Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Out of Sync Child
This is an outstanding book for parents, teachers and therapists. It offers understanding and insight into Sensory Processing Disorders, the effect that they can have on our everyday lives and how some of those difficulties can be addressed. The text is well written and researched as well as down to earth and practical. As an experienced Paediatric Occupational Therapist...
Published on 15 Jan 2007 by Suha

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok
Not very keen on this book. I also bought "too loud too bright too fast too tight" which I found was a much better format to follow. Both books are American & this one goes on to tell you what benefits you can claim, not suitable in this country.
Also paid 12 delivery for 4 books from this seller & took nearly 3 weeks to be delivered!!!!!!!!
Published 3 months ago by Alli


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Out of Sync Child, 15 Jan 2007
This review is from: The Out-Of-Sync Child (Paperback)
This is an outstanding book for parents, teachers and therapists. It offers understanding and insight into Sensory Processing Disorders, the effect that they can have on our everyday lives and how some of those difficulties can be addressed. The text is well written and researched as well as down to earth and practical. As an experienced Paediatric Occupational Therapist I would thoroughly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the jigsaw is beging to fit, 3 Dec 2008
By 
M. Harris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Out-Of-Sync Child (Paperback)
we have just been told My 5 year old son has Sensory Processing Disorder by a mental heath worker who told me to read this book..
from the 1st chapter the last 5 years began to make sence.
my son who was labeled as naughty at playschool , uncontrolable at school to the point that school would only have him there for 1 hour a day. other children found him a bit strange and funny . We knew something was wrong for a long time and was told maybe he had ADHD but it never seemed to fit and now we know why, this book has opened my eyes to how my son must be feeling day to day , this book made me laugh and smile reading that my sons isnt the only child that does strange things the way he eats pickeled onions, mustard and vingar hot currys and chilli the way he can suck lemons and limes without a reaction. The way he seems to spin round and round without ever getting dizzy, his relentless need to climb and hang upside down
lots of things now make sense and its thanks to this book..if your child has SPD or ADHD and ADD doesnt quite fit your child.. then this book is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, 24 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Out-Of-Sync Child (Paperback)
Thank you for making me realise that i am not cracking up. This book could have been written about my son. it has made me understand all the things i could not explain and helped me begin to help my son live again! Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A total revelation, 31 Dec 2006
By 
M. Crane "Marty" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Out-Of-Sync Child (Paperback)
Not having heard about SDP (also known under other abbreviations), all I heard regarding my son was ADD, ADHD etc from experts. Even though I knew that these "didnt quite fit", I couldnt say what was wrong much less get into contact with an expert on SDP. Although Ben hasnt had a diagnosis for SDP, I now feel, thanks to this book, that I am a lot closer to understanding why he behaves as he does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book, 1 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Out-Of-Sync Child (Paperback)
My son is autistic & this book was suggested to me by his O.T. & S.A.L.T. I cannot praise it enough, it completely explains all his behavouir & ways to help him. If you have a child or work with children with sensory problems you have to reaad this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of Sync, 19 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Out-Of-Sync Child (Paperback)
This is a great book. Easy to read and informative,great value for money.
Helps in understanding a child's behaviour, preferences and aversions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suggested by an occupational therapist., 5 Jan 2011
By 
G. Darroch (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Out-Of-Sync Child (Paperback)
I have 2 sons diagnosed with autism. This book has been very helpful with understanding some of their behaviours. It is easy to read and I would recommend it to anyone who has an autistic child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible insights!, 21 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Out-Of-Sync Child (Paperback)
I first came across Kranowitz's 'The Out of Sync Child' when my own boys were very small, puzzling, frustrated people. This book gives down to earth insights into why children with a range of difficulties may exhibit certain behaviours. It also gives an insight into sensory integration disorder, and is packed with suggestions of how to manage this. I used this book to help explain my sons behaviours and needs to their teachers. A very useful book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT PLACE TO START, 28 July 2010
This review is from: The Out-Of-Sync Child (Paperback)
Very helpful and insightful. I wish I would have read this book prior to my son's diagnosis. Very helpful even to those of very young children who want to be sure that they are aware of any 'signs' so they can get early intervention and perhaps avoid future difficulties. Early detection so important and many child professionals are unaware of Sensory Integration issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 4 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Out-Of-Sync Child (Paperback)
lots of light bulb moments reading this. really inspiring for use with my daughter who has sensory processing difficulties, definately reccommend it to anyone needing info on this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Out-Of-Sync Child
The Out-Of-Sync Child by Carol Stock Kranowitz (Paperback - 30 Sep 2005)
9.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews