Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for LOTR Freaks
I bought this for my ten-year old son, who is reading the LOTR trilogy after thoroughly enjoying the films. He is finding it an excellent reference work to accompany the book and is enjoying looking things up in it.
Published on 23 Jun 2004

versus
29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Want to know about Tolkien's languages? Don't buy this Book!
Having started to learn elvish and some of tolkiens other languages, I bought this book. At first I thought it was fantastic, but now that I've read more into it, there are a lot of inaccuracies, and I don't feel the author has used the texts written by Tolkien to their full potential. If you are looking to learn elvish/Tolkiens languages, try Jim allen's introduction to...
Published on 22 July 2003 by tangolima


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Want to know about Tolkien's languages? Don't buy this Book!, 22 July 2003
This review is from: Languages of Tolkien's Middle-earth (Paperback)
Having started to learn elvish and some of tolkiens other languages, I bought this book. At first I thought it was fantastic, but now that I've read more into it, there are a lot of inaccuracies, and I don't feel the author has used the texts written by Tolkien to their full potential. If you are looking to learn elvish/Tolkiens languages, try Jim allen's introduction to elvish. Its a little heavy going but very comprehensive.
In short,if you are really looking to learn about tolkiens languages, don't waste your money on this book- there are better resources out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy and informative, 6 Dec 2003
This review is from: Languages of Tolkien's Middle-earth (Paperback)
If you are intrested in the subject and want to know more about it, this book is very nice to start with. The writer doesn't expect you to have any foreknowledge, exept that you have read Tolkien's 'The Lord of the Rings'.
After you have read it, you have some background information and some base-luggage before you start studying more comprehensive and hard-to-read works like 'An introduction to elvish'.
But if you are a somewhat more studied into the subject, like me and some of my co-rewriters, you'll find that it contains lots of inaccuracies. It is quite incomplete and more then sometimes incorrect.
But still I recommend it to those who're just starting their study as an enrichment of their base-knowledge. But it's absolutely useless and even misleading as a reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Outdated, 26 Sep 2003
This review is from: Languages of Tolkien's Middle-earth (Paperback)
As a long time student of Quenya, one of Tolkien's Invented Languages, I have come across The Languages of Tolkien's Middle-Earth quite often, and almost never in a positive way. Much of the information on Quenya (I am not expert enough on the other languages to judge those parts) is incomplete and outdated. This is not necessariy a fault of the writer, but it does make this book a bad companion for beginning students of Quenya.
I would never recommend this book to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for LOTR Freaks, 23 Jun 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Languages of Tolkien's Middle-earth (Paperback)
I bought this for my ten-year old son, who is reading the LOTR trilogy after thoroughly enjoying the films. He is finding it an excellent reference work to accompany the book and is enjoying looking things up in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Tolkien Fan, 1 July 2014
By 
Mr. JW Mowat (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Languages of Tolkien's Middle-earth (Paperback)
Another book on the languages that Tolkien created so I now have two such dictionaries to compare! We will see which I end up preferring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and enjoyable, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Languages of Tolkien's Middle-earth (Paperback)
I have always had a fascination with languages, and Lord of the Rings in particular. This book is simply written but not so simple that it is boring. It contains details about the various languages that Tolkein created including Elvish, Dwarvish and even some hobbit words! I found this book fun to read and learnt a fair bit from it. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is unsure whether to learn any elvish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong, erroneous, misleading, 30 April 2014
This review is from: Languages of Tolkien's Middle-earth (Paperback)
This book should be ignored. It is totally outdated and full of errors. The author does not even understand the difference between Quenya and Sindarin.
For details, see e.g.[...]
For a list of reliable sources, see [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing., 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Languages of Tolkien's Middle-earth (Paperback)
Just, wow, really, really amazing. If you like elves, Tolkien, or are looking to try and write your own language, this book really does help. It pulls together all the information he left behind and then tries to cover as many of the gaps as it can. A really good book, both in feel (physically) and in reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Could be more Elvish, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Languages of Tolkien's Middle-earth (Paperback)
Me and my friend are big Tolkien worshippers and I bought this to show off my Elvish, It did work but there could be more in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Languages of Tolkien's Middle-earth (Paperback)
Good, but it cant teach all Tolkiens Languages and fokuses mostly on elvish Quenya and Sindarin. So if you want to learn the Ent language, dont buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Languages of Tolkien's Middle-earth
Languages of Tolkien's Middle-earth by Ruth S. Noel (Paperback - 28 May 1980)
9.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews