Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wish I'd read him earlier
This was my first introduction to JB. I raced through the entire book in about 2 days and have re-read my favourites many times over since then.

Maybe it's because his views coincide with my own in so many ways, maybe the language he uses, maybe I'm just nostalgic for the rose-tinted past, but something in his writing is absolutely captivating.

I...
Published on 15 Nov 2006 by Robin Johnston

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant value
This collection covers so many topics. The writing is sensitive, funny, moving, memorable and wonderfully readable. I am delighted with it.
Published 12 months ago by Christine Sexton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars JB fan, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Allways happy to read again and again. There is so much intensity and reality in his work that shows a very individual tallent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Betjeman Poems, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another fit of nostalgia! Haven't read Betjeman since school (50 years ago) so it was a pleasant poetic trip down memory lane to reread many and to read others for the first time. It now has joined my other cherished books on my bookshelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have not ready many of Betjemans poems so I wasn't sure how this book would go for me. I was not disappointed. A walk through an earlier age! I will be moving to warmer climes soon and this book will be the perfect companion for me whenever I need a bit of nostalgia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful reading, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great to have Betjeman's poems on my kindle. Had not read his poems for years (since school days). Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Betjeman Collected Poems, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I gave this book to my mother and she's enjoying it tremendously. We read a few poems together when I lasta spent time with her and found it enchanting...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A worthwhile Collection!, 4 Mar 2013
By 
A. Northcote "Al Northcote" (Durham, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an ideal collection for the poetry fan, the Betjeman fan, or for anyone who wants a comprehensive introduction to John Betjeman. Well arranged, excellent coverage of his work, and the poems simply speak for themselves!
Can certainly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good selection, 13 Feb 2013
By 
zenstitcher (Northants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I haven't finished reading this yet, but from the index it would appear to have a very good overall selection of poems from the late, great John Betjeman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bet That Betjeman's The Best!, 17 Nov 2012
By 
D. H. Rose "Rosey" (NW England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought the Kindle version of this book and I couldn't put it down! I find his style to be in my taste of what poetry should be, nothing too deep and self/soul searching! Something that is easy AND amusing to read!
I'm not going to pick a favourite poem as we all have our own tastes!
Well worth the money, a real page turner or, in my case, "a real Kindle Clicker!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Betjeman collected poems, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All that I expected and more, this book gives a comprehensive insight into the works of Betjeman as well as a resume of his life, memories of a long gone era when things were definitely slower, the summers full of sunshine, people with character and most of all the architecture. His memory lasts on with his amazing bid to save Victorian gothic architecture, particularly St Pancras Railway Station, a place to visit in it's own right, no destination required, with the immortal statue of a man that saw so much of quintessential England and it's people that we miss nowadays in our busy lives, a must read for young and old, nostalgia and history. *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars America needs a Betjeman, 11 Jan 2002
By 
Stephen Constantelos "sbconstant" (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collected Poems (Paperback)
A preservationist in (usually) the best sense--in architecture, poetry forms, landscapes, humour, the heart--Sir John Betjeman inspired a large following in the UK and maybe 2-3 in the USA. More 'verse' than 'poetry' as he characteristically self-effacingly called the contents of this volume, his work still holds a lot of charm and power. 'Middlesex' perhaps encapsualtes him best...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collected poems
Collected poems by John Betjeman (Hardcover - 1971)
Used & New from: £7.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews