Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ms Roberts does it again.
This one could have been a tough one for Ms. Roberts - after the truly excellent Chesapeake Bay trilogy, Seaswept, Rising Tides and Inner Harbour, she was "plagued" by fans to write Seth's story.
I was looking forward to reading it, as well as having some trepidation as to what I would find - it has been known for only two out of three books to be good in a trilogy (...
Published on 26 Dec. 2002

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Closure for the Quinns
I couldn't wait for the final story of the Quinns after having read the first three books in a haphazard order. In my opinion, this was the least romantic of the three stories. What I ultimately love about Nora Robert's books is the underlining love story, that are typically romantic if not predictable. But...I didn't like Drusilla's character at all, a first out of the...
Published on 28 Oct. 2003


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ms Roberts does it again., 26 Dec. 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This one could have been a tough one for Ms. Roberts - after the truly excellent Chesapeake Bay trilogy, Seaswept, Rising Tides and Inner Harbour, she was "plagued" by fans to write Seth's story.
I was looking forward to reading it, as well as having some trepidation as to what I would find - it has been known for only two out of three books to be good in a trilogy ( Three Sister's Island ) and I so did not want the set ruined with a below par fourth.
I need'nt have worried. Right from the start the book grabbed the attention and did'nt let go to the last page. It all felt so fresh and yet it was like re-visiting old friends. I must admit half the reason for buying the hardback was I could'nt wait to catch up with Cam & Anna, Ethan & Grace and Phillip & Sybil. Ms.Roberts did'nt disappoint. As well as all the "catching-up" there was Seth's story as an adult and the conclusion to some loose ends that had been left from the trilogy. Sorry, to say more would give things away.
If you have'nt read the trilogy then this book might leave you "lost" as there are many references to events and humour carried through from the first three - but if you have read them it makes it all the more richer.
Wonderful. Funny. Endearing. Moving. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ms Roberts does it again., 12 Oct. 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This one could have been a tough one for Ms. Roberts - after the truly excellent Chesapeake Bay trilogy, Seaswept, Rising Tides and Inner Harbour, she was "plagued" by fans to write Seth's story.
I was looking forward to reading it, as well as having some trepidation as to what I would find - it has been known for only two out of three books to be good in a trilogy ( Three Sister's Island ) and I so did not want the set ruined with a below par fourth.
I need'nt have worried. Right from the start the book grabbed the attention and did'nt let go to the last page. It all felt so fresh and yet it was like re-visiting old friends. I must admit half the reason for buying the hardback was I could'nt wait to catch up with Cam & Anna, Ethan & Grace and Phillip & Sybil. Ms.Roberts did'nt disappoint. As well as all the "catching-up" there was Seth's story as an adult and the conclusion to some loose ends that had been left from the trilogy. Sorry, to say more would give things away.
If you have'nt read the trilogy then this book might leave you "lost" as there are many references to events and humour carried through from the first three - but if you have read them it makes it all the more richer.
Wonderful. Funny. Endearing. Moving. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another winner, 7 July 2003
By 
I have read at least 50 of Nora Robert's books and I waited eagerly for this story about Seth. It was nice to be able to visit the bay again and to catch up with the three brothers and their families. She seems to enjoy lively, large and energetic families. The plots rarely vary from single & eminently eligible boy meets beautiful girl, some minor delay then happy ever after. That said, the winning combination of Nora Roberts knowledge of so many professions, so beautifully written makes it fantastic escape reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another wonderful Quinn Family story, 16 July 2003
By 
Mrs. J. W. Long "jwljwl" (Aldworth, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was so pleased that Nora Roberts finally wrote Seths story, it is as well told and interesting and Cameron, Ethan, and Phillip's. Up until this I had decided that Phillip was my favourite 'Quinn' but I think Seth has usuped his position. Cameron, Ethan and Phillip had raised Seth when the father who had adopted them died leaving them instructions to continue to raise Seth his grandson who he saved from his dreadful mother Gloria by buying him from her when Seth was 10 years old an abused child who trusted no one. They did a great job and now as a rich and famous artist who has been living in Europe (to keep Gloria away from his family) he has decide it is safe to come back home to the bay which he has missed so badly. Just home and buying flowers for all the women in his family, he meets Druscilla; who has escaped to St. Christopher from Washington and her political mother, father and ex-fiancee to open a flower shop and buy herself her own home by the sea looking for peace and tranquillity. The sparks fly between them but they are destined to be soulmates despite many things, especially the ghastly Gloria which could stop them. I thought when I started to read this book it would complete the Quinn family saga but now we need to know Aubrey, Jakes and the rest of the offsping of Cam, Ethan and Phillip's stories. This book is another wonderful Quinn family story and leaves you wanting more, so let us hope Nora Roberts will continue with this family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic end to a great family saga!, 16 July 2003
By 
This is the fourth and final book in the Quinns series. Having read the other three books i was really looking forward to this novel about Seth and i wasn't disappointed.
In this book we find seth all grown up and a successful artist in europe yet he yearns to be home with his family and so returns. Here we find the families of Philip, Ethan and cameron to have developed and grown (including aub.)all happy to see the return of the prodigal son. Yet even though everything seems well the past always comes back to haunt seth and the Quinns in one way or another. Along the way as with most Nora books romance is included with a quiet florist.
Chesapeake Blue is typical Nora and is a great read. If you have never read Nora Roberts before you must read the initial three books (sea swept, inner harbor). On the whole a must read for Nora fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ah, Seth done grew up!, 7 Nov. 2007
By 
handstands "jazzypom" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
It was nice seeing Seth again, the last of the adopted Quinn brothers. We find him in this stage of life being a celebrated artist, and after doing the grand tour of Europe, he comes back to home and hearth in Chesapeake. Of course, being Ms. Roberts, things aren't so simple, his Mother is on his tail, and he's gotten romantically involved with the prickly business owner of the local flower shop, Drucilla.

Yes, the romance between Drucilla and himself is vintage Nora Roberts. There are the shocks of lust and the tremors of need before the inevitable. The romance was all of sweet and tart at once, but that wasn't the best part of the story.

The best part of the story was seeing Seth and his grown up relationship with his brothers. The bond between Cameron and himself was touching to see, and felt very sincere. Especially when he implies that Cameron was his dad, and Spinelli his mom. Bonds of the heart, indeed. Ethan, Philip and their ladies do have cameos, and it was just nice to see a portrait of a rowdy extended family, more to do with bonds than accident of birth. Ms. Roberts writes the happy family well.

If you've read the other three books (this writer liked Cameron and Ethan's story, but didn't like Philip's own too much), you should read this one. It's a nice visit to a familiar world, and you got to hang out with some old friends, see some new memories (grandma) and shed a few. The romance was a nice touch, and am glad to see that Seth got what he wanted and needed. But it's even better to see the sort of man that Seth has grown up into. Man, I feel old. I read the originals when they first came out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Closure for the Quinns, 28 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
I couldn't wait for the final story of the Quinns after having read the first three books in a haphazard order. In my opinion, this was the least romantic of the three stories. What I ultimately love about Nora Robert's books is the underlining love story, that are typically romantic if not predictable. But...I didn't like Drusilla's character at all, a first out of the Robert's books I have read. This was disappointing. On the positive, it was great to hear Seth's story. Probably the only Robert's book I wouldn't re-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sadly, last in series, 4 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the 4th in the quartet about the Quinn family. Seth the cocky arrogant and abused little boy who was desperately frightened at the beginning of the series has now become a successful artist. Is he a credit to the three older Quinns? Are they proud of him? This story tells of his attempts to deal with his abusive and manipulative mother and his attempts to protect his new family from her. It is sad at times but also very rich in family detail. The saying in the series "if you mess with one Quinn you mess with them all" is shown clearly. I would also say "if you read about one Quinn you need to read about them all" I loved this quartette and am only sorry to say goodbye to the Quinns. Well worth reading all 4. I would advise to begin with Sea Swept and read in order to get full benefit of the lovely story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars entertaining read, 5 May 2012
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Chesapeake Blue is the fourth of the Chesapeake Bay series by Nora Roberts. It is the story of Seth Quinn, who as a ten-year-old , was bought from his mother (Ray's estranged daughter, Gloria deLauter) by Ray Quinn and raised by Ray's adopted sons, Cam, Ethan and Phil. After years of promoting his art around the continent, Seth Quinn wants to come home to St Christopher, to the security of the place he grew up in. When he arrives, he meets Drusilla Whitcomb Banks, granddaughter of a Senator, who has come to St Chris to get away from life in Washington and the stifling demands of her parents. She's running a flower shop and loving it, and Seth wants to paint her, and more. But everyone has secrets in their past, and Seth's is insisting on turning up like a bad penny, threatening everything he holds dear. Is there any way someone as sophisticated as Dru can be with someone like Seth with his history? Is Seth underestimating Drusilla's strength? Has Seth forgotten he is a Quinn, and Quinns stand together? This final chapter in the Chesapeake Bay series will please fans who wanted to know how Seth turned out. Roberts knows how to create characters to love and hate, and a plot that is original. An entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best in the series, 28 Jun. 2010
By 
Sian Louise (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The 4th and last in the Chesapeake series.
This is definately the best in the series.
I couldnt wait to pick this one up. I loved the others but this was definately the best.

This book is 18 years later after the Quinn brothers take him in etc.
Overall Seth has grown in a typical male, he has got a good life and career, is happy...except for one thing, his interferring birth mother who keeps coming back and blackmailing him. What an evil piece of work she is as well.
But this just made the story more interesting. Dru was brilliant, she was very likeable and definately the right one for Seth. It also centred around the whole of the Quinn family and all of their children. I loved the update on everyone and made the whole book more enjoyable.

Again a definate must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chesapeake Blue (Quinn Brothers)
Chesapeake Blue (Quinn Brothers) by Nora Roberts (Hardcover - 1 Nov. 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews