Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good way in to a thorny subject
Literary criticism is such an extensive and a nebulous subject and the market is saturated with texts relating to it. However, if you're going to buy only one then make it this one. Recommended as part of OCR's AS English Literature course, it's clearly and concisely written and makes the understanding of Lit Crit so much more enjoyable and relevant. The price on here is...
Published on 28 Mar. 2010 by Captain Pugwash

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars A fine but way too slow piece of course literature
The expected delivery date wasn't accurate at all, I had to wait an additional two weeks. It is essential that course literature arrives on time, thus the low score. When it comes to quality there were no issues with the book, it well met my expectations.
Published 3 months ago by Thor Irby


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good way in to a thorny subject, 28 Mar. 2010
Literary criticism is such an extensive and a nebulous subject and the market is saturated with texts relating to it. However, if you're going to buy only one then make it this one. Recommended as part of OCR's AS English Literature course, it's clearly and concisely written and makes the understanding of Lit Crit so much more enjoyable and relevant. The price on here is reasonable, and the size and depth of the text means you definitely get value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book for Literature students/fans!, 7 Feb. 2010
By 
K. Lee (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For anyone studying Literature, this book is a must-have! It's clearly written (unlike many of its counterparts),engaging and informative. You really will find it a breath of fresh air compared to many other books on the same subject. It is written in plain English and introduces new concepts in a manner that is easy to grasp. Best of all, each chapter has a very well written summary at the end, that you can use as a quick reference and reminder. This book has helped me greatly in my English Literature degree!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Friendly Introduction To New Approaches, 19 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
'Doing English' serves excellently as an introductory guide to the attitudes and debates which literary theory has placed on to the agenda of English Studies, at university and now sixth-form levels. It is easy-to-read, lively, stimulating and clear, revealing theory to be far more pertinent and less arcane than it often seems in raw form. The issues Eaglestone discusses are now central concerns of the discipline, for better or worse, so students will need to be acquainted with them, and Eaglestone presents them in an unusually friendly, accessible form. For some undergraduates this introduction will be too basic, but for most it will be very useful.
Yet there are limitations: Eaglestone is clearly an advocate of the new approaches he describes, which means that he does not present a balanced view of the debates, but presents simplified versions of 'traditionalist' arguments as naive and outmoded. Readers should be warned not to take his dismissals as the final word. The book would perhaps be better entitled 'Doing Literary Theory', to avoid giving the impression that English departments no longer engage with 'canonical texts' on respectful terms, only with a deconstuctive eye. Fortunately, at most universities this is not the case, whatever Eaglestone might wish. So don't worry if you prefer the literary classics to postmodern philosophy, you can still enjoy studying English. But if you are uncomfortable with new approaches and yet are willing to give them a chance, this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why to Do English, 4 May 2013
By 
Mr. J. A. Darlington (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doing English: A Guide for Students (Paperback)
This is my go-to text not only for new students but also for any of my friends who are interesting just what "doing English" entails. I agree with many of the other positive reviews on here and think that confusion of purposes is likely at the root of the more negative opinions. Yes, this is a book aimed at British undergrad or potentially-undergrad (ie. A levels, etc) students and so will not be appropriate to other national education systems (yes, even the American and other English speaking societies) nor does it aim to uncover any new essential truths to already established academics. What I do believe this book does fantastically, however, is position the student within a history of study that is constantly shifting and evolving.

Eaglestone locates the historical origins of the study of English Literature in the attempt to instill English values upon the people of the Indian subcontinent. After failing to convert the Indians to Christianity (turns out people don't take too kindly to that), the great English novels were considered a less controversial way to "civilise" the people of that plundered nation. Following the Great War, Britain needed to replace its "officer class" and so needed, in essence, to "civilise" its own working class who didn't have the Latin and Greek to read the classics. Thus, English Literature came to Britain. This introduction about hegemony, ideology, and the use of culture to shape nations is a great way of outlining the many and varied approaches to literature that have come since within the British academy. As a result, one feels that by "Doing English" you are very much part of an ongoing conflict about what values we should hold and how society should be shaped. Although straightforward and accessible, Eaglestone's prose is marked by this vitality and earnestness which really conveys a sense of why it matters. It is this enthusiasm which, I argue, is of absolute importance for a student's success. When you feel you have a stake in it, the required efforts will follow.

Thoroughly recommended to those thinking of Doing English themselves, and even more to those with the near-impossible job of teaching it. Also a fantastic read for those sick of our contemporary philistinism which questions why anything outside of direct fiscal reward matters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining and useful book, 19 May 2010
By 
Mr. Robert Kenyon (China) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book handles some of the questions I have been asking myself for years in a very readable and relaxed way. Although I could put the book down, I was drawn back to read the next chapter through curiosity about what Eaglestone was going to say next. I particularly enjoyed the chapters relating to F.R. Leavis and Shakespeare and wished this book had been around when I studied for A level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well I thoroughly liked it!, 11 Mar. 2011
This is a very useful book for gaining an insight into the techniques required for literary criticism. Perhaps it does lean towards the very simplistic, but that is the major attraction of the work when the student is faced with the abstruse theories of Post structuralism, Post Modernism and even formalism. It discusses terms such as metonymy, tropes, synecdoche, anthropomorphism and animism, and basically gives you labels for figures of speech you use every day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this if you're considering any further education in English. You'll miss out if you don't.., 2 Nov. 2014
I was actually taught by Rob Eaglestone in Westminster University in the 90's. He was a truly inspirational & passionate lecturer and I'll never forget my anticipation and excitement prior to listening to his fascinating ideas especially on Philosophy. This professor cemented my love for English. His book doesn't fail to live up to my expectations & I use it now for some of my own English GCSE pupils. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A student's view, 6 Jun. 2010
By 
I bought this book while studying English Literature at University level, it was easy to read, catered to all students (regardless of year) and was great as a reference point during essays and dissertations.
While Eaglestone's bias can sometimes hinder the view, it is worth buying overall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wish I had read this at the start of A-Level, 10 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book outlines many of the ideas central to the study of English Literature and how they have evolved over time. The bibliography at the end is specific to each chapter and is very useful for those thay want to read more about a specific issue. Highly reccommened!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A fine but way too slow piece of course literature, 13 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The expected delivery date wasn't accurate at all, I had to wait an additional two weeks. It is essential that course literature arrives on time, thus the low score. When it comes to quality there were no issues with the book, it well met my expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doing English: A Guide for Students
Doing English: A Guide for Students by Robert Eaglestone (Paperback - 23 Sept. 1999)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews