Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars28
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 January 2013
I was looking for the full words and stage directions in the manner given by French who have published this title for amateur productions. The Theatre Workshop version does not give the full mnarraticve of the Sargeant Major's soliloqui in which he drills the recruits (and audience) in hilarious style!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 1999
A great piece of writing and definatley worth the price. One of the greatest satire's ever devised yet it is so often misunderstood as a tastless skit. This condems war at every level... It certainly doesn't poke fun at the many who died during the "Great" war.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2004
Brilliantly balanced between sorrow for those who fought for our country and satirical humour to mock the incompetence of the military which lead to the deaths of 9,000,000 people.
A very moving play, even better when performed. A must buy!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
I studied this play on a production with an amateur theatre recently, and it captured my heart. It's an absolutely smashing play and I couldn't have spent my nights this summer gone any better, than in regards to aiding of it's production on stage. The songs that lie within are very moving, and will be engraved in any observers mind long after viewing. If you read it, be sure to see it in order to experience it's true feeling and potential. An excellent play and worth the read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2015
Book was in superb condition, just as described by seller. Arrived very quickly.
This text has useful notes from Joan Littlewood, many of the song lyrics, and tells you which songs go where. Better than the original script version from the 1970s.
Will be using it for a production in 2016.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
The script was perfect for a group of young and old,male and female performing the play in the open air and enabled the director to show both the humour and horrors of the First World War to an appreciative audience numbering 460 over 4 perfomances.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
We're putting on a production of this show as I type this, a very good copy if you just have to learn your lines. The lamination did start to peel after constant use but that shouldn't affect your ability to open up the book and read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
A bold attempt at giving a different view of war and WW1 in particular. Well received at the time of its first showing and still relevant, especially in this commemorative year.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
enjoying this book more as we go through the current A level course...not the easiest to learn but getting the hang of it with more studying
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
excellent ,my granddaughter is one of the cast in Nottingham.s production of oh what a lovely war ,and she,s found it very useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.