Customer Reviews


24 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational Kids: Hope for Children with Sensory Processing Disorder, 22 July 2009
By 
Mrs. F. Douglas (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sensational Kids: Hope and Help for Children with Sensory Processing Disorder (Paperback)
If you are looking for an easy-to-read, genuinely informative book on Sensory Processing Disorder then look no further... I have read many but this is easily the most accessible: what it is, how it feels, why some people experience the world this way and what might make things easier. Everyone I have recommended this book to has come back with a much greater understanding and, for some, the sense that a huge veil has been lifted. Oh, and the tip about apple sauce through a straw is a real winner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For those struggling with behaviour that is not quite autism or ADHD, this book might hold some answers, 11 Oct. 2009
By 
M. K. Boers "purplequeenuk" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sensational Kids: Hope and Help for Children with Sensory Processing Disorder (Paperback)
My son is going through assessment for a Sensory disorder, and this book helped me understand what it is, and what behaviour this relates to. This book is clearly set out and explains everything in laymans terms, giving diagrams and check lists to help you identify if your child falls into any of the different sensory disorder possiblities. I would recommend this book to anyone who needs clarity on these ideas, which are new - but are thankfully moving away from labelling every child with ADHD or Autism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A revelation!, 6 Jun. 2006
By 
L. A. Feeney (Lancashire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
At last - a book that actually explains sensory processing disorder (and sensory modulation disorder) in a way that everyone can understand. Lucy Jane Miller writes in an open and honest way, giving parents and carers exact information without overloading on technical jargon.

After reading this fantastic book despair is slowly ebbing away and light can be seen at the end of the tunnel!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sensational Kids: Hope and Help for Children with Sensory Processing Disorder (Paperback)
When it was mentioned that my child might have sensory processing I found this book gave a very good understanding of Sensory processing and it various categories and what senses come under each category. It is American and refers to American agencies but there is enought in this book to helpe me recognise symptoms and it gave some coping strategies for when your child has a sensory overload. I didn't think my child had sensory problems and just thought he just had some strange ways and as if often the case it wasn't picked up until year 2 at school. Whilst reading this book I could identify scenarios and things became a little clearer and I was able to implement strategies before it became a big deal. This book is also one of the ones the OT's recommend reading. Pity the husband wouldn't read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have, 7 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sensational Kids: Hope and Help for Children with Sensory Processing Disorder (Paperback)
As usually, the most known for SPD-parents person Lucy Miller gives a very clear, helpful, easy-reading and important advises as well as detailed description of all diagnoses of SPD-spectrum. A MUST have.
Our sensory therapist calls it a "BIBLE". I completely agree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational Kids Book, 3 Aug. 2010
By 
K. H. Boyd "KHB" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sensational Kids: Hope and Help for Children with Sensory Processing Disorder (Paperback)
Great book. Interesting and informative read to enlighten the reader on their child's sensory needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 26 July 2011
This review is from: Sensational Kids: Hope and Help for Children with Sensory Processing Disorder (Paperback)
Easy to read with detailed information on sensory processing disorder.
My son has this and it has helped our family gain a better understanding of what it is and how to help our son.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sensational Kids: Hope and Help for Children with Sensory Processing Disorder (Paperback)
Had just been on a course for Special Needs and the leader of the course had recommended this book. A good read and very interesting. Many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wealth of information coming from the SPD guru, 30 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sensational Kids: Hope and Help for Children with Sensory Processing Disorder (Paperback)
For anyone just beginning to try to understand this very common difficulty in both mainstream and special needs children, this is the SPD bible. It's a complex need to understand and this book explains this complexity very well. As a teacher I found it very readable, and have lent it to parents too. However, I think generally as a first text for a parent, it may be a little too heavy. You would have to use your judgement on this. I would very highly recomend it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sensational Kids: Hope and Help for Children with Sensory Processing Disorder (Paperback)
A real insight into what kids with sensory issues have to deal with. Good motivational ideas to help their carers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sensational Kids: Hope and Help for Children with Sensory Processing Disorder
Used & New from: £1.61
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews