Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top drawer, 20 July 2005
This review is from: How to Write a Novel (Paperback)
The Finnish reviewer has written an intelligent and accurate appraisal. I teach writing and always recommend Braine's book but thought it was long out of print. He has some odd, idiosyncratic, ideas (e.g., that a novel 'must have' at least twenty chapters) but overall this is an enlightening and practical book. As the other reviewer mentions, the book contains an exact method for getting the job done. This is unusual. Perhaps I can recommend also the following writers-on-writing: Dorothea Brande, Damon Knight, and Dwight V Swain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


97 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the important ones, 3 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: How to Write a Novel (Paperback)
I have read lots of How-to-Write-books. This is one of the important ones. Many books will tell you how to structure your scenes, how to write dialog etc, but very few tell you how the process of writing actually works. I know that everybody works differently, but I followed the technique in this book and it works amazingly well: (in short, you'll need to read to book to get the details) Frist, write the whole book from start to finish, without worrying about editing or inconsistencies ar actually anything. Then, write a 2000 word synopsis, until you are satisfied with the story. Then rewrite from start. The reason this works for me is that I have a tendency to wory too long over a certain scene or even a word. This technique allows me to just not care if the writing is lousy, just get on with the story. You'll have a novel written in about 3 months, BUT it's only the first draft and it's bound to be embarrasinly poor. But now you have the story, and you start again, and now when you now what you are doing you can agonize over the words and scenes until they work. If you do it the other way round, you spend a lot of time writing scenes that never make it to the final draft.
You'll need other books on writing, too, this is not the bible of writing, but certainly one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the good ones, 21 Mar 2008
This review is from: How to Write a Novel (Paperback)
This and Stephen King's 'On Writing' are the two most useful books I have read about the writing process. I kept starting a novel then going back to re-write and never getting very far. Once I read this book, I sat down and wrote the whole thing out without stopping. It was incoherent, but I had enough (more than enough to work with). Best kickstart I have ever had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful book, 13 Feb 2006
This review is from: How to Write a Novel (Paperback)
Braine knows how to call a spade a spade and although sometimes i wondered how much of a personal rant this book was becoming, it does contain a lot of useful information. If you want to be a writer surely it makes sense to sit down for a chat with a writer who knows his stuff. And if you can't get a chat, then read the book and listen to his forthright opinions on the subject of (you guessed it, the title's a dead giveaway) how to write a novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books for new authors ..., 18 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cover 4.0 I first read this book in early 2011 after I had started writing in 'my own way' in June 2010. I like the blunt no nonsense approach to the issues. I also have John to thank for introducing me to the first person with Joe Lampton in Room at the Top. I started a re read last week. To get copies one has to source from the USA where he must have sold better. My copy is also annotated by its previous owner with caustic comments about John's blunt comments so two of them in the room together would have been quite an occasion. I recommend this book ahead of Stephen King's "On Writing" book simply because it is shorter and written more tightly. Alexander of the Allrighters and Ywnwab!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So Inspiring, 3 Jan 2012
This review is from: How to Write a Novel (Paperback)
This helpful book was a pleasure to read and packed with the practical, sometimes obvious advice that you really need reminding of when beginning such a long and arduous task as writing a novel. I would recommend this to anyone who weants to take writing seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars it is still a very good buy., 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Write a Novel (Paperback)
some paragraphs were underlined by the previous owner, but, it is still a very good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Write a Novel
How to Write a Novel by John Braine (Paperback - 25 April 1974)
Used & New from: £1.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews