Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good play!
I read Death of a Salesman years ago and really loved it. This play, although not as masterful as his earlier play, really shows his scope as a playwrite as you see him explore the 'living room drama' type style adopted in plays such as 'Look Back in Anger' to make a social commentary on Jewish American living during the war. I thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it...
Published 11 months ago by Emily

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars but aside from that this product is not particularly useful to students
I wish I had read the reviews before clicking the 'go to checkout' button. If I had I would have known that the description of this product is not accurate. There are NO notes on plot, character or themes. No analysis whatsoever. There are definitions of some words at the bottom of each page and so this 'guide' might be of use to a foreign student of English language, but...
Published 1 month ago by James Andrew Wilkinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars but aside from that this product is not particularly useful to students, 11 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Glass. (Paperback)
I wish I had read the reviews before clicking the 'go to checkout' button. If I had I would have known that the description of this product is not accurate. There are NO notes on plot, character or themes. No analysis whatsoever. There are definitions of some words at the bottom of each page and so this 'guide' might be of use to a foreign student of English language, but aside from that this product is not particularly useful to students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Glass. (Paperback)
Despite this book being advertised as 'perfect for students', it contains little more analysis than a brief explanation of certain, often obvious terms at the bottom of each page. This more closely resembles a simple list of specific vocabulary than a 'comprehensive guide'. The 'extensive introduction' by Alan Ackerman that supposedly contains 'a summary of the plot and commentary on the characters, themes, language, context and production history of the play' is genuinely a page and a half long, with a largely irrelevant summary of Arthur Miller's career taking up one whole page of said 'extensive introduction'.

I can only assume that this description is in fact of an entirely different book, as this is by no means an 'expertly edited edition'. As this edition is of German origin I would guess that the analysis of vocabulary is instead for those with a less wide ranging grasp of English who may need otherwise to refer to a dictionary in order to understand certain phrases. There is nothing inherently wrong with this edition of Broken Glass, but don't buy it expecting anything other than the play with a few explanations of terms as footnotes. This is in no way the student's guide it is advertised as.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The worst product I've ever purchased as they have provided me with a old version of the book, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Glass (Modern Plays) (Modern Classics) (Paperback)
The book was the oldest version, in the book which it did not state and I purchased god this item only because I saw a picture of the new version of the book while purchasing for the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good play!, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Glass (Modern Plays) (Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I read Death of a Salesman years ago and really loved it. This play, although not as masterful as his earlier play, really shows his scope as a playwrite as you see him explore the 'living room drama' type style adopted in plays such as 'Look Back in Anger' to make a social commentary on Jewish American living during the war. I thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Glass (Modern Plays) (Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Needed this particular play for my English Lit exam! Better price here compared to other stores, also brand new. Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Engaging play, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Glass (Modern Plays) (Modern Classics) (Paperback)
A late Miller play which addresses the issues of political responsibility and anti semitism. It builds a tense atmosphere andsustains it until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Glass (Modern Plays) (Modern Classics) (Paperback)
Purchased this for my daughter received earlier than expected, she is in her bedroom now reading Broken Glass which she is studying as part of her A level English she seems v pleased with it. Room for her to make her own notes lets hope it does the trick!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not his greatest - but still a fine play., 20 Sep 2012
By 
Scampo "Steve C" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Glass (Modern Plays) (Modern Classics) (Paperback)
I do enjoy Arthur Miller's plays and academic writing. He was one of the great US dramatists without doubt, but his later work (of which this is a fine example) is just a little less enjoyable when compared to the likes of his early plays, outstanding being The Crucible, Death of a Salesman, All My Sons and A View from the Bridge. But for sure, if you enjoy these plays, you will enjoy reading this one - the chances of ever being able to watch it on stage seem slim, sadly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kristallnacht, 16 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Broken Glass (Modern Plays) (Modern Classics) (Paperback)
A Miller play - need not say much more. Typical claustrophobic settings, angst ridden guilty characters and a good old theme of inertia. An enjoyable play from the latter years of Miller's life, wonderful historical context and beautifully written retrospective. If you like Miller, you'll like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broken Glass (Modern Plays) (Modern Classics) (Paperback)
A level book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Broken Glass (Modern Plays) (Modern Classics)
Broken Glass (Modern Plays) (Modern Classics) by Arthur Miller (Paperback - 15 Aug 1994)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews