Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historical wise the best...
Very good comprehensive book with detailled information about the history of radar. A must for everybody who want to know more about radar!
Published 16 months ago by Stephan

versus
8 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly researched waste of money
This is not exactly the best book ever written about radar during the Second World War. It contains many errors, misinterpretation of the primary sources, inconsistencies in drawings and errors in maps. I've read many books on this subject and would recommend anyone interested in this important aspect of the history of the air defence of the UK not to read this one. If...
Published on 7 April 2010 by Mr. C. I. Brown


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historical wise the best..., 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building Radar: Forging Britain's Early-warning Chain,1939-45 (Hardcover)
Very good comprehensive book with detailled information about the history of radar. A must for everybody who want to know more about radar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Building Radar, 8 May 2010
By 
D. Taylor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Building Radar: Forging Britain's Early-warning Chain,1939-45 (Hardcover)
This is the third book by Colin Dobinson which I have bought and read. The previous books 'AA Command' and 'Fields of Deception' were well researched, well written and made very interesting reading. 'Building Radar' is a book of the same calibre and I would recommend it to all those interested in the defence of the UK during World War 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 22 Nov 2010
This review is from: Building Radar: Forging Britain's Early-warning Chain,1939-45 (Hardcover)
I was warned that this book would be heavy and not easy to read.
How wrong they were!!! It was very easy and once picked up, it
was hard to put down. Even if you only have a small interest in this
subject it is well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Building Radar By C Dobinson, 23 April 2010
By 
David A. Wood (Suffolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Building Radar: Forging Britain's Early-warning Chain,1939-45 (Hardcover)
This excellent books begins from the early days before radar where research went into sound mirrors right through to 1945. Although its a heavy subject the book is a very easy read and covers all aspects of radar even to the purchase of land. Highly recommended.
Dave Wood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Building Radar, 15 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building Radar: Forging Britain's Early-warning Chain,1939-45 (Hardcover)
I had been waiting for this book to be published and was not disappointed. It gives a clear picture of the development of radar during WW 2 in the UK. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Radar as it was Built, 19 May 2010
By 
Mr. B. S. Gambrill "drill fan" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Building Radar: Forging Britain's Early-warning Chain,1939-45 (Hardcover)
The book Building Radar has been a long time coming! I used to joke with Book, etc., where I was trying to order the book that it took longer to publish the book than it did to build the radar system. (During the process Book, etc. disappeared and Amazon.com beckoned.)
It is difficult now to realise how dependent GB was on these systems of radar detection and its knowledge of German systems, cf. R V Jones, 'Most Secret War' but this narrative takes the reader through the intricate steps of government preparedness, the justification of government funding, and government's ability to procure and mobilise its building.
Rather dry, deliberately so, as it is a historical record of the various sites of masts and equipment rooms through GB, but all the way through is the sense of impending but uncertain hazards of the possible blitzkrieg that would be associated with an invasion.
The book was just what I hoped it would be, a comprehensive catalogue of the radar's developmental processes and the sites used by aerial arrays and installations.
Ideal reference book for amateur and professional seeker after WW2 knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly accessible, 3 Oct 2012
This review is from: Building Radar: Forging Britain's Early-warning Chain,1939-45 (Hardcover)
I see one reviewer has given this a slating as it contains errors, and that reviewer appears to have read dozens of books on the subject and be in training for Mastermind, but what I think what we have here is a mismatch in the intended readership.

The subject to the layman is daunting enough, and even considering buying a book that may be hard work is a bit off-putting, so it's encouraging to read elsewhere here that this book is accessible and can be easily understood by the 'general public', which is, I am sure, the intention. Accessibility for all is certainly the key as far as I'm concerned, and luckily for me, it fits the bill.

Having recently become interested in WWII and the most extraordinary human achievements and creativity that it inspired, this book is right on the money. I can understand it. I would not have finished a text book, and I'm not doing Mastermind on the subject either. If there are errors, then that is unfortunate, but if those errors are about whether someone spent the night in a van or on the ground it really isn't that fundamental to the subject being discussed and it doesn't have to stand up in court.

I'm just happy to have learned something that would otherwise have gone over my head. Job done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Building Radar: Forging Britain's Early-warning Chain, 1939-45, 5 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Building Radar: Forging Britain's Early-warning Chain,1939-45 (Hardcover)
This is a most remarkable book covering a highly complex subject, while at the same time remaining easy to read and to digest. The author has covered all of the major developments that occured during WWII,and most systems used by the RAF and the Army, with excellent historical context. The illustrations, particularly the drawings are out-standing and set a very high standard for anyone wishing to expand on this subject. Given the diversity of types of systems developed during the war this book doesn't quite cover everything, but it has a darned good stab at it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly researched waste of money, 7 April 2010
By 
Mr. C. I. Brown (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Building Radar: Forging Britain's Early-warning Chain,1939-45 (Hardcover)
This is not exactly the best book ever written about radar during the Second World War. It contains many errors, misinterpretation of the primary sources, inconsistencies in drawings and errors in maps. I've read many books on this subject and would recommend anyone interested in this important aspect of the history of the air defence of the UK not to read this one. If you want a more definitive account, go with 'RDF1' by Michael Bragg. It is vastly more accurate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Building Radar: Forging Britain's Early-warning Chain,1939-45
Building Radar: Forging Britain's Early-warning Chain,1939-45 by Colin Dobinson (Hardcover - 25 Mar 2010)
21.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews