Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars13
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 February 2005
Shoeless joe is a finely woven tale of passion, dreams and redemption. The theme of baseball is merely a backdrop for a magical glimpse of life and american culture the author Kinsella uses to to portray the life of iowa farmer ray kinsella, who upon hearing the omninous voice of a baseball announcer is inspired to build a baseball field on his farm. A fine sub-plot involving reclusive american author J.D Salinger and past baseball greats kinsella threads these together to create a story with elements of the cosmic,intrigue, humour and tender human emotion, without divulging the reader with foreign baseball technicalities and jargon. An original and beautfully written book. Well recommended.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2004
Alot of you will know of this book as a result of the Kevin Costner film 'Field of Dreams' and it is worth reading this book even just to compare the two. Kinsella's novel captures the same magic that is contained in the movie and shows a real passion for baseball's place in American culture over the last 100+ years. The book is written well, but there are points at which Kinsella doesn't go into enough detail, the most obvious example is the first page! but this may be due to the fact that I saw the movie first. This book is definetely a worthwhile read whether you are a baseball fan or not because it doesn't contain much baseball terminology that some baseball books can go over the top with. This is also a fascinating read for anyone who is interested in 20th century American culture. The inclusion of JD Salinger is one of the most interesting concepts in the book, because in real life he was a famously reclusive figure.
Really good read, but not a great novel of american literature
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2012
I read this book because Field of Dreams is my favourite film and I wanted to know of the book was better than the film. It was. I loved the book, loved the added depth to the characters and the beautiful language used. Just magical.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2010
This is a lovely book, not quite the same story as the film that was based on the book, "Field of Dreams", it is a much better story. Well written and magical.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2012
I loved "Field of Dreams" (the movie) and I loved this book.
Whilst they are both similar in plot,they really are two different stories in their own right,and stand alone from one another.
To paraphrase Harold Polsky's great review of this book (which I can't outdo);
" It's about life. It's about dreams and realities. It's about injustice and redemption. But most of all, it's about love and family."

P.S. And I'm not a big fan of Baseball,either.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2009
this book is actually better than the movie ,i implore you to read this book
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
Shoeless Joe is a book about Life, Dreams and Baseball
This book was made into the film " A Field Of Dreams"
The book differs very slightly from the film and gives the reader a more in depth insight into life's of the people portrayed and of the Dreams and Hopes
Worth a read
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2008
basic premise the same as field of dream "build ita nd he will come" but don't expect doc graham and also you see a lot more of family characters not featured in the film. Nice idea but a little disappointing after it being such a great film.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
Good read & value,The film Field of Dreams (Kevin Costner )was based on this.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2015
Lovely, comfy read. Well worth it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.