Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well translated, nicely presented book
It is surprisingly difficult to find dual language books for children that are authentically and lovingly translated.Given the added fact that Dr Seuss books are reknown for their clever ryhmes, I think the publishers of this book have really succeeeded. The verse does work in French and is as close to the original as it could be whilst still retaining its flow. The...
Published on 27 Dec 2011 by stefjaner@hotmail.com

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but...
... it's a literal translation into French - it doesn't rhyme or scan. So it's great for learning the words but not as much fun as the English.
Published on 7 Nov 2011 by Mikki


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well translated, nicely presented book, 27 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Cat in the Hat/Le Chat Au Chapeau (Beginner Book) (Hardcover)
It is surprisingly difficult to find dual language books for children that are authentically and lovingly translated.Given the added fact that Dr Seuss books are reknown for their clever ryhmes, I think the publishers of this book have really succeeeded. The verse does work in French and is as close to the original as it could be whilst still retaining its flow. The pictures and text are well presented and the book itself is an attractive addition to any bookshelf. The story itself is, as you would expect from the writer, fast-paced, fun and anarchic. I find myself wishing that some more of the Dr Seuss books were available in bilingual editions to form a collection.I would certainly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but..., 7 Nov 2011
By 
Mikki (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cat in the Hat/Le Chat Au Chapeau (Beginner Book) (Hardcover)
... it's a literal translation into French - it doesn't rhyme or scan. So it's great for learning the words but not as much fun as the English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book and a fab translation., 8 April 2010
This review is from: The Cat in the Hat/Le Chat Au Chapeau (Beginner Book) (Hardcover)
Read this to my four year - it is dual language on each page - and he was in stitches with laughter. It is a great book in English and it is a great translation for capturing the poetry of the story in French too. Really pleased with my purchase and it arrived very quickly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not colourful enough, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cat in the Hat/Le Chat Au Chapeau (Beginner Book) (Hardcover)
I got this book for Christmas for my daughter however it arrived after Christmas so she had it for her 3rd birthday.
It is a good story unfortunately the pictures aren't colourful enough and my daughter doesn't find it attractive.
However I would recommend this book as it is one of the rare books I could find with a proper bilingual french/english story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Cat in the Hat, 21 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cat in the Hat/Le Chat Au Chapeau (Beginner Book) (Hardcover)
Good quality book with clear words. Great for children learning french. Recommended for those learning french. Children aged 10-14 might enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The cat in the hat. Dr Seuss, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cat in the Hat/Le Chat Au Chapeau (Beginner Book) (Hardcover)
A classic book that bilingual kids or/and French learners love; they always it is the one of many that i use for all to enjoy, and it works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Try it, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cat in the Hat/Le Chat Au Chapeau (Beginner Book) (Hardcover)
Nice story that the kid could read in both languages. Also appropriate for adults. I wish that there were more books like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for some kids..., 29 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. S. R. Corbet (guernsey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cat in the Hat/Le Chat Au Chapeau (Beginner Book) (Hardcover)
Good for kids who are properly learning both languages, but not necessarily good as a teaching tool for french or english as the text is quite obscure - nothing you would use in everyday conversation (as is the zaniness of dr. Seuss!), but a good translation on the classic nonethless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does just what it says, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cat in the Hat/Le Chat Au Chapeau (Beginner Book) (Hardcover)
A good find - French and English text so you don't have to keep looking up words in a dictionary. The French version is not written in rhyme, being just a very close translation in everyday French.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars top book, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cat in the Hat/Le Chat Au Chapeau (Beginner Book) (Hardcover)
Excellent product - suits my needs as a primary French teacher to encourage my students to read aloud in a second language
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cat in the Hat/Le Chat Au Chapeau (Beginner Book)
The Cat in the Hat/Le Chat Au Chapeau (Beginner Book) by Dr Seuss (Hardcover - 27 Jan 2009)
5.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews