Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is real life... but much funnier
All I want to say (as a former psychiatrist) is that every word in this script rings true to me. This is a play about how we construct our idea of madness, and how human frailty can undermine the highest ambitions. Glorious stuff.
Published on 22 Feb. 2002 by Dylan

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Have no idea what this book is like - purchased for work library
Sorry - can't review it. I purchased it for a job some years back.

It's in the library somewhere and seemed to suit the purpose in that respect.
Published 18 months ago by RaRa


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is real life... but much funnier, 22 Feb. 2002
This review is from: Blue/orange (Modern Plays) (Paperback)
All I want to say (as a former psychiatrist) is that every word in this script rings true to me. This is a play about how we construct our idea of madness, and how human frailty can undermine the highest ambitions. Glorious stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought-Provoking., 29 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Blue/orange (Modern Plays) (Paperback)
Though this is a short script with few characters, Penhall does a great job keeping the reader guessing. I, personally, am still trying to figure out the motivations of the characters. The entire play takes place in the office of a mental hospital (great for a black box or other small theatre). The three characters seem stereotypical at first - the normal, everyday psychologist trying to do good, the patient, just wanting to get out and go home, and the psychologist's superior, trying to get things his way. But as the play progresses, things get more complex and more strange. I don't want to spoil anything, so I will only say that I'd definitely recommend this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best plays I've ever seen!, 28 Nov. 2001
This review is from: Blue/orange (Modern Plays) (Paperback)
I saw this play in London after spending five months studying in France. I'm an American college student, but this play so perfectly captured aspects of the minority experience in Europe...MY experience in Europe, that I was floored. I'm not insane, but Blue/Orange illustrates just how racial tensions can make you feel that way. First thing I said when it was over, "I want that script!" I'm glad to have found it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Corker, 15 Aug. 2014
By 
M. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue/orange (Modern Plays) (Paperback)
I'd only previously seen the TV version, many years ago. This is so much better. So much more intense and claustrophobic. The necessity of staging this in one space actually makes it much more powerful. Intense, provocative and well-worthy of your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous play, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue/orange (Modern Plays) (Paperback)
If you want to put on something funny, thought-provoking and sophisticated, this is it. You won't disappoint and audience and you'll love putting it together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, interesting and amusing, 1 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue/orange (Modern Plays) (Paperback)
Thought provoking, interesting and amusing

It raised a lot of very interesting questions for our book club and I would love to see it performed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just the ticket, 14 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue/orange (Modern Plays) (Paperback)
Bought as used looks like new .Great play thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Have no idea what this book is like - purchased for work library, 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue/Orange (Paperback)
Sorry - can't review it. I purchased it for a job some years back.

It's in the library somewhere and seemed to suit the purpose in that respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blue/orange (Modern Plays)
Blue/orange (Modern Plays) by Joe Penhall (Paperback - 13 April 2000)
£9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews