Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wish I'd read him earlier
This was my first introduction to JB. I raced through the entire book in about 2 days and have re-read my favourites many times over since then.

Maybe it's because his views coincide with my own in so many ways, maybe the language he uses, maybe I'm just nostalgic for the rose-tinted past, but something in his writing is absolutely captivating.

I...
Published on 15 Nov. 2006 by Robin Johnston

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant value
This collection covers so many topics. The writing is sensitive, funny, moving, memorable and wonderfully readable. I am delighted with it.
Published 17 months ago by Christine Sexton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars JB fan, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Allways happy to read again and again. There is so much intensity and reality in his work that shows a very individual tallent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful reading, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great to have Betjeman's poems on my kindle. Had not read his poems for years (since school days). Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars And talks of Marx and nuclear fission With all a rustic's intuition, 2 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love him. there are some very clever poems in this anthology. You can read them as fun or read then in depth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not much to say - the poems are wonderful and you can read them easily!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 30 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Difficult to navigate on kindle but wonderfully enjoyable poetry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Betjeman' poems., 27 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Comprehensive and great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great book of poetry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars john betjeman collected poems, 22 Feb. 2010
This book was delivered as promised.
I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Betjeman. I find it delightful to browse and relax in the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant value, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This collection covers so many topics. The writing is sensitive, funny, moving, memorable and wonderfully readable. I am delighted with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collected poems
Collected poems by John Betjeman (Hardcover - 1971)
Used & New from: £16.36
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews