Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For Children and Adults too, 6 July 2008
By 
Lincs Reader (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Number the Stars (Paperback)
'Number The Stars' is aimed at readers aged 8 to 12 years, although a children's book, it is still a very enjoyable read.

Annemarie's life in Nazi occupied Copenhagen has been fun but is becoming very complicated. The story is written as Annemarie sees things - it is a simple, yet very effective story of how the Danish Resistance managed to smuggle amongst all the Jewish population across to Sweden.

The plot is absorbing and there is a definate sense of the pride of the Danes even whilst their small country is being terrorised by the Nazis.

The story of the strong and deep friendship between Annemarie and Ellen is the backbone of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read for children and adults, 17 Nov 2009
This review is from: Number the Stars (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading this book, I found it both touching and enlightening. It gave me great insight into the experience of the Danes during Nazi occupation, particularly how brave they were as a nation which led to them saving thousands of jewish lives. A must read for children and adults alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Number the Stars, 6 Nov 2002
By A Customer
I found this book truly moving and have read it again and again as a child and an adult. Lowry deals with the subject of bravery at different levels in a way that is easy to grasp and her characters are easy to identify with giving the book more depth. She deals with a very serious subject without being melodramatic and writes a fantastic explanation at the end of the book explaining how much is fact and how much is fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars number the stars, 11 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Number the Stars (Paperback)
The title isn't much help in defining the story. I bought this on spec, for my 14 years old granddaughter, who has a Danish mother. I though as it was set I Denmark they both would be interested. As yet neither have read it, but I have and thoroughly enjoyed it, as it tells the story of the 1939-1945 war years and how a Jewish family were saved from the occupying Nazis. A gentle introduction to the regime of racial purity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memorable, 13 Jun 2014
By 
Paula Mc (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Number the Stars (Kindle Edition)
I bought 'Number the Stars' after I read 'The Giver'. I enjoyed 'Number the Stars', it was a interesting read and it shows the strength that people find when face with the unimaginable.

Annemarie and Marie's friendship is the most important of the story as they live with war while their parents protect them as best they can.

A well written story, interesting and memorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars early introduction to the holocaust. suitable for young readers., 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Number the Stars (Kindle Edition)
This is a great introduction to nazi occupations,deportation of Jewish people during the war, for children as young as eight. It does not delve into the true horrors it the holocaust but is a good starting block for setting the tone for further investigation.
It is quite short and I read it in an evening on the kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful story to read and read again, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Number the Stars (Kindle Edition)
A wonderful enlightening story makes me want to find out more about this period in Denmark it is suitable both for children but equally for adults
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Number the Stars (Kindle Edition)
Read in one go - suitable for 10+ but also enjoyable for adults. Moves along quickly. Learnt more about WW2 in Denmark
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Number the Stars is a charming book for adults not just for children., 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Number the Stars (Kindle Edition)
A charming book, very well written. Like the book, 'The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas' it is an excellent way to teach children about the Holocaust. But it is also contains very interesting history facts for adults too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Number the stars, 24 Jan 2013
This review is from: Number the Stars (Kindle Edition)
Loved the book.... it was great.... I would recommend this book to people that like adventure and fictional history. 4 out of 5 I would give it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Number the Stars
Number the Stars by Lois Lowry (Hardcover - 24 April 1989)
Used & New from: £0.15
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews