Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very modern book about the influence of media
I read „Media, Gender and Identity" during my research about men's magazines. I found it extremely helpful as it offers ideas that I haven't found in any other books. Gauntlett is very open-minded in his approach to this and other topics. Instead of damning phenomenon like the upcoming of Loaded, FHM and Co. he tries to positively explain their influence on society...
Published on 25 Aug. 2003 by meikewer

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This book gives a brilliant perspective
This book provides a clear and informative introduction to the idea of gender, space and landscape. The intorduction gives brilliant contemporary examples of poular media and how it affect people's lives. The theories and issues explored and introduced in this book provide a fantastic basis for further reading and understanding.
Published on 22 Nov. 2002 by Harriet Meddings


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very modern book about the influence of media, 25 Aug. 2003
This review is from: Media, Gender and Identity: An Introduction (Paperback)
I read „Media, Gender and Identity" during my research about men's magazines. I found it extremely helpful as it offers ideas that I haven't found in any other books. Gauntlett is very open-minded in his approach to this and other topics. Instead of damning phenomenon like the upcoming of Loaded, FHM and Co. he tries to positively explain their influence on society. This is overall the most modern book I have read about the influence of media on gender and identity as it takes in consideration pop music, films and magazines and in my opinion paints a realistic image of the world of young people today.
I can only advise anyone to read this book who is interested in how media influences society. It is written in a very well understandable language that even I - not a native English speaker- could well follow and is even fun to read - something you can unfortunately not say about many theory books for university.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Media, Gender and Identity is a must, 21 July 2008
David Gauntlett's Media, Gender and Identity is a fascinating and refreshing take on a subject one would imagine to be exhaustively explored by other academics. He is strides ahead of many of the other writers in this field as he combines an accessible overview of the key topics and concepts, whilst maintaining an enjoyable and illuminating read throughout.

Gender studies often tend to suffer from a bone dry and dense style of writing but Gauntlett consistently maintains humour and clarity.

This book is perfect for students looking for an accessible introduction or for those interested in the topic but looking for a pleasant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Readable and stimulating, 10 Feb. 2003
This review is from: Media, Gender and Identity: An Introduction (Paperback)
This book is an excellent introduction to gender representations in the media, and how they can play a part in the identities of women and men. Very good introductions to relevant theories. Not tired old arguments, but new approaches to the topic. Definitely the best book on this topic, for students in particular -- makes other titles seem very old and tired. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This book gives a brilliant perspective, 22 Nov. 2002
This review is from: Media, Gender and Identity: An Introduction (Paperback)
This book provides a clear and informative introduction to the idea of gender, space and landscape. The intorduction gives brilliant contemporary examples of poular media and how it affect people's lives. The theories and issues explored and introduced in this book provide a fantastic basis for further reading and understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fundamental book for understanding the media, 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really accessible book which explores basic concepts and explains core theorists in a straightforward way, great for study of magazines and any media. Sometimes it is tricky to understand that what is considered 'masculine' or 'feminine' is shaped by outside, powerful forces- like pop videos or celebrity game shows. Our ideas about gender are socially constructed - and this influences our own identity of self, encouraging us to conform, usually through shopping. Empowering for any student of the media to 'get' that idea. Read it! It's also got Gauntlett's theory org website to back it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SUPER useful for A level media studies essay on representation ..., 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Media, Gender and Identity: An Introduction (Paperback)
SUPER useful for A level media studies essay on representation of women. Oh my god it's so full of good quality stuff to quote about women etc, also really interesting to read anyway. My bibliography is basically a shrine to David Gauntlett, Laura Mulvey and Richard Dyer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent content. Terrible kindle formatting, 27 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an easily digested survey of the topic.
Unfortunately it's let down by its formatting in Kindle. Several pages skip sections and cut on paragraph off to start another half way through a sentence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for this topic, 12 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Media, Gender and Identity: An Introduction (Paperback)
I referred to this a lot for my gender identity dissertation. It's really concise, easy to read and has a lot of good references to read around.

A must-read for this topic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Media, Gender and Identity: An Introduction
Media, Gender and Identity: An Introduction by David Gauntlett (Paperback - 25 July 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews