Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best around
Over the years I have used several Swedish-English dictionaries and the Routledge is by far and away the best there is (unless you want to spend four times the amount). It is the only dictionary I've found that covers gender and plural for nouns (although they use nine plural classifications rather than the more general five it does have the advantage of reducing the...
Published on 7 Oct 2007 by Michael Turner

versus
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for a beginner
Having had a very good experience with the Routledge Dutch dictionary,I had high hopes for the corresponding Swedish dictionary. Though it is undoubtedly very comprehensive it has major drawbacks for someonewho is starting to learn the language. It should be noted that it is basically a Swedish publication which has been patched up to make an English version. The most...
Published on 14 Dec 2005 by J. Campbell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best around, 7 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Swedish Dictionary: English/Swedish Swedish/English (Bilingual Dictionaries) (Hardcover)
Over the years I have used several Swedish-English dictionaries and the Routledge is by far and away the best there is (unless you want to spend four times the amount). It is the only dictionary I've found that covers gender and plural for nouns (although they use nine plural classifications rather than the more general five it does have the advantage of reducing the number of irregular plurals). It also categorises adjectives..a great help to beginners.
It does give the international phonetic pronunciation for those Swedish words that may give the student cause for doubt although I would agree that a perfect dictionary would give all pronunciation. Generally speaking Swedish does not have the inconsistency of pronunciation that exists in English so the phonetics are not so critical for Swedish.
I have yet to find a Swedish Dictionary that copes with all English idioms in the way that the Collins Robert does for French-English but until a Swedish equivalent of the Collins comes along this gets five stars from me. It has been a great help in lifting the level of accuracy in my Swedish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine for a beginner!, 27 Dec 2009
By 
brabes (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swedish Dictionary: English/Swedish Swedish/English (Bilingual Dictionaries) (Hardcover)
I was nearly put off buying this dictionary after reading the review by "campbell j w" but I bought it anyway and found many of the criticisms to be either unfair or unfounded.

As with German dictionaries, the pronunciation is not usually given for each and every word, because the rules for pronunciation are very regular (unlike in English); indeed there is a section on pronouncing Swedish words at the beginning of the dictionary. The pronunciation IS given where it is needed, and not where it would be superfluous.

It is also standard to refer to noun 'rules and codes' in Swedish (similar to, but not as clear cut as, Latin) as it is to refer to verb conjugations. The Swedish grammar books I have read refer to these rules too, and it would make the dictionary needlessly big if the endings were listed for every single noun.

There are introductions and abbreviation lists in both Swedish and English so I expect this dictionary was made for both markets, rather than being a 'patched up' Swedish publication, and even if it is, that does not detract from its usefulness for English speakers. It is certainly the best Swedish dictionary I have seen, and perfectly good for a beginner such as I am. Grammar sections in dictionaries are normally only useful as an overview anyway, so a much better option would be to get something like Swedish: An Essential Grammar (Essential Grammars) along with the dictionary.

The dictionary is a good size: comprehensive, but compact, and contains even colloquial terms like 'subba'. The definitions are succinct and accurate. It is beautifully bound and uses good quality paper.

A good dictionary is absolutely essential for learning a language and I highly recommend this one to anybody interested in Swedish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for a beginner, 14 Dec 2005
By 
J. Campbell "campbell_j_w" (Chester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Swedish Dictionary: English/Swedish Swedish/English (Bilingual Dictionaries) (Hardcover)
Having had a very good experience with the Routledge Dutch dictionary,I had high hopes for the corresponding Swedish dictionary. Though it is undoubtedly very comprehensive it has major drawbacks for someonewho is starting to learn the language. It should be noted that it is basically a Swedish publication which has been patched up to make an English version. The most immediately disappointing feature is that
phonetic pronunciations are, for the most part, omitted (or partial) for the Swedish words though they are given for all the English words! Noun endings are not given explicitly but are indicated via rules and codes and why is there a section on English grammar written in Swedish but not a corresponding section on Swedish grammar written in English?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would give more stars if possible, 23 Nov 2005
By 
This review is from: Swedish Dictionary: English/Swedish Swedish/English (Bilingual Dictionaries) (Hardcover)
I have now been studying swedish over here in sweden for 2 months and can safely say that from all the dictionaries that people have in class, this is by far the best one. No only does it do both sweidh to english ans visa versa (you would be amazed by how many dont do this) it gives you all the information you need on each word, like if it is a 'en' or a 'ett' word, what type of plural etc it would take, what kind of verb ending each verb has, as well as pointing out when it is an irregular verb, PLUS it gives handy little sentences that the word/verbs are used in, some that you would never be able to put together yourself.
Seriously i cannot recommend this book enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Routledge Swedish Dictionary, 4 July 2010
By 
Ragnar - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swedish Dictionary: English/Swedish Swedish/English (Bilingual Dictionaries) (Hardcover)
As far as the meanings of words go this dictionary is good. It also provides numerous useful examples of how words are used in context, which is one its greatest strengths. I have occasionally looked up a word and failed to find it, either because it was too technical or too colloquial, but this has not happened often.

It has one main disadvantage. Information regarding the definite singular and plural forms of Swedish nouns is not included with the entry, so the user wishing to know either or both of these things must then look up the dictionary codes in the front of the book for the inflection of nouns. This means that the user has to look up each noun at least twice, once under its entry and again in the codes. With compound nouns you may have to conduct a third search. Say you check `statsvetenskap' (political science) you will find it listed as a compound of `stats'. So you will find both the word and its meaning, which is good. But if you want to find its dictionary code then you will also have to look up `vetenskap' (science) then revert to the codes.

Although Swedish is normally described as having five declensions, this dictionary lists nine class of noun (s1 to s9) plus a further 26 unnumbered sub-classes. It is often clear from the codes what the definite singular and plural form of a given noun is, but since the classes are defined in the codes by example, if there are several of different types within a code classification then user must decide which of the examples given comes closest in structure to the word he/she is looking up. Usually it is obvious but sometimes it is less so, leaving room for doubt. (There are also codes for verbs and adjectives.)

In short, the classification system of this dictionary is time-consuming for the user. If the information were provided as part of the entry for each noun - for example, using the usual abbreviations such as (er/O) - then the dictionary would be easier to use and more definitive. If such a dictionary exists it would be worth considering. However, if your main interest lies in the meanings of words and associated phrases this dictionary is excellent and will suit you well.

(The only other Swedish dictionary I have used is the pocket Berlitz, which is good for its size and very useful when traveling. It tells you whether a given noun is common or neuter as part of each entry and also provides a phonetic guide with each entry.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Standard dictionary, 26 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swedish Dictionary: English/Swedish Swedish/English (Bilingual Dictionaries) (Hardcover)
It's what I hoped it would be and extremely useful in finding one's way through official paperwork, etc., when a novice in a language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Routledge Swedish Dictionary, 6 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. I. Draper (Colchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Swedish Dictionary: English/Swedish Swedish/English (Bilingual Dictionaries) (Hardcover)
An excellent and very comprehensive dictionary which includes extensive listing of word useage in phrases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Breed, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swedish Dictionary: English/Swedish Swedish/English (Bilingual Dictionaries) (Hardcover)
Swedish has two key features of importance to people who want to learn it.

First, the pronunciation has three characteristics that are essential: vowels can be "long" (open) or "short" (closed); they can be stressed or unstressed; and the language is tonal, unlike English. This dictionary provides a pronunciation guide. If the pronunciation is straight-forward, no guide is given. If something about it is not obvious, a partial phonetic transliteration is provided, and if the pronunciation is really unexpected, the whole word is transliterated.

I've provided a "customer image" so that you can see what I mean.

Second, nouns come in two flavours, so-called "neuter" (ett words use ett as the indefinite article) and "common" (en words). Within these two flavours are embedded several distinct strains that follow their own rules when creating plurals (that is, they inflect differently for both number and definiteness). As in other languages, this is important not only for the noun, but also for any adjective modifying the noun. This dictionary provides an indication of the inflection by showing which of the strains each noun belongs to.

The dictionary also provides useful glimpses of phrases using some of the words.

This is definitely the best dictionary I've found (I've reviewed Lilla Engelska Ordbok: Engelsk-Svensk/Svensk-Engelsk and English-Swedish and Swedish-English Dictionary) for Swedes wanting to learn English, and for people wanting to learn Swedish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good by small., 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swedish Dictionary: English/Swedish Swedish/English (Bilingual Dictionaries) (Hardcover)
FOR: Condensed, accurate, good reference guide.

AGAINST: The size of the dictionary is small and the type size could be larger too. For what you get; it's expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars swedish english dictionary, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swedish Dictionary: English/Swedish Swedish/English (Bilingual Dictionaries) (Hardcover)
It is incredibly expensive compared to various other European foreign language dictionaries. Why is this? Because there are not so many Swedes in Sweden as Brits in Uk? Because they all learn English and other languages routinely, so the demand is low? And because not many english language speakers wish to buy a Swedish dictionary?
However, I give it 4 stars because I used someone else's similar dictionary while in Sweden.
On a visit to the European bookshop in central london, there happened not to be a copy of this dictionary on the shelves. Otherwise I'd have bought it then.
Vi sees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Swedish Dictionary: English/Swedish Swedish/English (Bilingual Dictionaries)
47.00
Usually dispatched within 10 to 14 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews