Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dont buy the kindle version!
I bought this book to get an introduction to the enneagram, and was a bit nervous in case it turned out to be new age faff. In the end, I loved it, and have become fascinated by the enneagram as a tool for self-awareness and development, as well as for developing empathy and compassion for others. The only reason why I have not given 5 stars is because the Kindle version...
Published on 11 Jan 2012 by andyinrome

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kindle Edition
The kindle version was hard to use, as it needed constant reference to different sections, which I found hard. I have the actual book which is good.
Published 16 months ago by David Goldberg


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dont buy the kindle version!, 11 Jan 2012
This review is from: Personality Types: Using the Enneagram for Self-Discovery (Paperback)
I bought this book to get an introduction to the enneagram, and was a bit nervous in case it turned out to be new age faff. In the end, I loved it, and have become fascinated by the enneagram as a tool for self-awareness and development, as well as for developing empathy and compassion for others. The only reason why I have not given 5 stars is because the Kindle version contains several important charts on the characteristics of the various types which are written in such small print that I couldn't read them (and the 'change type size' option doesn't work either on these charts, for some reason), so I ended up having to buy a magnifying glass! It would have cost me much less money and eye-strain to have bought the paperback, so I would advise all prospective buyers to avoid the Kindle version until they rectify this problem .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars innovative and detailed, 2 Dec 2007
This review is from: Personality Types: Using the Enneagram for Self-Discovery (Paperback)
Don Riso is one of the key figures and innovators in the field of Enneagram studies. This is not the first of his books (and here he has partnered with Russ Hudson), nor is it the most recent, but it does represent refinement and improvement over his earlier works. There are several other authors who have written books on the Enneagram, but I don't think anyone else has done it as well. Riso is a highly articulate guy who doesn't sugar coat things, and reading his descriptions of personality types such as the average or unhealthy three is a bit unsettling. I'd say he has, for better or worse, great insight into human nature. A minor criticism is that I disagree with his classification of certain famous people, although in most cases he seems to get it right. Anyone interested in personality and human behavior in general will find this a fascinating read. Author of Adjust Your Brain: A Practical Theory for Maximizing Mental Health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Levels of development add a welcome new dimension, 14 Nov 2009
By 
D. Griffiths (Dorset U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Personality Types: Using the Enneagram for Self-Discovery (Paperback)
An excellent development of the enneagram idea. I liked the levels of development concepts which give a new dimension to the well known enneagram personality types plan. It must of course be noted that these are 'generalised concepts', i.e. there is no 100% scientific psychological proof for the details of such levels, so they should be taken as guidance, not some sort of medical assessment chart. But that said, their main principle of healthy, average and unhealthy states for each personnality type adds a well deserved new perspective which I found very realistic, insightful and very good for working on myself with. These helped me confirm with more certainty which type I was, and what might be happening when I encounter stressfull situations which the standard books simple 'lump all together' for each type. A great help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting reading, 2 Dec 2013
By 
J. Hammond (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Personality Types: Using the Enneagram for Self-Discovery (Paperback)
The books on the Enneagram by don Richard Riso and his writing partner, Russ Hudson, are clear, concise, informative and easy to read. The content is excellent, and I would recommend all their books on the enneagram.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who am I?, 8 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. Philip R. Hyne (Gloucestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Personality Types: Using the Enneagram for Self-Discovery (Paperback)
I've tried all sorts of personality tests and this is an excellent method to use. Very clear and full descriptions of all types under the test with a clarity of purpose. Not every word in each explanation will necessarily apply but you'll see yourself in a new way if you treat it with respect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kindle Edition, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Personality Types: Using the Enneagram for Self-Discovery (Paperback)
The kindle version was hard to use, as it needed constant reference to different sections, which I found hard. I have the actual book which is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars personality types, 22 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. Robert Marsland (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Personality Types: Using the Enneagram for Self-Discovery (Paperback)
Dividing people into nine types: 1 - the reformer, 2 - the helper, 3 - the status seeker, 4 - the artist, 5 - the thinker, 6 - the loyalist, 7 - the generalist, 8 - the leader, 9 - the peacemaker; as a means of categorising your personality Riso describes the positive and negative aspects of each type. Interesting and perhaps enlightening about one's personality, but not perhaps comprehensively so, it describes how we meet the world and negotiate our way through it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very interesting book. Once you start reading about your own personality type, you won't be able to stop. Full of very useful information not just for yourself but to better relate to other people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, but index poor, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The index only gives chapter numbers, so it's really hard to find what you want! But the book content is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Personality Types: Using the Enneagram for Self-Discovery (Paperback)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Personality Types: Using the Enneagram for Self-Discovery
Personality Types: Using the Enneagram for Self-Discovery by Don Richard Riso (Paperback - 29 Oct 1996)
£10.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews