Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh yeah!
When a worker at an Antietam Creek construction site uncovered a five thousand-year-old human skull, construction work stopped and experts were called in. Dr. Callie Dunbrook was the archaeologist assigned to head a team and work the site. The only big problem to her was that she was forced to work with her irritating, but irresistible, ex-husband, Jake.
Later,...
Published on 30 Jan 2004 by Detra Fitch

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a GOOD book, not a GREAT one.....
I must admit to having being spoilt by Ms.Roberts excellent recent books - Three Fates and Chesapeake Blue to name two. Here I feel that the standard has dropped somewhat - that's not to say it was'nt good - it just was'nt great and that is what I've come to expect from this consistently talented author.
The book had too many plotlines going on all at once for me -...
Published on 14 May 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh yeah!, 30 Jan 2004
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Birthright (Roberts, Nora) (Hardcover)
When a worker at an Antietam Creek construction site uncovered a five thousand-year-old human skull, construction work stopped and experts were called in. Dr. Callie Dunbrook was the archaeologist assigned to head a team and work the site. The only big problem to her was that she was forced to work with her irritating, but irresistible, ex-husband, Jake.
Later, Callie was approached by a woman that claimed Callie was the daughter someone had kidnapped from her long ago. Callie's world would change drastically. And the more Callie dug for the truth about her past, the more danger surrounded everyone she cared for!
***** A well written novel that overflows with awesome main and secondary characters. Be warned that there are some spicy hot love scenes mixed in with this tale of thrills, mystery, danger, and romance. An excellent story by one of the best authors of today! *****
Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a GOOD book, not a GREAT one....., 14 May 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birthright (Hardcover)
I must admit to having being spoilt by Ms.Roberts excellent recent books - Three Fates and Chesapeake Blue to name two. Here I feel that the standard has dropped somewhat - that's not to say it was'nt good - it just was'nt great and that is what I've come to expect from this consistently talented author.
The book had too many plotlines going on all at once for me - there was Callie the archeologist on an exciting dig, meeting up with ex-hubby Jake on the site, finding out she was adopted, dealing with her adoptive parents who had never told her this news, meeting her birth mother and her brother, brothers susequent relationship with the lawyer Callie hires to find out her past - she was stolen and sold as a black market baby - and then the murders start.......... I'm exhausted just trying to remember it all.
As a result of all this, the characters personalities were under-developed and it was harder to get "into" the storyline, the supporting players who normally provide good back-drop and suspects for all the murder and mayhem barely left an impression and so when the "final curtain" came it was all a bit anti-climatic....
Having said all that, it did hold the interest to the end and if it were a first novel by anyone else it would be a 5 star..... it's just not vintage Nora.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly Astute, 19 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Birthright (Paperback)
The heroine, Callie, is a strong independent woman, and an amazing archaeological find throws her together with her 'ex'-husband, Jake. Nora Roberts weaves her story around these two individuals surrounding them with murder, mystery and romance. For someone who is lucky enough to have never been personally affected by a child kidnapping it was a real eye opener. The whole situation is dealt with extremely well allowing the reader to experience the range of emotions, from the birth family to the adopted family and of course the 'child' in the middle. If this is the first Nora Roberts book you read, I don't feel this book is quite the same as her other books which tend to be more involved with Irish legends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birthright, 3 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Birthright (Paperback)
I think this is a great new Nora Roberts romantic suspense title. I loved the heroine gradually uncovering the hidden secrets in her family background. And the well-researched archaelogical setting really interesting and was a first from Nora, I thought. This is a carefully plotted story with Nora's usual good strong characters and I enjoyed it a lot. I felt it covered new ground. But usually Nora's new novels do that anyway. Highly recommended and an exciting and romantic read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birthright (Kindle Edition)
Excellent story line. Threw up a lot of questions and possible answers. The main characters were almost as good as Eve and Roarke (see In Death by JDRobb)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow what a story, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birthright (Kindle Edition)
Sexy , but subtle rather than brutally explicit. Loving rather than just shockingly graphic. I couldn't put it down and became difficult to live with here at home. This was my first Nora Robert book and am delighted to find there are so many more - yippee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well written cobblers, 24 July 2010
This review is from: Birthright (Paperback)
"(A)brasive, verging on rude..." is how another reviewer described the heroine and, frankly, I think she was being kind. I didn't like Callie at all --she is so up herself it is not true --yet we are supposed to believe everyone adores her including her ex-husband who salivates whenever she walks in a room. Oh, puh-leeze! It reads like wish fullfilment on the authors part. Dream on Nora! Nobody would fancy this self-obsessed berk never mind adore!

The dialogue is snappy and it is a complex tale. That's the plus side. On the negative, the plot bears no examination. It is preposterous to be honest and were it not for a convenient series of coincidences it wouldn't even get off the ground.

It's a well-written no brainer - so if you can switch yours off then read and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chinese take-away?, 11 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Birthright (Paperback)
Nora Roberts' novels remind me of Chinese take-away meals...you look forward to them all day, they're very tasty and easy to digest...but a couple of hours later you're hungry again.
But that doesn't stop you going through the same thing the following weekend.
I LOVE Nora Roberts and I've read a lot of her books. All of the plots are roughly similar, but there's nothing wrong with that. They're all enjoyable, well written, fun, exciting and don't take themselves too seriously.
If you're looking for something to read whilst in the bath with a glass of wine, or in a cosy armchair with a chocolate bar and cup of tea, then this is the author for you. It doesn't have to be this title, it could be any of hers.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars birtright. you not be abll, 1 July 2014
This review is from: Birthright (Paperback)
great story it as everything love murder intrigue compassion you will not be able to put the book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Birthright, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Birthright (Kindle Edition)
This was a great read loads of twist and turns just when you think you have the answer off it goes again . Great job
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Birthright (Roberts, Nora)
Birthright (Roberts, Nora) by Nora Roberts (Hardcover - April 2003)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews