Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hug your Fawlty book
Why on earth would anyone want to read this book when you can have the real thing on video? Well, quite frankly, any true fan of John Cleese should have a copy of this book to at least be able to reach out for it in need. In need of finding the pun you have just forgotten, in need of reading over the scene with Mrs Richards, in need of visualizing the scene in which...
Published on 19 Oct 1999

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat disappointing barebone edition.
For me Fawlty Towers remains the best loved British comedy of all time, and as such I felt obliged to put my hands on this book. That said - the rating is only for the book and not the series.

While I could easily read it and still have a very good laugh, almost as watching the show, this is all there is to this book.

Don't confuse it to be a scripts...
Published on 5 Feb 2012 by Say No More 67


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hug your Fawlty book, 19 Oct 1999
By A Customer
Why on earth would anyone want to read this book when you can have the real thing on video? Well, quite frankly, any true fan of John Cleese should have a copy of this book to at least be able to reach out for it in need. In need of finding the pun you have just forgotten, in need of reading over the scene with Mrs Richards, in need of visualizing the scene in which Manuel remains the "boss" of the hotel... These needs could be multiplied. And of course there are situations when you don't have your video and TV with, but you can always hug this magnificent script and laugh until tears wet your eyes... Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outrageously funny, 8 Jan 2000
By A Customer
I bought this book as a gift, but I couldn't help but dip into it myself. Once you immerse yourself in the escapades of this hotel madhouse, it's impossible to let go. Events cascade in a an impeccably logical and humorously horrific torrent, until poor Basil the hotel owner generally ends up losing his marbles. The characters truly come to life in a very special way: Sybil, Basil's long-suffering wife, Manual, the waiter from Barcelona who has yet to master the English language, the slightly dotty Major, a guest in the hotel, and other regular players. Single episode appearances from comic geniuses such as the Rat. Brilliant comic writing from Cleese and the pretty Connie Booth - I've ordered my own copy, and the gift copy that no longer quite lies flat on the table has left to fill someone else's heart with laughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat disappointing barebone edition., 5 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete "Fawlty Towers" (Hardcover)
For me Fawlty Towers remains the best loved British comedy of all time, and as such I felt obliged to put my hands on this book. That said - the rating is only for the book and not the series.

While I could easily read it and still have a very good laugh, almost as watching the show, this is all there is to this book.

Don't confuse it to be a scripts book - it's not! (the word 'script' isn't to be found anywhere in this book).
The book only contains the transcripts of the 12 episodes.

There's NO extra stuff such as:
- Foreword/preface/editor's note
- background info
- behind the scenes info
- footnotes
- index (only a table of contents that contains the episode names and pages)
- any information regarding the origin of the text in the book and the original scripts.
Just a few B&W pictures at the middle of the book, taken directly from screen.

I originally gave it 4 stars, but after ordering some other script books, like Father Ted: The Complete Scripts or "Porridge": The Complete Scripts and Series Guide , which have ample extra stuff and information in them, I've decided to downgrade this one to 3 stars, as I really don't feel it deserves more than that.

If you're looking for more than the mere transcripts of the series, you'd better look elsewhere, as there are plenty of good books out there like, for example, Graham McCann's "Fawlty Towers", or the excellent commentary tracks available on the superb 2009 Fawlty Towers - Remastered [DVD] [1975].

If you're only after the text, than this book has no real advantage over what's available on the internet today, apart from having it in hardcover format. On the other hand, at less than a quid for a used copy it's not that bad after all to have...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb scripts and brilliantly funny on the page as well, 28 May 2008
This is wonderful comedy and exploits the situations ruthlessly and to great effect. These scripts took several times longer to write than the average sitcom and it shows. An ideal toilet book too, perfect for long dumps on a summer's evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my kind of hotel!, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as if john cleese isn't enough, the greatest hotel in the world...! of course the food isn't exactly gourmet and the service isn't quite impeccable and I don't think i'd call it restful...but the humor is unparalleled! what are their rates please?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece..., 14 Mar 2001
By A Customer
Buy this book now! If you don`t I promise you that you`ll regret it for the rest of your life! Even if you have never even seen Fawlty towers then you still have to buy this book! It has had people in the street giving me funny looks by the amount of laughter it`s squeezed out of me! Brilliant, well done Fawlty!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basil still lives on!!, 1 Mar 2002
By A Customer
All the scripts from the show that made us laugh and cry out loud. Not as good as the classic television shows but all the wit and humor is there. Shame there were only 12 made!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Diamond Literature, 12 Oct 2000
By A Customer
Read the complete works, saw the video's but on hearing the tapes it put a whole new perspective on the comedy. Pure Creative Genius. Well worth it if you want to understand the complete picture surrounding Fawlty Towers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete "Fawlty Towers"
The Complete "Fawlty Towers" by Connie Booth (Hardcover - Sep 1988)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews