiple examples. It is the repetitiveness of the examples that generates the...
Published on 5 July 2009 by David Menezes

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too demanding vocabulary
The book provides good explanations of grammatical issues but the exercises are based on a very wide scope of vocabulary, too wide for a beginner.
Published on 22 April 2010 by E. Kamiennik


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a grammar book, 5 July 2009
By 
David Menezes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Basic Polish: A Grammar and Workbook (Grammar Workbooks) (Paperback)
I disagree with the other reviewer. Perhaps the problem is the title of this book. "Basic Polish" in big letters, but beneath this, a grammar and workbook in small letters - which is what the book is actually about.

It won't teach you Polish, only how the cases are applied, through multiple examples. It is the repetitiveness of the examples that generates the benefits. This book is probably geared at someone with more than around 20-30 hours polish lessons behind them. At this point, basic words cease to be as useful as they were and you're looking to construct sentences. Probably, your teacher will have introduced you to some basic cases like the accusative or the locative, which may confuse you as there are some many different declinations even within the same case. however, this is when the book becomes very useful.

It also helps reinforce your vocabulary, because new words are repeated in later later chapters and there's a basic dictionary at the back (polish - english only).

So, not a first choice book for a learner as it's dry material. Instead, try ordering Hurra po polsku. However, this is a useful companion as and when your teacher introduces each new case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Purchase, 29 Dec 2009
By 
R. A. Powers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Basic Polish: A Grammar and Workbook (Grammar Workbooks) (Paperback)
This book gives concise, bite-size explanations of Polish grammar, with tests following each section to ensure that you understand the material. It takes a very convoluted subject, and attempts to make it manageable to the novice learner. Each of the sections (40 in all) are quite short, which makes the material seem less daunting, and allows the learner to test their skills frequently. Most other books on this subject which I have encountered just appear to present pages and pages of tedious, never-ending grammatical rules, and this book is a refreshing change. I wouldn't suggest attempting to learn Polish using this text alone, but I would strongly advise anyone wanting to learn the language to add this to their arsenal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too demanding vocabulary, 22 April 2010
By 
E. Kamiennik - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Basic Polish: A Grammar and Workbook (Grammar Workbooks) (Paperback)
The book provides good explanations of grammatical issues but the exercises are based on a very wide scope of vocabulary, too wide for a beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Rosetta Stone, 24 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basic Polish: A Grammar and Workbook (Grammar Workbooks) (Paperback)
I've been banging my head against Polish grammar for over a year. I wish I'd have bought this book sooner!

It's a grammar workbook - chapters are very specific and lay out all the rules to complete the exercises with. I know that when I've finished working through it I'll be a polish grammar master! I would recommend this book for beginners or advanced beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars saviour, 18 Dec 2010
By 
GinaB (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basic Polish: A Grammar and Workbook (Grammar Workbooks) (Paperback)
A concise, basic guide to Polish grammar. Polish grammar is very different from English grammar and this book sets it out simply, with workbook exercises to confirm that you have understood. The book itself is set out in a fairly logical order and recommends frequent revisions, so work through to chapter 4, then revise chapters 1-2 and so on. Each short chapter deals with a specific topic so you can dip in and out as the need arises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buk the Kindle version, 3 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Kindle version of this book is so full of typographical errors it is unusable as an aid to learning. In addition, tables are mis-set, so information is jumbled up. But it is the constant typos that make it useless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Confused!, 31 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basic Polish: A Grammar and Workbook (Grammar Workbooks) (Paperback)
I have tried and tried and tried again and the more I try and understand how I should learn from the way this book is laid out the more I fail!
If you can grasp what its all about then the book is fine but for a complete beginner you would need a few more easy read books with a better explanation of how the language and its cases work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Basic Polish: A Grammar and Workbook (Grammar Workbooks)
Basic Polish: A Grammar and Workbook (Grammar Workbooks) by Dana Bielec (Paperback - 22 Nov 2001)
24.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews