Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic starting point
This is another book in this series that is absolutely fantastic. These books were a godsend when I was studying for a Classics degree. They're not technical or weighed down in heavy jargon. Instead, this book is an ideal and intelligent introduction to the Roman World. The style is approachable and snappy. The aim of the book is to provide an overview but this is...
Published on 22 July 2003

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Historical Overview
This is a decent historical overview of the Roman world. This book is a lot of history so its usefulness to all fields of human study, such as archaeology or anthropology, is limited. I was disappointed by how trade, infrastructure, and material culture were mostly glossed over. I was also dismayed about how brief some parts of the book were and how it was somewhat...
Published on 12 Mar. 2007 by Bacteriopheophytin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic starting point, 22 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Roman World 44 BC-AD 180 (The Routledge History of the Ancient World) (Paperback)
This is another book in this series that is absolutely fantastic. These books were a godsend when I was studying for a Classics degree. They're not technical or weighed down in heavy jargon. Instead, this book is an ideal and intelligent introduction to the Roman World. The style is approachable and snappy. The aim of the book is to provide an overview but this is excellently supplemented by an extensive bibliography for those who wish to study the subject further. If you're looking for a book on this period, you couldn't do much better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and Concise overview of the early Roman Empire, 4 April 2009
By 
Uncle Barbar (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Roman World 44 BC-AD 180 (The Routledge History of the Ancient World) (Paperback)
Goodman's book is written in a clear and eloquent style. He uses many ancient and more recent sources wisely - he doesn't try to baffle you with too many quotes but what he does use are always concise and helpful.

I've read a number of books on the Roman Empire but this one is probably the best. In 329 pages (the rest of the book is devoted to notes, bibliography and the index) Goodwin brings to life the Roman World in all its splendour, gaudiness, depravity and even, in parts, its squalor.

Part one is an introduction to sources and the Roman worldat the start of the peridod (in 50BC). Part two deals with the Emperors and politics. Part three with various aspects of the functioning of the state. Part four is split between society in various parts of the empire (Rome, Italy, France, Britain, Germany, Greece, the East, Egypt, Africa etc) Finally Part five is on the Pagan Godsa nd then Judaism and Christianity.

All in all quite acomprehensive book for such a short book and one that will whet your apptetite to delve further in many of these areas.

A book I wholeheartedly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Roman World 44 BC - AD 180, 12 Sept. 2012
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Roman World 44 BC-AD 180 (The Routledge History of the Ancient World) (Paperback)
This is one in the excellent Routledge History of the Ancient World series - these books are, one and all, an investment in excellence - scholarship, accessibility and information - though they are not, in general, one for a reader with no prior knowledge, they offer a very good outline of their period and the people involved, and they provide numerous resources for the reader to continue their studies.

So, this book specifically covers the Roman World in the period from 44 BC to AD 180 - from the assassination of Julius Caesar to the death of Marcus Aurelius. The book is divided into five main sections:

Part I: Introduction
Sources and Problems
The Roman world in 50BC

Part II: Elite politics
The political language of Rome
Caesar to Augustus 50 Bc - AD 14
Julio-Claudians AD 14-68
Civil War and Flavians AD 68-96
Nerva to Marcus Aurelius AD 96-180

Part II: The State
Military Autocracy
The operation of the State in Rome
The operation of the State in the provinces
The army in society
The image of the Emperor
The extent of political unity
The extent of economic unity
The extent of cultural unity

Part IV: Society
Reactions to imperial rule
The city of Rome: Social organisation
The city of Rome: culture and life
Italy and Sicily
The Iberian Peninsula and the islands of the Western Mediterranean
France and Britain
The Rhineland and the Balkans
Greece and the Aegean Coast
Central and Eastern Turkey
The Northern Levant and Mesopotamia
The Southern Levant
Egypt
North Africa

Part V: Humans and gods
Paganism
Judaism
Christianity

In under 400 pages (including notes, biobiographical notes and index), a tall order to cover all these aspects in great detail. However, the organisation of the book allows for the reader to study in a concise manner the particular area they are researching, or the topic of interest, and to move through the book in both a chronological and thematic manner. The bibliographical notes offer further suggestions for reading in the various sections, which is helpful, although this could definitely do with expansion, and updating.

The sections on the provinces are particularly helpful, giving a good overview of their status under the Roman World during the period, as well as geographical maps and maps which show the Roman provinces and their boundaries (as such). I found this particularly good for an understanding of the Roman world as a whole, and the areas of which it was made up during this period.

The author has written several books, particularly on aspects of Roman empire, and is an authoritative source of information. This book does exactly what it sets out to do, and in great and concise formatting and detail - it is a book I'm glad I purchased, and I refer to it often; this is the first time I've read it from cover to cover, and it won't be the last time I do so, I'm sure. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good overview, 16 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Roman World 44 BC-AD 180 (The Routledge History of the Ancient World) (Paperback)
An excellent overview of Roman history between 44BC-AD180. This work includes a mainly narrative summary of the main events and themes of the period. The book is split into sections on different areas of Roman history: the first section provides an account of the reigns of the princes and emperors of the period; other sections look specifically at administration, the military or religion, and many others.

The book is written very well - the text is understandable and the book remains extremely accessible. A worthy addition to a collection of anyone interested in Rome, student or not, but also an indispensable study guide at university level (or even A-Level).

I thoroughly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Historical Overview, 12 Mar. 2007
This review is from: The Roman World 44 BC-AD 180 (The Routledge History of the Ancient World) (Paperback)
This is a decent historical overview of the Roman world. This book is a lot of history so its usefulness to all fields of human study, such as archaeology or anthropology, is limited. I was disappointed by how trade, infrastructure, and material culture were mostly glossed over. I was also dismayed about how brief some parts of the book were and how it was somewhat disorganized (for example, the activities and raison d'etre of the praetorian guard were introduced early in the book in the section on emperor's but not explained until the discussion on society). I have read better books on the subject of the Roman Empire, but this one is ok for a general synopsis of Roman society and history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 6 Aug. 2013
This review is from: The Roman World 44 BC-AD 180 (The Routledge History of the Ancient World) (Paperback)
I am very pleased with this book it is in great condition and it was very reasonably priced. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Roman World 44 BC-AD 180 (The Routledge History of the Ancient World) (Paperback)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 Nov. 2014
By 
E. osborn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Roman World 44 BC-AD 180 (The Routledge History of the Ancient World) (Paperback)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Roman World 44 BC-AD 180 (The Routledge History of the Ancient World)
Used & New from: £5.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews