Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must-have book for anyone serious about acting
You will NOT read this book and come away a brilliant actor. Then again, no book can do that for you. You can only learn by doing, either in class or in a performance. With that in mind, this book is packed with incredible insights, some that are basic tips for the beginner, and others that will only be appreciated after years of performing and multiple readings...
Published on 25 Jun. 1998

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Meh.
I have read a few acting books and expected this to follow the same kind of formula, I was wrong. This is simply a transcript of multiple Meisner acting lessons over the years. It doesn't teach you much if at all. Other acting books teach you techniques and have excerices for you to pratice, this does not. While it is interesting, it is not an acting book really.
Published 1 month ago by Roberto


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must-have book for anyone serious about acting, 25 Jun. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Sanford Meisner on Acting (Paperback)
You will NOT read this book and come away a brilliant actor. Then again, no book can do that for you. You can only learn by doing, either in class or in a performance. With that in mind, this book is packed with incredible insights, some that are basic tips for the beginner, and others that will only be appreciated after years of performing and multiple readings. Sanford Meisner, one of the members of the famed Group Theatre in the 1920's, was one of American theatre's gems, and sitting in on a course of his, through this book, is the only way to capture some of that magic. A "must-have" for any serious actor's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sanford Meisner book review, 27 Aug. 2009
By 
Spojehoob (Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sanford Meisner on Acting (Paperback)
The man is a total legend. Read this and be inspired. Bought 8 hours of DVD of this guy too and it is THE most amazing thing to watch. Currently studying for an acting degree I found this book invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful and exhilarating!, 8 Feb. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Sanford Meisner on Acting (Paperback)
Unlike Stanislavsky's "emotional recall," Meisner's approach is much more effective. Having been trained under Mr. Meisner's method, my confidence and emotional accessibility has increased 100%. In short, I've accepted his creed, "to live truthfully under the imaginary circumstances of the theater," as my own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant apart from the pink t-shirts, 17 Nov. 2011
By 
Sambrina (England (but Forks in my head)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sanford Meisner on Acting (Paperback)
This book is written from the perspective of someone who was sat in class whilst Sanford Meisner taught.

I previously was taught Meisner techniques last year and wanted the book to solidify and develop what I'd been taught - the book did exactly that and a little bit more. Meisner was amazing and the knowledge given in the book is really useful and so simple.

I'm not sure that if I hadn't studied Meisner previously I would have read the book differently, or not found it as useful but I'm a very practical person.

The only flaw with the book is the author, he seems to think details about students clothing are necessary when they really aren't and this can get a little bit annoying.

If you want simple honest acting knowledge get this book it's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 14 Jun. 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Sanford Meisner on Acting (Paperback)
Acting is about doing. It's not an intellectual theory without practice and this
book clearly shows the actor that simple and brilliant truth.
Do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meisner, 10 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sanford Meisner on Acting (Paperback)
Definately the best guide to good acting. Meitner died but his method lives on. A must for drama students and any one interested in acting for Theatre or film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Meh., 26 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sanford Meisner on Acting (Paperback)
I have read a few acting books and expected this to follow the same kind of formula, I was wrong. This is simply a transcript of multiple Meisner acting lessons over the years. It doesn't teach you much if at all. Other acting books teach you techniques and have excerices for you to pratice, this does not. While it is interesting, it is not an acting book really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for actors!, 3 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sanford Meisner on Acting (Paperback)
There's really nothing left to say about Meisner that has not already been said. I can see why he earned himself a name in drama. Here is the key thing I got from him - Acting is simplicity. Actors tend to over complicate things a lot. This is just an essential book for any aspiring actor! Buy it. It's practical as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An acting revelation, 9 Jun. 2009
By 
Naomi Worth "Actor" (Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sanford Meisner on Acting (Paperback)
This book arrived promptly in the good condition I expected and is one that should be read by ALL those considering the acting profession. If you are struggling with the lack of funds for Drama School take heart and read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 23 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Sanford Meisner on Acting (Paperback)
I think the best thing about this book is that you feel like you are being taught something, it keeps you right all the time. I got it for Christmas and I've already read it twice, get this before any other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sanford Meisner on Acting
Sanford Meisner on Acting by Dennis Longwell (Paperback - 1 Jun. 1990)
£10.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews