Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book for child carers.
I first read this book whilst doing my NNEB at college. As a nursery nurse this book was invaluable to help with assessing child development, but now as a mother I feel it would probably worry me as if my son didn't reach the goal by the date set by Mary Sheridan, you start worrying! Overall, although informative, I feel this is a book for professional child-carers...
Published on 11 Mar 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very specific, maybe too much
The book gives useful guidelines for people iniciating work with young children (for example, working on early childhood intervention). It focuses important steps of development, but it's not analytical enough for people who want to study child development deeper.

Still... it's well organised, adequate for different professionals, and a good starting point.
Published on 31 Jan 2008 by Cathy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book for child carers., 11 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: From Birth to Five Years: Children's Developmental Progress (Paperback)
I first read this book whilst doing my NNEB at college. As a nursery nurse this book was invaluable to help with assessing child development, but now as a mother I feel it would probably worry me as if my son didn't reach the goal by the date set by Mary Sheridan, you start worrying! Overall, although informative, I feel this is a book for professional child-carers more than parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for childcare practitioners and all!, 20 Jun 2004
Who needs another book on play development other than this book. Not only is it written by Mary. D. Sheridan, but she was one of the best childcare experts around. Her 'play in early childhood: from birth to six years' explains and tells us about all the different types of play that there is e.g. solitary, paralell etc and takes into account children with different abilities which is good practice.
I would rate this book 10 out of 10 as the text is also simple and easy to follow and understand in this book unlike some others that you come across.
A must buy and read for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an esy to read informative book, 26 April 2002
This review is from: From Birth to Five Years: Children's Developmental Progress (Paperback)
This book is a must have if you need childrens milestones upto the age of five, an excellent book for parents and people studying childcare in any form. Its set out really clearly and is very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional, 16 April 2004
This review is from: From Birth to Five Years: Children's Developmental Progress (Paperback)
Sherdian's offering is a brilliant book and can act as a guide for childcare students and professionals. It covers the various stages of development from birth to five and also takes children with disabilities into account towards the end of the book.
I have used her book as a nursery nurse student and when at university part of my course and will still continue to use her book.
A must read/buy for everyone. You will not need another book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exellent for childcare workers, particularly students!, 23 May 2001
By 
ck1cmr@aol.com (South- East England) - See all my reviews
Afer reading this book, I found the information was very informative, in a simple mannor that was easy to take in. The title was not miss leading, you got the type of information you would expect from the title. I feel as a student that this book is very appropriate, full of usefull, broken down facts that can be used as references. Certianly a bargian at Amazon price, a good investment for those working in childcare or simply for a parental reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very specific, maybe too much, 31 Jan 2008
This review is from: From Birth to Five Years: Children's Developmental Progress (Paperback)
The book gives useful guidelines for people iniciating work with young children (for example, working on early childhood intervention). It focuses important steps of development, but it's not analytical enough for people who want to study child development deeper.

Still... it's well organised, adequate for different professionals, and a good starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars play in early childhood, 28 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This book is ok as a basic reference but was not in depth enough for my paediatric nurse training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent purchase for the price, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Birth to Five Years: Children's Developmental Progress (Paperback)
Arrived very quickly and was very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars never receive this book!, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Birth to Five Years: Children's Developmental Progress (Paperback)
I have never receive this book, not even paid back!, it's been a very long time and I jst gave up on it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As described, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Birth to Five Years: Children's Developmental Progress (Paperback)
Bought for a friend for her college course. I assume she was satisfied with the purchase as she went on and passed the course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From Birth to Five Years: Children's Developmental Progress
From Birth to Five Years: Children's Developmental Progress by Marion Frost (Paperback - 4 Sep 1997)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews