Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grimm meets Hans Andersen meets Anthony Browne
At first, there doesn't seem to be much to the plot or depth of the story but like most of Anthony Browne's books, you will find something new every time you look at it that you haven't noticed before.

The story is about two siblings with gender stereotypical personalities and their attempt to resolve their differences by their mother's insistence. Their...
Published on 10 May 2011 by Celia B

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lovely book for teaching adventure stories in year 3
Recently used this book to teach adventure/mystery stories to year 3 class. Children loved the characters (brother and sister) as well as the mysterious aspect of what happened to Jack. Great for drama!
Published on 7 Dec. 2008 by Lori


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grimm meets Hans Andersen meets Anthony Browne, 10 May 2011
This review is from: The Tunnel (Paperback)
At first, there doesn't seem to be much to the plot or depth of the story but like most of Anthony Browne's books, you will find something new every time you look at it that you haven't noticed before.

The story is about two siblings with gender stereotypical personalities and their attempt to resolve their differences by their mother's insistence. Their relation with one another change through a series of strange events.

Clearly inspired by well known fairy tales,the illustrations are dark and rich in symbolism. The sequence of events from the climatic point of the story also reminded me of a famous Hans Andersen story but I shall not reveal it here for those who wish to read this gem of a book.

Like all of Anthony Browne's books, the value is in looking over it again and discussing its deeper meaning and empathy with its characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Tunnel Review by Class 3, 21 Mar. 2011
This review is from: The Tunnel (Paperback)
We used this book when we were learning about adventure stories. We enjoyed this story because the characters were interesting and the pictures gave us lots of detail and were very imaginative.

The story is about 2 siblings who are not at all alike. The brother plays football and likes getting dirty while the sister likes reading about goblins and witches.

One day their mother tells them to go outside together and be nice to each other for once.

Jack finds a dark, gloomy tunnel and dashed through while Rose couldn't decide whether to go through or not. She was close to tears.

We really liked this book and think other children around the world should read it. It is a good book for 4-8 year olds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A-MAZ-ING!, 1 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tunnel (Paperback)
Lovely story, great illustrations.
I used in my 'adventure stories' literacy unit, and although the some of the language is a little 'old fashioned', the children loved the plot and characters.
Would recommend this book :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lovely book for teaching adventure stories in year 3, 7 Dec. 2008
By 
This review is from: The Tunnel (Paperback)
Recently used this book to teach adventure/mystery stories to year 3 class. Children loved the characters (brother and sister) as well as the mysterious aspect of what happened to Jack. Great for drama!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the tunnel, 12 April 2011
This review is from: The Tunnel (Paperback)
An excellent book for all ages. The story is told through the eyes of two children, but with plenty of scope for inference and own interpretation. The illustrations of the trees are fantastic and you can find something new every time you look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Tunnel by Anthony Browne, 20 May 2010
By 
L. Putt "day dreamer" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tunnel (Paperback)
I bought this book for my class as part of looking at adventure stories for Literacy . At first i didn't like it; the pictures seemed rather dark and frightening but after really looking at the pictures i began to see more and the children loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource, 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tunnel (Paperback)
Great! used this book as a starting place for Year three children - thinking about dilemas - lots of discussion and predictions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 11 July 2010
By 
This review is from: The Tunnel (Paperback)
A very efficient delivery service. I used this for Literacy lessons with my Year 3 class and they loved it. They were fascinated when I read the story to them and I could hear a pin drop as they waited to find out what was through the tunnel. Lots of discussion about feelings. A brilliant book as always by Anthony Browne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The tunnel. Anthony Browne, 2 Feb. 2009
By 
A. P. Pous - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tunnel (Paperback)
I bought this book for my children ( 5 and 6 years old). I think it's a very nice book, the meaning of the story between the brother and the sister it's very nice. The pictures of the book are amazing, by only watching the pictures you can guess the feelings of the children. My kids love it and me too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely book, well written and beautiful illustrations, 25 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tunnel (Paperback)
i use this book at work with children, and they love imagining whats through the tunnel. good for eal students as well as children who enjoy a good book. anthony brownes illustrations are mesmerising as ever..a classic modern day kids book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tunnel
The Tunnel by Anthony Browne (Hardcover - Feb. 1990)
Used & New from: £15.88
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews